×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lucky
     

Lucky

by David Mackintosh
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the creator of Marshall Armstrong Is New to Our School comes a visually stunning, hilarious picture book that explores children’s tendency to jump to the conclusions they want.

When Leo’s mom announces that there will be a surprise at dinner, she unknowingly sets in motion a riotous chain of events. What could the surprise be?! Leo and his

Overview

From the creator of Marshall Armstrong Is New to Our School comes a visually stunning, hilarious picture book that explores children’s tendency to jump to the conclusions they want.

When Leo’s mom announces that there will be a surprise at dinner, she unknowingly sets in motion a riotous chain of events. What could the surprise be?! Leo and his brother are desperate to find out. Could it be a bike? A pool? A new car? Their imaginations run wild until they latch, with utter conviction, onto what surely must be the answer: an all-expenses-paid, two-week trip to Hawaii! Perhaps not surprisingly, the brothers are soon proven wrong. But the ingenious way their family decides to cheer them up poignantly reminds us that, sometimes, embracing what you already have is enough to make you feel “lucky.”

 

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times Book Review - Linda Sue Park
…the unnamed boy protagonist in David Mackintosh's Lucky, lives in a postmodern [world]. Text is used as a design element—stacked, layered, squeezed, slanted. The large-headed, spindly-legged children proceed through a landscape of sketches, photographs, postcards, blocks of color and collage, with enough logic and white space to keep things from feeling too frantic. Lucky achieves a synchronicity between text and illustration that rarely occurs unless both are created by the same person.
Publishers Weekly
08/11/2014
Mom announces there’ll be a surprise at dinner, and the narrator and his brother, Leo, eventually decide it can mean only one thing: their family has won a trip to “Hawaii for two weeks: all expenses paid!” The brothers set the school grapevine buzzing and even inspire the principal to give everyone 10 minutes of free time because “this is the first time in history that anyone from our school has ever won a vacation.” Then Mom enthusiastically reveals, as only mothers can, that the big surprise is... takeout pizza. Crushed and embarrassed, the narrator slowly realizes that he’s in a pretty lucky family after all—a revelation handled with the subtlety and sweetness that’s become Mackintosh’s signature. As befits a story about magical thinking, Mackintosh (Standing in for Lincoln Green) amplifies his sketchbook-style drawings with a visually extravagant mélange of comic book framings, exaggerated typography that sometimes tips a hat to concrete poetry, and collage (which includes kitschy Hawaiiana to accompany Leo’s rhapsodic tribute to island life). It’s a story that leaves its readers feeling fortunate as well. Ages 4–8. (Oct.)
Publishers' Weekly

"It's a story that leaves its readers feeling fortunate as well."
Booklist - Kara Dean

"At turns exuberant, sweet, and humorous, this is a delightful surprise."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Kids will get a 'there but for the grace of God go I' kick out of the imaginations run amuck, and adults will be reminded of the perils of sparking unlimited expectations."
Children's Literature - Heather Christensen
Before they leave for school, a mother tells her two sons that there will be a surprise at dinner. Inspired by their surroundings as they walk to school, the young narrator and his brother Leo try to guess the surprise. After ruling out a new bike, a swimming pool, or another bedroom (so they do not have to share), the two decide it MUST be a vacation to Hawaii, which their parents won from a radio contest. The fact that they do not actually know what the surprise is does not keep them from sharing the good news with their friends and fellow classmates, so the discovery that the surprise is a bit more mundane—pizza for dinner, to be exact—is a bit of a letdown, to say the least. The mixed media illustrations give the feeling of a broad landscape that feeds the boys’ imagination—endless parked cars that inspire the idea of a new car, a layered fountain that suggests a swimming pool, or a travel brochure from Hawaii that leads to the erroneous conclusion. The design also gives the book a creative, freethinking feel, with larger fonts indicating different ideas and smaller fonts for asides or letdowns, all scattered around the page. Pair this with Fucile’s Let’s Do Nothing! for a creative and silly story time focusing on imagination. Reviewer: Heather Christensen; Ages 5 to 8.
School Library Journal
10/01/2014
K-Gr 2—Two brothers jump to conclusions when their mother announces that they will have a surprise at dinner. Could it be a new bike? Tickets to a show? A swimming pool in their yard or an elevator for their high-rise building? Or maybe it's a two-week vacation in Hawaii that their parents won in a contest. Convinced that it's the latter, they tell everyone at school, and the principal rewards their good fortune by giving all the students 10 minutes of free time. Rushing home after school, the narrator is deflated when Mom tells him that the surprise is pizza for dinner. But with a little creativity, plus a pineapple and coconuts, the family enjoys a make-believe Hawaiian meal.Mackintosh's animated cartoon illustrations are rendered in pencil, ink, and watercolor, with some mixed-media collage. The offbeat pictures illustrate the boys' wild imaginings with a mishmash of crazy angles, detailed scribbles, and bizarre inserts that children will want to examine up close. Lettering in various sizes and placements adds a quirky dimension and kinetic energy to the story. Fans of Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith's frenetic books will appreciate this entertaining tale.—Martha Simpson, Stratford Library Association, CT
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2014-08-20
Two boys get carried away when their mom tells them they will have a surprise at dinner. Little brother Leo thinks it's curly fries, but the young narrator starts thinking…and that's how they get into trouble! They brainstorm a list of ever bigger and better possibilities (a bike! a new car! a swimming pool!), and finally, with visions of grass skirts and volcanoes in their heads, they conclude it must be an all-expenses-paid trip to Hawaii. Both voice and reasoning are hysterically, authentically childlike. Dynamic, rapid-fire collage-and-pencil illustrations capture the zany escalation. The text increases in size, replicating their ever bolder assertions. Excited, they tell everyone at school, where even the staff celebrates by giving the students an extra 10-minute break. But when they get home, the siblings discover a very different surprise awaits them, leaving the narrator feeling rather sick until contagiously enthusiastic Leo cheers him up. How lucky can a kid get? This is a quirky, spot-on snapshot of family life, perfect for family sharing and repeated readings. And children will love examining the whimsical, surprisingly delightful details in the drawings. A winner. (Picture book. 4-8)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781419708091
Publisher:
Abrams, Harry N., Inc.
Publication date:
10/07/2014
Pages:
32
Sales rank:
471,682
Product dimensions:
8.80(w) x 11.10(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
5 - 7 Years

Videos

Meet the Author


David Mackintosh is the author of Marshall Armstrong Is New to Our School, The Frank Show, and Standing In for Lincoln Green. He is a graphic designer, art director, and illustrator. His innovative book designs have won numerous awards in Britain and internationally. He lives in London. Visit him online at davidmackintosh.co.uk.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews