BN.com Gift Guide

Love, Lucy [NOOK Book]

Overview

While backpacking through Florence, Italy, during the summer before she heads off to college, Lucy Sommersworth finds herself falling in love with the culture, the architecture, the food...and Jesse Palladino, a handsome street musician. After a whirlwind romance, Lucy returns home, determined to move on from her "vacation flirtation." But just because summer is over doesn't mean Lucy and Jesse are over, too.

In this coming-of-age romance, ...
See more details below
Love, Lucy

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

Available for Pre-Order
This item will be available on January 27, 2015.
NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

While backpacking through Florence, Italy, during the summer before she heads off to college, Lucy Sommersworth finds herself falling in love with the culture, the architecture, the food...and Jesse Palladino, a handsome street musician. After a whirlwind romance, Lucy returns home, determined to move on from her "vacation flirtation." But just because summer is over doesn't mean Lucy and Jesse are over, too.

In this coming-of-age romance, April Lindner perfectly captures the highs and lows of a summer love that might just be meant to last beyond the season.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
10/01/2014
Gr 9 Up—In exchange for enrolling as a business major for her first year in college, Lucy Sommersworth is treated to a summer backpacking trip across Europe. There, Lucy meets Jesse Palladino, an enticing musician who is living his dream as a traveler, not tied down to anything or anyone. Jesse and Lucy quickly become entangled in a vacation romance, but before long, Lucy has to go back home to start college, while Jesse stays in Italy. Will Lucy stay in contact with Jesse? Will she ever see him again? Or will she be able to move on and find a dream boyfriend at college? Lucy faces dilemmas and challenges that most young people can relate to: fighting with friends, standing up to parents, breaking up, and balancing obligations and desires. While still a teenager dealing with typical problems, Lucy is also growing up fast and learning how to be an adult. This means struggling with very hard decisions that could make or tear apart friendships, relationships, and family. A contemporary romance with surprising depth in its coming-of-age elements, this modern update of E. M. Forster's A Room with a View will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Lindner's reimagined classics. It would also work well in high school literature classes studying Forster's novel.—Eden Rassette, Kenton County Public Library, KY
From the Publisher
* "Love, Lucy hits all the right notes...This is a great coming-of-age story, perfect for Sarah Dessen fans or those who enjoy books with a summer romance."—VOYA (starred review)

"A contemporary romance with surprising depth in its coming-of-age elements, this modern update of E. M. Forster's A Room with a View will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Lindner's reimagined classics."—SLJ

"April Lindner brings on the feels with her usual charm. Love, Lucy is another romantic winner from this amazingly talented writer."—Meg Cabot, author of The Princess Diaries and the Heather Wells mystery series

Kirkus Reviews
2014-10-22
A European summer flirtation blossoms into something more in this romance set in Italy and Pennsylvania. While on a high school graduation trip to Florence, aspiring actress Lucy meets Jesse, a wandering minstrel of a boy originally from New Jersey who busks for room and board. During the last days of her vacation, they share a hotel room, and tensions arise when Lucy chooses to spend time with Jesse over her traveling companion, Charlene. When it's time for Lucy to go home, she and Jesse reluctantly part, and Lucy is convinced she will never see Jesse again. Fast-forward to her freshman year at a Philadelphia college. Lucy lands a lead role in Rent, even though her controlling father has forbidden her to keep acting. She has a gorgeous new boyfriend named Shane but can't stop thinking about Jesse. When Jesse shows up unexpectedly on campus, Lucy must decide between rebelling against her father and following her dreams with Jesse or sticking with her business major and playing it safe with Shane. This novel is ideal fodder for romance traditionalists, checking off every genre trope with the regularity of a metronome in solid if unremarkable prose. And Lindner does a good job of describing how uncomfortable travel can become when friends no longer get along. But readers looking for a more juicily written romance travelogue that teases and surprises at every turn may prefer Gayle Forman's Just One Day (2013) and Just One Year (2013). A satisfying if predictable crowd pleaser. (Fiction. 13-17)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780316400657
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Publication date: 1/27/2015
  • Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 735,217
  • Age range: 15 - 18 Years

Meet the Author

April Lindner is the author of Catherine and Jane and a professor of English at Saint Joseph's University in Philadelphia. Her poetry collection, Skin, received the Walt McDonald First-Book Prize in Poetry, and her poems have been featured in many anthologies and textbooks. April lives with her husband and two sons in Pennsylvania.
Read More Show Less

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)