Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal

Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal

4.3 98
by Conor Grennan
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Funny, touching, tragic….A remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land—and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.”
—Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts

Little Princes is the epic story of Conor

See more details below

Overview

“Funny, touching, tragic….A remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land—and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.”
—Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts

Little Princes is the epic story of Conor Grennan’s battle to save the lost children of Nepal and how he found himself in the process. Part Three Cups of Tea, part Into Thin Air, Grennan’s remarkable memoir is at once gripping and inspirational, and it carries us deep into an exotic world that most readers know little about.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Grennan, who once worked at the East West Institute in Prague, embarked on a round-the-world trip in 2006, starting with a stint volunteering for an orphanage six miles south of Kathmandu. The orphanage, called the Little Princes Children's Home, housed 18 children from the remote province of Humla, rescued from a notorious child trafficker who had bought the children from poor villagers terrified of the Maoist insurgents eager for new recruits; the parents hoped to keep their children safe, but the children often ended up as slaves. Grennan was stunned by the trauma endured by these children, who he grew to love over two months, and after completing his world tour, returned to the orphanage and vowed not only to locate seven Humla orphans who had vanished from a foster home, but also to find the parents of the children in the orphanage. This required starting up a nonprofit organization in America, Next Generation Nepal, raising funds, buying a house in Kathmandu for the children's home, and trekking into the mountains of Humla to locate the parents. Grennan's work is by turns self-pokingly humorous, exciting, and inspiring. (Feb.)
Neil White
“Funny, touching, tragic. Conor Grennan’s Little Princes is a remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land — and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.”
Daytona Beach News
“‘Little Princes’ is a tale of determination, courage and love that will not leave you unchanged.”
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
“While the story is amazing, sincere and touching, it is also a pleasure to see how the author grows, both in personality and style over the five years that the memoir covers.”
Los Angeles Times
In the tradition of “Three Cups of Tea” and “Mountains Beyond Mountains,” this book provides proof (there cannot be too much) of the value of volunteer work.
USA Today
“With a light touch and refreshing candor, Grennan in Little Princes tells the story of how a good-looking University of Virginia grad with wanderlust ended up risking his life to find, then reunite, children with their families in Nepal, one of the poorest countries in the world.”
New York Journal of Books
“The beauty of this book is partly the fact that it is a memoir. But it is also more than that. I defy you to not be inspired or moved by this saga.”
San Francisco Chronicle Book Review
“The author stumbles into volunteering in an orphanage in Nepal and gets involved in reuniting trafficked children with their families. The energy of these children will make you laugh even though they’ve been through hardship and loss.”
Library Journal
Author Grennan (www.conorgrennan.net) was a self-proclaimed spoiled, selfish young American when he set off on a yearlong trip around the globe in search of adventure, but a three-month stint volunteering at an orphanage in war-torn Nepal turned his life around. Upon discovering that the "orphans" of whom he quickly grew fond were actually separated from their families by child traffickers, Grennan realized his life calling—reconnecting these children with their families. Together with Farid Ait-Mansour, he worked tirelessly toward this effort, eventually founding the nonprofit charity Next Generation Nepal (www.nextgenerationnepal.org). Grennan is the rare author who can aptly and skillfully tell of his own awakening; he beautifully and melodiously renders the many accents he encountered along his journey. Listeners will be moved; for anyone interested in Nepalese history, humanitarian work, and meaningful self-betterment. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 9/15/10.—Ed.]—Susan Baird, formerly with Oak Lawn P.L., IL

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062042439
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/25/2011
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
85,346
File size:
1 MB

Videos

What People are saying about this

Neil White
“Funny, touching, tragic. Conor Grennan’s Little Princes is a remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land — and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.”

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >