Listening for Coyote: A Walk Across Oregon's Wilderness

Listening for Coyote: A Walk Across Oregon's Wilderness

5.0 1
by William L. Sullivan
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
This is a wonderful story of the search for a new Oregon Trail. Backpacker and naturalist Sullivan scouted a West-East route from Coastal Cape Blanco to Hell's Canyon on the Snake River (not as the crow flies; it was more of a wiggly W in shape). His 65-day, 1300-plus-mile journey took him across four mountain ranges and 18 designated wilderness areas, through foggy rain forests, mountain meadows, sun-baked deserts and deep canyons in all extremes of weather. Sullivan has written an engaging account of this pioneering hike, with vivid descriptions of the varied terrain and the people he met along the way. He encountered bears and elk but was at highest risk when he sampled poisonous mushrooms. Nature lovers, active and passive, will find Sullivan's walk a vicarious pleasure. Photos. (September)
Library Journal
Trickster coyote, in western Indian lore, is the creative earth spirit. To Sullivan, making a 1360-mile west-to-east walk through Oregon, the coyote represents wilderness and the reason for preserving nature. Touching 18 wilderness areas and crossing four mountain ranges, the author scouted a route later recommended for the New Oregon Trail. His daily journal tells about his solo walk, discusses the ecosystems he observed, and describes the various attitudes toward wilderness held by individuals met en route. Two major enemies of western wilderness, timbercutting and cattle grazing, are neither ignored nor blasted. For fans of Edward Abbey, Colin Fletcher, John Hillaby, and Edgar Garvey. Paula M. Strain, M.L.S., Rockville, Md.
Booknews
An account of Sullivan's 1360 mile hike across Oregon from the coast to Hell's Canyon. No scholarly paraphernalia. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780805012507
Publisher:
Holt, Henry & Company, Inc.
Publication date:
06/15/1990
Edition description:
1st Owl Book ed
Pages:
240

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >