Listening for Lucca

Listening for Lucca

4.3 7
by Suzanne LaFleur, Ariadne Meyers
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn to Maine hoping that it will mean a  whole new start for Lucca and Siena. She soon realizes that their wonderful old house on the beach holds secrets. When Siena…  See more details below

Overview

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn to Maine hoping that it will mean a  whole new start for Lucca and Siena. She soon realizes that their wonderful old house on the beach holds secrets. When Siena writes in her diary with an old pen she found in her closet, the pen writes its own story, of Sarah and Joshua, a brother and sister who lived in the same house during World War II. As the two stories unfold, amazing parallels begin to appear, and Siena senses that Sarah and Joshua's story might contain the key to unlocking Lucca's voice.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Audio
11/25/2013
Everyone in the family blames themselves when three-year-old Lucca stopped talking for no apparent reason. The family moves from Brooklyn to an old house in Maine hoping that the change will help the young boy. But Lucca’s sister Siena soon discovers that the family’s new house holds amazing secrets dating back to Word War II. Narrated by Ariadne Meyers, this charming tale will please listeners of all ages. Meyers’s characters come to life through a series of inspired and well-developed portrayals. And despite Lucca’s lack of speech, Meyers is able to interpret and render his character in a way that will resonate long after the book’s final lines. Ages 8–12. A Wendy Lamb hardcover. (Aug.)
From the Publisher
Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, June 17, 2013:
“LaFleur (Eight Keys) offers an enticing blend of history, mystery, and family, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews, June 15, 2013:
"Tender and brave, Siena is a heroine to be admired... All is well in this lovely and magical tale."

School Library Journal - Audio
12/01/2013
Gr 5–8—Siena collects lost or abandoned things. She also has visions of people and places from the past and experiences the events and emotions of the people she sees. Her classmates think that she's weird and she has no friends. Also, her younger brother, Lucca, has not spoken in over a year. Their parents decide to move the family from Brooklyn to Maine, where they believe things will get better for the children. The old Victorian house by the sea that they purchase is remarkably similar to the one that features prominently in Siena's recurring dreams. Soon after moving in, the siblings become aware of spirits in the house. The ghosts are a brother and sister, Joshua and Sarah, who lived there during World War II. Sarah, like Lucca, doesn't speak, and Joshua is a traumatized young soldier. The lives of Siena, Lucca, Joshua, and Sarah are interconnected across time, and Siena knows that she holds the key to helping everyone. The story is told in the believable first-person voice of Siena, which is sometimes funny, ironic, or sarcastic, and at other times bewildered, questioning, and scared. Ariadne Meyers's pacing is good and she gives all the characters believable voices. There are a few instances when Siena and her new friend, Sam, seem more mature than their 13 years, given their analyses and insights during some conversations. Overall, this is an intriguing tale for fans of time travel and mystery.—Mary Olounye, formerly Shaker Heights Public Library, OH
Publishers Weekly
At night, 13-year-old Siena has dreams about a house overlooking the ocean, as well as wartime imagery including plane crashes and sinking ships; scarier still, visions of the past are bleeding into Siena’s waking life. As a result, Siena has alienated her friends and taken to collecting abandoned objects. Meanwhile, Siena’s three-year-old brother, Lucca, hasn’t spoken in a year and a half, and her parents move the family from Brooklyn to Maine (into a house that resembles the one from Siena’s dreams) in hopes that both children’s behavior will return to normal. But the grand old house on Ocean Drive feels haunted, and although Siena makes new friends, her attention is drawn back to her worries and the discovery that her visions and dreams are tied to Sarah, a girl who lived in the house during WWII. Questions of how Sarah is connected to Siena and whether Lucca will speak again swirl throughout this insightful, delicate tale. LaFleur (Eight Keys) offers an enticing blend of history, mystery, and family, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me. Ages 8–12. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown. (Aug.)
School Library Journal
★ 09/01/2013
Gr 5–8—Thirteen-year-old Siena moves from New York City to a Maine coastal town before the start of eighth grade. Unlike most teens, she doesn't mind the change. Her strange visions make it difficult to establish close friendships, and she's hoping a new school will allow her to shed her reputation as a weirdo. Like her parents, Siena also hopes the new environment will encourage her mute three-year-old brother to begin speaking again. Siena starts to uncover oddities about their new home: she sees and hears flashes from the past, and an old pen begins writing its own story. She becomes engrossed in discovering all she can about the house's former inhabitants, a family living there during World War II. Although her weirdness doesn't disappear, Siena is able to form friendships and even a budding romance as she continues to investigate the house's secrets. Her ability to see, interact with, and even alter the past eventually provides her with the insight to help her brother regain his desire to speak. Although Siena's propensity for strange visions has the potential to create a creepy, suspenseful mood, the plot, especially in the first half of the novel, is more deliberate than gripping. The introduction to World War II battlefield trauma lends an interesting historical aspect. Recommend this one to readers willing to stay with a slow beginning for a satisfying conclusion.—Lindsay Cesari, Baldwinsville School District, NY
Kirkus Reviews
Siena's ability to see glimpses of the past juxtaposed on the present intensifies when she moves to a house in Maine that is oddly familiar. Her parents are focused on 3-year-old Lucca, who has stopped speaking. Siena feels responsible for Lucca's silence and spends lots of time playing with him and hoping that he will talk. She also collects all sorts of found items that she deems abandoned. In Maine, she sees and hears members of the family who lived in her house during World War II. When she writes with an old pen found in the house, it produces not her handwriting, but that of Sarah, a girl from the earlier period. Even more astonishing, she seems to actually enter Sarah's mind, seeing and feeling everything along with her. She also is able to share Sarah's brother Joshua's war experiences, which send him home psychologically damaged. Through a compassionate act of courage, Siena's gift ultimately provides satisfying solutions for Sarah's family and her own. LaFleur deftly handles the tale's many layers, never allowing readers to get lost. Events and characters are fully developed and are completely believable, without any sense of contrivance. Tender and brave, Siena is a heroine to be admired. Past meets present and all is well in this lovely and magical tale. (Fantasy. 9-12)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780804126854
Publisher:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Publication date:
08/06/2013
Edition description:
Unabridged
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 6.00(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

SUZANNE LAFLEUR received her MFA in writing for children from The New School. This is her third novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Listening for Lucca 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book put me in a whole new perspective of the world. I can't explain how it made me feel. It was a journey I will have no problem going back to. It taught me that anything is possible even if it is the craziest thing ever, as long as it will do good. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not realize this was a book for young people. My sister recomended it. I loved it. Very well written and a great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was so good! I would definetely reccomend it to anybody. Kind of slow moving in the beginning but totally worth it to keep going!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far one of the best books I have read! In the beging the book was a little weired to me but as I kept on reading the book came together and all of it came so clear to me. This book is one of my top 10 books of all time and l love this author. I engourge you to read this book and others by this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the book so far,i am on chapter 5. I think should really buy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Listening for Lucca is awesome! If you have not read it you should think about reading it...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frcrcrctvtvtvtvtvrcrcrct