Living in the Dead Zone: Janis Joplin and Jim Morrison-Understanding Borderline Personality Disorder

( 5 )

Overview

Psychologist Dr. Gerald Faris and sociologist Dr. Ralph Faris explain their findings about two icons of 1960s music and how each suffered from a complicated condition psychiatrically defined as "borderline personality disorder.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Paperback
$19.37
BN.com price
(Save 3%)$20.00 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (14) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $110.22   
  • Used (12) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

More About This Book

Overview

Psychologist Dr. Gerald Faris and sociologist Dr. Ralph Faris explain their findings about two icons of 1960s music and how each suffered from a complicated condition psychiatrically defined as "borderline personality disorder.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780971654204
  • Publisher: Faris PH D
  • Publication date: 1/28/2002
  • Pages: 257
  • Product dimensions: 5.58 (w) x 8.48 (h) x 0.66 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Fascinating discussion of my favorite crazy rockers

    The description of the borderline disorder and the samples of treatment sessions make this book hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    simulated therapy sessions - superb chapters

    These chapters have the most realistic and compelling psychotherapy sessions I have seen in the literature. The book is worth reading for these chapters alone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    A must read

    'I always knew there was something missing . . .something we didn't know about Jim Morrison. Now I see it. A must read for Jim's fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    For the new clinician

    This book is just the thing for new clinicians and fans of both performers. A mesmerizing book, especially the therapy sessions. jack-psychologist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    A Must for Fans of Janis or Jim

    I couldn't put the book down! I never understood the antics of Joplin or Morrison until now. The therapy sessions were so fascinating I felt disappointed when they ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)