Look Book

Look Book

5.0 2
by Tana Hoban
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Tana Hoban never ceases to mesmerize and stimulate her young admirers. Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, she has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see — and don't see. In the tradition of Just Look and Take Another Look, here is yet

Overview

Tana Hoban never ceases to mesmerize and stimulate her young admirers. Using her unmistakable full-color photographs and an intriguing die-cut format, she has created a striking concept book that will have young viewers scrutinizing and thinking about what they see — and don't see. In the tradition of Just Look and Take Another Look, here is yet another window of discovery to our everyday world.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Kristin Harris
Designed as a tool to help small children see pattern, texture and color within the big picture, this is one of a series by this photographer/author. Circles approximately 2 inches in diameter are cut in solid black pages to reveal a small segment of the photo on the following page. A small circle of light green veins is a cabbage leaf. Turn the page again and see numerous heads of cabbage. Pigeons, a dog, pretzels and ostriches are among the images featured. The black page is a bit oppressive for young children.
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2In the same vein as Look! Look! Look! (1988) and Take Another Look (1981, both Greenwillow), this wordless book is filled with bright, crisp photographs. Viewers first encounter a piece of an image, viewed through a small, die-cut circle on a black page. The full-color objectbe it a flower, a pigeon, or a hot pretzelis revealed with the turn of a page. Another turn of the page provides a larger viewa second photograph showing the more complete scene (a stand full of flowers, a flock of pigeons, a cart of pretzels). It's no secret that Hoban takes brilliant photographs and that her books are enjoyed by a wide variety of ages. This one is sure to be a crowd pleaser. For a variation on a similar theme, try Shelley Rotner and Richard Olivo's Close, Closer, Closest (S & S, 1997).Dina Sherman, Brooklyn Children's Museum, NY

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780688149710
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
08/28/1997
Pages:
40
Sales rank:
499,947
Product dimensions:
11.00(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.25(d)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Tana Hoban's photographs have been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York and in galleries around the world. She has won many gold medals and prizes for her work as a photographer and filmmaker. Her books for children are known and loved throughout the world.

Tana Hoban's photographs have been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York and in galleries around the world. She has won many gold medals and prizes for her work as a photographer and filmmaker. Her books for children are known and loved throughout the world.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Look Book 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for a friend going through a tough time. Turning the pages is a reminder things aren't always what we perceive them to be. Lots of quality in the photos.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tan Hoban's books keep young non-readers as well as readers intrigued with the suspense of "guessing", predicting