Look Book

( 1 )

Overview

Tana Hoban never ceases to mesmerize and stimulate her young admirers. Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, she has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see — and don't see. In the tradition of Just Look and Take Another Look, here is yet another window of discovery to our everyday world.

Full-color nature photographs are first viewed through a cut-out hole ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (20) from $2.04   
  • New (10) from $9.73   
  • Used (10) from $2.04   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Tana Hoban never ceases to mesmerize and stimulate her young admirers. Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, she has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see — and don't see. In the tradition of Just Look and Take Another Look, here is yet another window of discovery to our everyday world.

Full-color nature photographs are first viewed through a cut-out hole and then in their entirety.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Kristin Harris
Designed as a tool to help small children see pattern, texture and color within the big picture, this is one of a series by this photographer/author. Circles approximately 2 inches in diameter are cut in solid black pages to reveal a small segment of the photo on the following page. A small circle of light green veins is a cabbage leaf. Turn the page again and see numerous heads of cabbage. Pigeons, a dog, pretzels and ostriches are among the images featured. The black page is a bit oppressive for young children.
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2In the same vein as Look! Look! Look! 1988 and Take Another Look 1981, both Greenwillow, this wordless book is filled with bright, crisp photographs. Viewers first encounter a piece of an image, viewed through a small, die-cut circle on a black page. The full-color objectbe it a flower, a pigeon, or a hot pretzelis revealed with the turn of a page. Another turn of the page provides a larger viewa second photograph showing the more complete scene a stand full of flowers, a flock of pigeons, a cart of pretzels. It's no secret that Hoban takes brilliant photographs and that her books are enjoyed by a wide variety of ages. This one is sure to be a crowd pleaser. For a variation on a similar theme, try Shelley Rotner and Richard Olivo's Close, Closer, Closest S & S, 1997.Dina Sherman, Brooklyn Children's Museum, NY
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780688149710
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 8/28/1997
  • Pages: 40
  • Sales rank: 468,996
  • Age range: 4 - 8 Years
  • Product dimensions: 11.00 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.25 (d)

Meet the Author

Tana Hoban's photographs have been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York and in galleries around the world. She has won many gold medals and prizes for her work as a photographer and filmmaker. Her books for children are known and loved throughout the world.

Tana Hoban's photographs have been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York and in galleries around the world. She has won many gold medals and prizes for her work as a photographer and filmmaker. Her books for children are known and loved throughout the world.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Tan Hoban's books keep young non-readers as well as readers intrigued with the suspense of "guessing", predicting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)