Love Always

Love Always

4.5 19
by Harriet Evans
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A compelling and heartrending tale of lost love, family secrets, and those little moments that can change your life forever . . .

When Natasha Kapoor returns to her grandparents’ idyllic coastal home for her beloved grandmother’s funeral, her life is at a turning point. She thought by now she’d be a successful jewelry designer in London

…  See more details below

Overview

A compelling and heartrending tale of lost love, family secrets, and those little moments that can change your life forever . . .

When Natasha Kapoor returns to her grandparents’ idyllic coastal home for her beloved grandmother’s funeral, her life is at a turning point. She thought by now she’d be a successful jewelry designer in London with a perfect marriage. Instead, she’s got mounting bills and a soon-to-be ex.

After the funeral, Natasha’s grandfather gives her the long-lost diary of her aunt Cecily. No one in her large and complicated family has ever discussed the tragic accident that took Cecily’s life as a teenager, and within the diary’s pages, Natasha finds a gripping and shocking tale of forbidden love, rivalry, and heartbreak.

Nearly fifty years later, will Cecily’s diary finally explain her family’s dark past and the terrible secret her aunt left behind? Is it possible it’s just the inspiration Natasha needs to take a fresh look at her future, and maybe even give love a second chance? Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin will get hooked on internationally bestselling author Harriet Evans’s warm, witty, and absorbing novel filled with original, rootworthy characters and complex family issues.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The death of family matriarch Frances brings up all sorts of buried conflict within the Kapoor clan related to the tragic early demise of her daughter, Cecily, who never lived to see past the age of 16 and whose death has always been blamed on her sister Miranda. When Miranda's daughter Natasha (who bears a strong resemblance to Cecily) tries to understand the source of the conflict, her grandfather Arvind gives her Cecily's diary from the summer when she died. The contents reveal webs of lies, her grandmother's infidelity with a teenager, and a love affair between Cecily and a fellow named Guy. When Natasha confronts her mother, she learns something she never expected (but the reader suspects this early on). Evans's newest is surprisingly engrossing because she is able to deftly juggle many different plots, which is good considering that certain twists are predictable early on. The supporting characters such as Arvind are given short shrift for a family drama. Still, Evans keeps the reader turning pages to see what Natasha will do next because they will identify with a protagonist who strives to pick apart the lies in her life and piece together a truth. Readers will also enjoy the firm sense of setting, both in Cornwall and London. (June)
From the Publisher
"Written in the author’s usual warm, witty style, this is perfect for a cozy night in." Cosmopolitan (UK)

‘Well written… you’ll love it’ —Daily Mail (UK)

"Romantic [and] gripping" —The Lady (UK)

‘This sunny coming of age drama darkens at every turn… Evans's gift for characterisation and appreciation of complicated family dynamics singles this novel out as superior romantic fare… Escapism that brings with it the promise of "custard yellow" sands and hot summer sun.’ —Independent (UK)

‘As she delves into the past, Natasha finally discovers the secrets that are buried there may hold the keys to her own future. Complex storylines, flawed characters and cupboards that positively rattle with skeletons. If you've yet to add Harriet Evans to your "must-read" list, now is a great time to start.’ —Daily Record (UK)

‘A modern romance and a delightful tale of second chances’ —Now (UK)

‘Heartwarming and hugely enjoyable’ —Closer (UK)

‘A broken heart and a forbidden affair are the compelling components of this poignant tale of self-discovery…Wonderful.’ —Marie Claire (UK)

‘(A) story of heartbreak and rivalry… An effortless and deeply satisfying romantic tale’ —Glamour (UK)

‘An engrossing novel of jealousy and forbidden love’ —Woman and Home (UK)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451639629
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Publication date:
06/21/2011
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
516,501
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)

Meet the Author

Harriet Evans is the internationally bestselling author of Going Home, A Hopeless Romantic, The Love of Her Life, I Remember You, Love Always, Happily Ever After, Not Without You, and A Place for Us. She lives in London. Visit her website at Harriet-Evans.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Love Always 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
BookHounds More than 1 year ago
Natasha Kapoor returns to Cornwall for her grandmother's funeral and learns that secrets in her huge, extended family have lead to some weird dynamics. The truth begins to emerge when she is given her aunt Cecily's diary that documents some starling truths and sets Natasha on a road to personal discovery. There are a lot of layers to Natasha's history and it is wonderful to see her grow as she discovers the truth about her very existence. The main secret is that Natasha's grandmother, a famous painter, has stopped painting after her youngest daughter, Cecily, falls to her death. Natasha looks enough like Cecily to be her twin. There are so many entanglements in this family, you need a chart to keep track. They aren't hard to follow and each page brings about a new enlightenment on just what it means to be related. In a true mystery, the story about Cecily's death and the chaos it creates within the family is told through flashbacks and portions of her diary so you slowly begin to see all of the circumstance surrounding her death. This story will really keep your attention as it did mine as you try to guess what really happened to Cecily. I really couldn't put it down once I started. Natasha is such a complex character and I really wanted to find out what was holding her back in her life, whether her jewelery designing business or her love life. I loved how the story pulls past and present together to create her personal history. If you enjoy Madeleine Wickham or Jennifer Weiner, you are going to love this one. I think this may be my favorite Harriet Evans book yet! I would always try to get the UK versions as soon as they were released and I wish I hadn't waited on this one. Pure reading joy!
Jade1213 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed a lot.
Critiqua More than 1 year ago
I bought this book with the vague notion that it had been written by Hester Browne, author of the fluffy but very enjoyable Little Lady series. (Yes, I realize the cover has a different name on it, but in my defense let me say that my memory was a little fuzzy at the time.) A few chapters in, I was in shock: what had happened to turn an author of enjoyable fluff into an author of deep, thoughtful, heart-wrenching prose? (Again, checking the cover helped to answer that question.) I adore books with complex, multi-dimensional characters, long-kept secrets, fascinating historical details, and rewarding personal journeys. Do not be fooled by the cover: this book delivers in all those categories and more. I can only compare it to Kate Morton's The Distant Hours and Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle. All three are keepers and lenders, full of unforgettable moments frozen in time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED this book!!!! A wonderful mystery that keeps you interested and guessing! I loved the characters and the way the story jumps off the pages, I felt like I was there watching these peoples lives unfold! Bravo Ms. Evans Bravo!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very predictable, but still a great story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
csingh More than 1 year ago
Whoa. I've read and loved all of Harriet Evans's previous books and this one is no different. However, this book was much different than the previous four and much darker than the others. I would call this dark(er) chick lit. There was some serious stuff in here. I loved the different fonts for Cecily's diary and everything else. Ms. Evans's did an astounding job at keeping me guessing what really happened to Cecily and everything else that went on in the family. There were some mind boggling twists. But this book does a great job at tapping into your emotions. I had tears running down my face at points. Harriet Evans has another book coming out soon. I sincerely hope it won't be as dark/heavy as this one, but I'm sure I'll love it even if it is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all of Evans' books. This did not disappoint in the end...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ESL More than 1 year ago
As always, Harriet Evans not only entertain but also create characters that are interesting and complex. I can't wait for her nextbook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rose Antrim More than 1 year ago
Great read.... i love this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good book, couldn't put it down!
ethel55 More than 1 year ago
This was hands down a fabulous book. Natasha Kapoor is at a crossroads with her jewelry business and personal life. The death of her beloved granny, a famous artist, sends her to the family home in Cornwall, called Summercove. As the family gathers, it's apparent that this extended group has a lot of secrets to share. As she heads back to London, Nat is given her aunt Cecily's diary, at least the part of it her grandfather found. Nat is told she resembles her Aunt Cecily, who tragically died in the summer of '63 as a fifteen year old. The vast number of characters--cousins, in-laws, friends--which I thought would be daunting at first, played out into their various roles very easily. Evans tells the story of Cecily's last summer eloquently via her school girl diary. The relationships of the present day are exquisitely handled as Nat begins to learn more about her mother's distance from the family and and learns a lot about herself as well. I will definitely pick up another one of Evans' novels again.