Overview

We’re having a surprise at dinner tonight… but what could it BE? A joyful slice of family life all about what it really means to be lucky.When Mum announces that we’re having a surprise at dinner tonight, my brother Leo and I can’t help but wonder…What could it BE?Mum says we’ll have to wait and see, but Leo and I have some ideas of our own…The award-winning creator of the Roald Dahl shortlisted Marchall Armstrong is New to Our School delivers a tasty and touching slice of family life, in a story all about the ...
See more details below

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (NOOK Kids)
$15.54
BN.com price

Overview

We’re having a surprise at dinner tonight… but what could it BE? A joyful slice of family life all about what it really means to be lucky.When Mum announces that we’re having a surprise at dinner tonight, my brother Leo and I can’t help but wonder…What could it BE?Mum says we’ll have to wait and see, but Leo and I have some ideas of our own…The award-winning creator of the Roald Dahl shortlisted Marchall Armstrong is New to Our School delivers a tasty and touching slice of family life, in a story all about the benefits of brothers, and what it really means to be lucky…
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times Book Review - Linda Sue Park
…the unnamed boy protagonist in David Mackintosh's Lucky, lives in a postmodern [world]. Text is used as a design element—stacked, layered, squeezed, slanted. The large-headed, spindly-legged children proceed through a landscape of sketches, photographs, postcards, blocks of color and collage, with enough logic and white space to keep things from feeling too frantic. Lucky achieves a synchronicity between text and illustration that rarely occurs unless both are created by the same person.
Publishers Weekly
08/11/2014
Mom announces there’ll be a surprise at dinner, and the narrator and his brother, Leo, eventually decide it can mean only one thing: their family has won a trip to “Hawaii for two weeks: all expenses paid!” The brothers set the school grapevine buzzing and even inspire the principal to give everyone 10 minutes of free time because “this is the first time in history that anyone from our school has ever won a vacation.” Then Mom enthusiastically reveals, as only mothers can, that the big surprise is... takeout pizza. Crushed and embarrassed, the narrator slowly realizes that he’s in a pretty lucky family after all—a revelation handled with the subtlety and sweetness that’s become Mackintosh’s signature. As befits a story about magical thinking, Mackintosh (Standing in for Lincoln Green) amplifies his sketchbook-style drawings with a visually extravagant mélange of comic book framings, exaggerated typography that sometimes tips a hat to concrete poetry, and collage (which includes kitschy Hawaiiana to accompany Leo’s rhapsodic tribute to island life). It’s a story that leaves its readers feeling fortunate as well. Ages 4–8. (Oct.)
Publishers' Weekly

"It's a story that leaves its readers feeling fortunate as well."
Booklist - Kara Dean

"At turns exuberant, sweet, and humorous, this is a delightful surprise."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Kids will get a 'there but for the grace of God go I' kick out of the imaginations run amuck, and adults will be reminded of the perils of sparking unlimited expectations."
Children's Literature - Heather Christensen
Before they leave for school, a mother tells her two sons that there will be a surprise at dinner. Inspired by their surroundings as they walk to school, the young narrator and his brother Leo try to guess the surprise. After ruling out a new bike, a swimming pool, or another bedroom (so they do not have to share), the two decide it MUST be a vacation to Hawaii, which their parents won from a radio contest. The fact that they do not actually know what the surprise is does not keep them from sharing the good news with their friends and fellow classmates, so the discovery that the surprise is a bit more mundane—pizza for dinner, to be exact—is a bit of a letdown, to say the least. The mixed media illustrations give the feeling of a broad landscape that feeds the boys’ imagination—endless parked cars that inspire the idea of a new car, a layered fountain that suggests a swimming pool, or a travel brochure from Hawaii that leads to the erroneous conclusion. The design also gives the book a creative, freethinking feel, with larger fonts indicating different ideas and smaller fonts for asides or letdowns, all scattered around the page. Pair this with Fucile’s Let’s Do Nothing! for a creative and silly story time focusing on imagination. Reviewer: Heather Christensen; Ages 5 to 8.
School Library Journal
10/01/2014
K-Gr 2—Two brothers jump to conclusions when their mother announces that they will have a surprise at dinner. Could it be a new bike? Tickets to a show? A swimming pool in their yard or an elevator for their high-rise building? Or maybe it's a two-week vacation in Hawaii that their parents won in a contest. Convinced that it's the latter, they tell everyone at school, and the principal rewards their good fortune by giving all the students 10 minutes of free time. Rushing home after school, the narrator is deflated when Mom tells him that the surprise is pizza for dinner. But with a little creativity, plus a pineapple and coconuts, the family enjoys a make-believe Hawaiian meal.Mackintosh's animated cartoon illustrations are rendered in pencil, ink, and watercolor, with some mixed-media collage. The offbeat pictures illustrate the boys' wild imaginings with a mishmash of crazy angles, detailed scribbles, and bizarre inserts that children will want to examine up close. Lettering in various sizes and placements adds a quirky dimension and kinetic energy to the story. Fans of Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith's frenetic books will appreciate this entertaining tale.—Martha Simpson, Stratford Library Association, CT
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2014-08-20
Two boys get carried away when their mom tells them they will have a surprise at dinner. Little brother Leo thinks it's curly fries, but the young narrator starts thinking…and that's how they get into trouble! They brainstorm a list of ever bigger and better possibilities (a bike! a new car! a swimming pool!), and finally, with visions of grass skirts and volcanoes in their heads, they conclude it must be an all-expenses-paid trip to Hawaii. Both voice and reasoning are hysterically, authentically childlike. Dynamic, rapid-fire collage-and-pencil illustrations capture the zany escalation. The text increases in size, replicating their ever bolder assertions. Excited, they tell everyone at school, where even the staff celebrates by giving the students an extra 10-minute break. But when they get home, the siblings discover a very different surprise awaits them, leaving the narrator feeling rather sick until contagiously enthusiastic Leo cheers him up. How lucky can a kid get? This is a quirky, spot-on snapshot of family life, perfect for family sharing and repeated readings. And children will love examining the whimsical, surprisingly delightful details in the drawings. A winner. (Picture book. 4-8)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781613126851
  • Publisher: Abrams, Harry N., Inc.
  • Publication date: 10/7/2014
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: NOOK Kids
  • Sales rank: 1,073,370
  • Age range: 4 - 8 Years
  • File size: 16 MB
  • Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Meet the Author

David Mackintosh is an Australian designer, art director and illustrator. As a designer he has worked with some of the biggest names in children's publishing and also in publishing, theatre, TV production and advertising. David’s first book Marshall Armstrong is New to Our School was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize and his second, The Frank Show, was on FT.com list of Best Books 2012. David lives in London, loves books with pictures in them, flying, visiting cities and being read to.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)