BN.com Gift Guide

Mad Merlin [NOOK Book]

Overview


In the tradition of The Mists of Avalon and Mythago Wood, J. Robert King weaves an epic tale of Avalon, Excalibur, the Once and Future king, and the magician Merlin as he draws on the ideas and writings of Joseph Campbell to shape and interpret the legendary Arthurian mythos.

At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without ...

See more details below
Mad Merlin

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook - First Edition)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview


In the tradition of The Mists of Avalon and Mythago Wood, J. Robert King weaves an epic tale of Avalon, Excalibur, the Once and Future king, and the magician Merlin as he draws on the ideas and writings of Joseph Campbell to shape and interpret the legendary Arthurian mythos.

At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.


Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
A prolific author of game-related fiction (Blood Hostages, etc.) gives a distinctive and often agreeable spin to the story of Camelot. Focusing his attention on Merlin rather than on the usual Arthur, King weaves his tale by combining bits of folklore and mythology with both sheer invention and historical fact. In this version (which begins before Arthur's birth), the wizard is actually the Roman god Jupiter--but, due to a curse, he can't remember who he is, and he can't tell reality from dreams. He knows, however, that there's a boy (Arthur) not yet born who can cure him. So Merlin arranges Arthur's conception and whisks him off to a distant kingdom. As Arthur grows into a man, Merlin does, indeed, regain his memory; along the way, the boy learns the art of kingship and prepares to claim his rightful place as the ruler of Britain. Much fighting--against King Lot, the Saxons, Wotan and nearly the whole Germanic pantheon--ensues. King's unconventional take will not please fans of more conservative Arthurian tales. Action fans, on the other hand, will thrill to his frequent and well-told accounts of battles, both material and magical. Creative plot twists abound--Guinevere, for example, turns out to be one of the Tuatha De Danaan, as well as Arthur's footholder (meaning their marriage must remain chaste). Other characters with a distinctive flavor round out the story. This novel will appeal to those who like their Arthurian tales on the zany side. (July) Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.|
VOYA
The tales of Camelot continue to intrigue writers who desire to add unique twists to the ancient legends. In Mad Merlin, King focuses on the enigmatic wizard, who is crazy because he does not know his true identity. Set in post-Roman Britain, the basic plot follows the traditional Arthurian stories: Arthur is the child of Uther and Igraine; he is raised by Ector with his "stepbrother" Kay without knowledge of his true parentage; and he becomes king by removing Excalibur from a stone. There are twists in the story. As Arthur grows, Merlin also grows out of his madness. He regains his sanity when he remembers that before the Roman gods were eclipsed by Christianity, he was once Jove. Excalibur, originally forged from the Vulgate, the Latin translation of the Bible, is a god-killing sword. To the traditional characters, King adds the dwarf Dagonet, to whom Merlin's madness is transferred; a rough old warrior, Ulfius; and the whole pantheon of gods and goddesses, ranging from the Saxon gods Wotan and Loki to the fey creatures of Britain. The beginning of the book seems disjointed because King is telling the story through the perspective of Merlin's madness. At times, the story moves slowly as King tries to build his vision of how gods and mortals interact. Overall, this unique retelling of the story of Merlin has fully developed characters and plenty of action. Recommend this fantasy to readers ready to move beyond T. A. Barron's "The Lost Years of Merlin" series. VOYA CODES: 3Q 4P S A/YA (Readable without serious defects; Broad general YA appeal; Senior High, defined as grades 10 to 12; Adult and Young Adult). 2000, Tor, 480p. Ages 16 to Adult. Reviewer: Libby Bergstrom VOYA,February 2001 (Vol. 23, No.6)
Library Journal
From his involvement in the rise of Uther Pendragon and the birth of Arthur to the height of Camelot's power, the wizard Merlin labors under the curse of his destiny even as he seeks the truth of his identity. King's first nongaming fantasy relates the familiar tale of King Arthur as a background to his exploration of the enigmatic personality of Merlin. Drawing on ancient Norse, Celtic, and Roman myths, King crafts an unusual blend of history and legend that should appeal to fans of the Arthurian cycle. For most fantasy collections. Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.\
From the Publisher
"A nicely written and engaging perspective on on the wizard's actual identity, the book's sad in spots, funny in other and a worthwhile read."—San Diego Union-Tribune
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781466800816
  • Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
  • Publication date: 8/13/2001
  • Series: Mad Merlin , #1
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition description: First Edition
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 480
  • Sales rank: 669,362
  • File size: 551 KB

Meet the Author


J. Robert King is an Origins Award-winning author for his gaming fiction. Mad Merlin is the first book of his Arthurian trilogy that also includes Lancelot Du Lethe and Le Morte D'Avalon. He lives in Burlington, Wisconsin.
Read More Show Less

Read an Excerpt


Mad Merlin
BOOK ONE Madness 
 
For Elias the infant King who saved mePrologueEveryone seems to know me. After fifteen hundred years, they remember me. Everyone knows Merlin. I am, of course, delighted.You're smiling in recognition, aren't you?There was a time when I didn't even know myself. I was mad. I was lost. The secret of my past was hidden even from me. To discover that secret, I walked an arduous and perilous road. I would not have survived that journey, except that I had a friend at my side, a young man everyone also knows.This is the story of how we found out who we were. This is the story of King Arthur and mad Merlin ... .Copyright © 2000 by J. Robert King
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    ?

    Just great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)