Machines at Work

Machines at Work

5.0 1
by Byron Barton
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Byron Barton's classic book about a busy day at the construction site is perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Tom Lichtenheld!

Rhythmic text and bold, graphic illustrations convey all the energy and excitement of the day while workers use a variety of machines to knock down a building and begin constructing a new one. Young readers will love learning the names

…  See more details below

Overview

Byron Barton's classic book about a busy day at the construction site is perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Tom Lichtenheld!

Rhythmic text and bold, graphic illustrations convey all the energy and excitement of the day while workers use a variety of machines to knock down a building and begin constructing a new one. Young readers will love learning the names of the machines while seeing them at work.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
As with his recent booksTrains, Trucks, Airplanes and BoatsMachines at Work is characterized by bold, black outlines and vivid colors. Barton takes youngsters through an entire day at a construction site. The workers, a multiracial group of men and women, arrive and begin their day. Unlike other books on big machines for this age group, Barton's is not a catalogue of heavy equipment. Each vibrant spread shows people and machines actively working. The short, punchy narrative reinforces the dynamics of the illustrations. Kids are fascinated by dump trucks, bulldozers, cranes, cement trucks, etc. This will prove a popular read-aloud for preschoolers and satisfying read-alone for beginners. Ages 3-7. (September)
Children's Literature - Marilyn Courtot
Bold and simple illustrations, plus minimal text make the reissue of this book in a board book format a success. The crew sets out for a construction site and get into their big machines. The wrecking ball demolishes a building, a bulldozer dislodges a tree, dump trucks remove debris, the workers even take a lunch break, and when day is done they head on home. Each spread offers plenty to look at and discuss. Since little kids seem to find big machines and building projects fascinating, this little book should have plenty of appeal. 1997 (orig.
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1 Barton's bold double-page il lustrations depict a busy day at a con struction site as workers (with the posi tive inclusion of women) knock down a building and start a new one. In Barton's characteristic style, the bright primary colors and chunky shapes outlined in thick black lines convey an effect that is not static. Energy and action abound. The illustrations are accompanied by the simplest possible text, a one-line descrip tion. The machines shown are not named, but their functions are described. The sequence of events is clear and easi ly followed. Barton draws young readers and listeners into the book by the initial call to work. (``Hey, you guys!'') and the use of the first person-plural (``Let's get to work''). This visual treat, dished up with a nice helping of simple information, will entertain the very young. Connie Tyrrell Burns, Mahoney Middle School Library, South Portland, Maine

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780694001903
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/28/1987
Pages:
32
Sales rank:
248,801
Product dimensions:
10.00(w) x 8.75(h) x 0.32(d)
Lexile:
BR (what's this?)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Byron Barton is the creator of many picture books for young children, including My Car, Building a House, and Little Red Hen.

Byron Barton is the creator of many picture books for young children, including My Car, Building a House, and Little Red Hen.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Machines at Work 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago