Lords of Kobol: Book One: Apotheosis [NOOK Book]

Overview

Thousands of years before the Cylons destroyed the Twelve Colonies and the Battlestar Galactica led a ragtag fleet to Earth, the Lords of Kobol lived among mankind in peace and harmony. Zeus, Hera, Apollo, Athena, Ares ... the gods provided and the people worshipped. But who or what were they?

Humanity has reached the pinnacle of their civilization, thanks to the Lords. Once they've reached the top, what is next? After three millennia, are there some subjects eager to be free of...

See more details below
Lords of Kobol: Book One: Apotheosis

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
FREE

Overview

Thousands of years before the Cylons destroyed the Twelve Colonies and the Battlestar Galactica led a ragtag fleet to Earth, the Lords of Kobol lived among mankind in peace and harmony. Zeus, Hera, Apollo, Athena, Ares ... the gods provided and the people worshipped. But who or what were they?

Humanity has reached the pinnacle of their civilization, thanks to the Lords. Once they've reached the top, what is next? After three millennia, are there some subjects eager to be free of the Pantheon's rule? Are the Olympian overseers weary? Are there others who deny the gods' divinity in the first place?

Partake in the fruits of Utopia and observe Kobol at its peak. See Pythia encounter divine inspiration. Watch as the Thirteenth Tribe is born. Gaze upon the seeds being sown for mankind's eventual departure from paradise ...

Fans of "Battlestar Galactica" and "Caprica" can't miss the first book in a trilogy detailing the ancient history of the shows we love. There is a Plan and questions will be answered.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940011452680
  • Publisher: Edward T. Yeatts III
  • Publication date: 8/3/2011
  • Sold by: Smashwords
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 111,639
  • File size: 710 KB

Meet the Author

Edward T. Yeatts III (call him "Trey") is a resident of Richmond, VA. He has been married since 1999 and a father since 2002. A lifelong fan of science fiction, various franchises of interest include "Star Trek," Star Wars," "Battlestar Galactica," "Lord of the Rings," "Dune," "Firefly" and quite a few more.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    OK for BSG and Caprica fans

    I am fan of BSG so I enjoyed reading of this book. It seems that author took his time and studied BSG universe and created very nice plot. Connection made to BSG and Caprica is well done. But anyway I believe for people not watching TV series, this wouldn't be enjoyable book. Sure it would be written better, there were places where story was bad enough, so 3 stars. I am gonna read next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Great prequel book to BSG.

    The book had a slow start but quickly picked up the pace. It kept my interst throughout and can't wait to read book 2. I believe that you will get more out of this book if you have seen Battlestar Galactica.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    First: I am a fan of the BSG series (though, I didn't see much o

    First: I am a fan of the BSG series (though, I didn't see much of Caprica). The Lords of Kobol books were quite fun reading -- the tie-ins with Greek mythology were very clever and well-done. The story itself provided a very readable back-story to the BSG (and Caprica) television series. Highly recommended for BSG fans -- those not familiar with BSG may find themselves scratching their heads in bewilderment at times, as well as miss some fantastic tie-ins with the show.

    And there's still some unanswered questions at the end of book 3...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Slow burn but well done

    Cool seeing the gods and learning about Kobol. Seems to star a little slow, but picks up quickly with a big reveal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Wow

    Stared off slow but became more and more intriguing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great fan fiction providing a plausible back story to the BSG Ko

    Great fan fiction providing a plausible back story to the BSG Kobolian gods, and the legendary Thirteenth Tribe. It meshes well with the established story, though some parts were spotty, such as the origin of the gods, and who the humans were on Kobol before the gods came on scene. Perhaps that will be covered later? Looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    The Lords of Kobol are cylons...

    The writers of the new BSG had a good idea to revamp and modernize the show and its story, but theytook it too far and lost the thread. This just rehashes all the same old plots and issues, with the addition of a smattering of semi-greek myth. Worse, it's unoriginal.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    If you are a fan of the "BSG" franchise, then the whol

    If you are a fan of the "BSG" franchise, then the whole trilogy will appeal to you! I had a quiet winter break and delved into all 4 over break form college and finished them all.
    Even without a background of "BSG" knowledge, if you have a knowledge of Greek and Roman political and religious structure, you should also find these books very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Fills a void

    Im as big a fan of Lords of Kobol as i am of BSG. Well done.
    Look for my upcoming sci fi novel:
    A Pawn For The Havest by Jason Gillum. Time travel....super powers....and swordplay. Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    would not recommend

    Not to impressed with these four books. Was a bit boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Recommend

    Great fill in to the back story of BattleStar Galatica.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    I got it now

    Please dismiss my first rating. The story line is a little bit confusing because the chapters are named for all the greek gods, but the idea behind the story is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Prequel or not great story!

    I am a huge Battlestar Gallacitca fan and this series tells the story of how the cylons came to be or will be depending on the timeline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Big fun for BSG fans

    If you haven't watched the show, click away now.

    I thought this was well done and well written. Seeing Zeus being as petty and powerful as he is in our Greek myths was great. The human characters felt a bit disposable, but the Lords of Kobol are obviously the stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Dalton

    This book was dbomb

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)