Love Always

Love Always

4.5 19
by Harriet Evans
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A compelling and heartrending tale of lost love, family secrets, and those little moments that can change your life forever . . .

When Natasha Kapoor returns to her grandparents’ idyllic coastal home for her beloved grandmother’s funeral, her life is at a turning point. She thought by now she’d be a successful jewelry designer in London

See more details below

Overview

A compelling and heartrending tale of lost love, family secrets, and those little moments that can change your life forever . . .

When Natasha Kapoor returns to her grandparents’ idyllic coastal home for her beloved grandmother’s funeral, her life is at a turning point. She thought by now she’d be a successful jewelry designer in London with a perfect marriage. Instead, she’s got mounting bills and a soon-to-be ex.

After the funeral, Natasha’s grandfather gives her the long-lost diary of her aunt Cecily. No one in her large and complicated family has ever discussed the tragic accident that took Cecily’s life as a teenager, and within the diary’s pages, Natasha finds a gripping and shocking tale of forbidden love, rivalry, and heartbreak.

Nearly fifty years later, will Cecily’s diary finally explain her family’s dark past and the terrible secret her aunt left behind? Is it possible it’s just the inspiration Natasha needs to take a fresh look at her future, and maybe even give love a second chance? Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin will get hooked on internationally bestselling author Harriet Evans’s warm, witty, and absorbing novel filled with original, rootworthy characters and complex family issues.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The death of family matriarch Frances brings up all sorts of buried conflict within the Kapoor clan related to the tragic early demise of her daughter, Cecily, who never lived to see past the age of 16 and whose death has always been blamed on her sister Miranda. When Miranda's daughter Natasha (who bears a strong resemblance to Cecily) tries to understand the source of the conflict, her grandfather Arvind gives her Cecily's diary from the summer when she died. The contents reveal webs of lies, her grandmother's infidelity with a teenager, and a love affair between Cecily and a fellow named Guy. When Natasha confronts her mother, she learns something she never expected (but the reader suspects this early on). Evans's newest is surprisingly engrossing because she is able to deftly juggle many different plots, which is good considering that certain twists are predictable early on. The supporting characters such as Arvind are given short shrift for a family drama. Still, Evans keeps the reader turning pages to see what Natasha will do next because they will identify with a protagonist who strives to pick apart the lies in her life and piece together a truth. Readers will also enjoy the firm sense of setting, both in Cornwall and London. (June)
From the Publisher
"Written in the author’s usual warm, witty style, this is perfect for a cozy night in." Cosmopolitan (UK)

‘Well written… you’ll love it’ —Daily Mail (UK)

"Romantic [and] gripping" —The Lady (UK)

‘This sunny coming of age drama darkens at every turn… Evans's gift for characterisation and appreciation of complicated family dynamics singles this novel out as superior romantic fare… Escapism that brings with it the promise of "custard yellow" sands and hot summer sun.’ —Independent (UK)

‘As she delves into the past, Natasha finally discovers the secrets that are buried there may hold the keys to her own future. Complex storylines, flawed characters and cupboards that positively rattle with skeletons. If you've yet to add Harriet Evans to your "must-read" list, now is a great time to start.’ —Daily Record (UK)

‘A modern romance and a delightful tale of second chances’ —Now (UK)

‘Heartwarming and hugely enjoyable’ —Closer (UK)

‘A broken heart and a forbidden affair are the compelling components of this poignant tale of self-discovery…Wonderful.’ —Marie Claire (UK)

‘(A) story of heartbreak and rivalry… An effortless and deeply satisfying romantic tale’ —Glamour (UK)

‘An engrossing novel of jealousy and forbidden love’ —Woman and Home (UK)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451639629
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Publication date:
06/21/2011
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
589,718
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)

Meet the Author

Harriet Evans is the internationally bestselling author of Going Home, A Hopeless Romantic, The Love of Her Life, I Remember You, Love Always, Happily Ever After, and Not Without You. She lives in London. Visit her website at Harriet-Evans.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >