×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lost Lives
     

Lost Lives

4.4 12
by Malcolm Richards
 

See All Formats & Editions

Two women. Both lost. But only one is missing...

Troubled young teacher Emily is a woman on the edge. One terrible mistake left her career in tatters, her life in ruins, and her mind close to breaking. Escaping to London, she moves into a new apartment. But when she learns of its violent history-and that the woman who lived there has disappeared-her dream of

Overview

Two women. Both lost. But only one is missing...

Troubled young teacher Emily is a woman on the edge. One terrible mistake left her career in tatters, her life in ruins, and her mind close to breaking. Escaping to London, she moves into a new apartment. But when she learns of its violent history-and that the woman who lived there has disappeared-her dream of starting over quickly becomes a living nightmare.

While neighbors say the nurse ran away from her abusive husband, Emily is not so sure. As curiosity turns to obsession, and as Emily digs deeper, she becomes convinced something terrible has happened to the woman-and that she's not the only one missing.

But good intentions are about to turn into a deadly fight for survival. Someone knows Emily is searching for answers and they'll stop at nothing to silence her.

With her life and her sanity hanging in the balance, Emily must uncover the terrifying truth and confront her own demons before it's too late...

A chilling mystery thriller filled with suspense. Fans of Stieg Larsson, Paula Hawkins and S.J. Watson will be thrilled by the British series that readers are calling a 'gripping and intense must-read with an unlikely heroine.'

More from the Emily Swanson series:

0. BLOODY HANDS (February 14th)
1.LOST LIVES
2.CRUEL MINDS
3.COLD HEARTS

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781537545929
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
09/17/2016
Pages:
310
Product dimensions:
5.24(w) x 7.99(h) x 0.70(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Cornish born Malcolm Richards writes emotionally charged psychological thrillers about everyday people placed in extraordinary circumstances. After studying for a Bachelor of Arts in Writing at Middlesex University, Malcolm has worked as a reading recovery teacher, a nurture group leader teaching young children with complex behavioural and emotional needs, and as a teacher of creative writing. Malcolm lives and writes in South East London.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lost Lives (Emily Swanson Mystery Thrillers, #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great - I could not put this down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book i will absolutely read more from this writer
Anonymous 6 months ago
I liked this book. Was hard to stop reading. Kept my interest.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Susan Sewell for Readers' Favorite Lost Lives (Emily Swanson Mystery Thrillers Book 1) by Malcolm Richards is a suspenseful murder mystery. Emily left behind her old life in the country and has moved to London to start a new life, but she is struggling with anxiety. She is all alone and has no friends or family left. Just walking through the streets and doing her shopping takes a lot of courage. Her past has left its mark and she is trying to move beyond the fear and pain and begin her new life. While moving her belongings into her apartment, Emily discovers the former occupant's clothes in a trash bag, and a bizarre painting of the woman hidden on the top shelf of her wardrobe. Going to the market the next day, she sees the woman's picture on the announcement board, listed as a missing person. Emily begins to ask questions and discovers that the woman's husband had physically assaulted her on more than one occasion before she disappeared. Emily begins to suspect that something terrible has happened to the missing woman. Doggedly, she continues searching for the woman, but her past comes back to haunt her and puts her in terrible danger. Her life and sanity hang in the balance as she tries to escape the same fate as the woman in the painting. Lost Lives (Emily Swanson Mystery Thrillers Book 1) by Malcolm Richards is a spellbinding suspense mystery. Although Emily is a wounded soul and has experienced a lot of grief and trauma, she fights to get past her own frailties to help someone else. Emily's character is inspiring or stupid, depending on how you look at it. This story had a lot of hair-raising scenes that kept me on the edge of my seat. Where I was filled with horror, Emily faced each and every one of these horrific incidents with courage and strength. I recommend this book to those who love a suspense novel with a creepy nuance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read. Truly is a mystery. I thought l could solve the mystery but was I surprised. I like unique books that keep me interested and at the end, I am satisfied. I'm going to purchase the second book tonight of the series. Thank you Malcolm, for a wonderful story. L C G
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once u actually get "into" the story you won't want to put it down!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my usual read but was really an OK book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had no problem putting this stoory down - several times --
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding got to read more from this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Can't wait to read more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good book look forward to his next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Richards' first book, so I was really looking forward to this, and devoured it within a couple of days. It has a slightly different, more dynamic feel to it, than the The Hiding House had, but it still has the strong character work that I loved from that book. There are two mysteries on the go here, one a missing person that Emily is trying to find, and the other a much more personal one from her past. Both strands were very cleverly, and excitingly, unraveled and I'm left wanting more. I hope Volume 2 doesn't take too long!