×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Maelyn (The Nine Princesses - Book 1) (Free Princess Book)
     

Maelyn (The Nine Princesses - Book 1) (Free Princess Book)

4.2 32
by Anita Valle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Maelyn was not born a princess. The king found her as a child, the lone survivor of a poor village slaughtered by the Red Fever. Suddenly she became a princess of Runa Realm, the first of nine orphans adopted by the king.

By her eighteenth year, Maelyn rules over Runa and a family of nine sisters. But some call the princesses frauds and imposters, a handful

Overview

Maelyn was not born a princess. The king found her as a child, the lone survivor of a poor village slaughtered by the Red Fever. Suddenly she became a princess of Runa Realm, the first of nine orphans adopted by the king.

By her eighteenth year, Maelyn rules over Runa and a family of nine sisters. But some call the princesses frauds and imposters, a handful of urchins raised into royalty. Even Uncle Jarrod, the High King of Grunwold, seems determined to prove that Maelyn no longer deserves to be a princess. With a family losing faith in her, and a kingdom growing dangerously hostile, even Maelyn begins to wonder if she is truly a real princess. And if her riches will turn to rags once again….

The Nine Princesses is a series that chronicles the adventures of an unconventional family of princesses, the struggles they face in a kingdom often hostile to their humble origins, and the day-to-day dramas of nine young women whose personalities often clash like swords. Fans of Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale would enjoy this young-adult series.

Book Details: Length: 174 pages
Genre: Fantasy
Mood: Heartwarming / Romantic
Content: Minimal violence. No sex. Mild romance.
Audience: Anyone who enjoys fairy tale retellings or a nice princess book.

Read an Excerpt: >>> Maelyn returned her father’s journal to the drawer. She’d been the oldest baby in that row of cradles - about three years of age when Father found her by the road. Arialain had been less than a week, frail and born too early. Nine girls from nine kingdoms, orphaned by nameless strangers. Suddenly they became sisters, bound not by blood, but by their parents’ love.

Maelyn slid out of bed, shivering as her feet touched the floorboards. She wrapped a heavy shawl over her nightdress and padded to the window. The kingdom nestled in darkness thick as a wool blanket but the first smudges of sunlight colored the horizon. She remembered only fragments of that distant day. Mama’s dead face. The long road that blistered her feet. Her terror when Dorian, the king’s manservant, lifted her off the ground. How good the bread tasted....

“You never saw us as orphans,” she said, addressing her unseen father. “You called us ”hidden princesses’. Born in other lands, waiting for you to find us.” Maelyn smiled weakly. “But Father, many do not see us this way. I never knew how many... until you were gone.”

Author's Note: A free princess book for anyone who enjoys medieval fantasy or fairy tale retellings. Meet Maelyn, a young princess in a tough position. She was born as a peasant but raised as a princess. The snobbish nobility of her kingdom do not accept her. And after the king and queen died, the servants mysteriously disappeared from the castle, leaving Maelyn and her sisters to fend for themselves. Maelyn is expected to marry a prince, yet finds herself drawn to the royal messenger who shares her love of fantasy books. Can a princess have a fairy tale romance without creating a royal scandal? Or does it prove she really shouldn’t be a princess at all? Maelyn is Book 1 in The Nine Princesses novels.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940044777279
Publisher:
Anita Valle
Publication date:
07/29/2012
Series:
Nine Princesses
Sold by:
Smashwords
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
1,894
File size:
205 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Hi there! I'm Anita, an author, artist, and mommy with not enough time to do any of those things. I'm sure you understand. Here are 10 semi-interesting facts about myself: 1. I was born in Philadelphia, PA. Honk if you know what 'hoagies' are. 2. I was home-schooled. 3. I started drawing when I was two years old. My dad would draw a big bus for me and I'd draw a happy face in each window. 4. I'm a chocoholic who's allergic to chocolate!!! Yes, I'm living the nightmare. Chocolate makes me bad-tempered, hysterical, or both. I sure miss ice cream sandwiches. And M&Ms. And brownies. And chocolate milkshakes. And Oreo cookies.... 5. I LOVE literary novels, any book that exemplifies the beauty of language. "In vain have I struggled, it will not do! You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you." (sigh) 6. I was once a donor for a bone marrow transplant. The recipient was my little sister. I was eleven years old at the time. 7. I collect piggy banks and paint them too! My favorite so far is the leopard-print piggy. 8. I can't. watch. horror movies. 9. I now live in upstate New York. After Philadelphia, I can't get used to all this grass. 10. I will never outgrow the Super Mario Brothers! Hopefully that makes me a cool mom. Please e-mail me if you have any questions or comments about my work. I'd be delighted to hear from you! God bless you. e-mail: anitavalleart@yahoo.com website: http://www.anitavalleart.com facebook: facebook/thenineprincesses

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Maelyn 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
CanaryMV More than 1 year ago
What a great book! Scrupulously well written, surprising plot twists, and definitely not your usual princess story at all. Maelyn is a strong person and isn't waiting to be saved by any Prince Charming. This is not a damsel-in-distrss story but a unique story of a young woman facing more difficulties than the average princess deals with. Fun characters and a solidly good ending. I recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! I wish it were longer would have to be the only con!
Tamazon More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next one,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly don't like the saccharine nature of princess fairy tales, so I like how the character Cinderella was twisted into something different. I was especially liked the new fairy God mother. Also not annoying. And the grand finale, gracefully moving into the next twisted fairy tale...BRAVO! You've made princess fairy tales pleasant!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick, fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cute story about nine adopted princesses. First in a series. Some pages got skipped (nook version) which was annoying...but it was free.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story. Look forward to the others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! I couldn't put it down. If you love fairy tales, stories about princesses or damsels in distress, this is a must read. Definitely appropriate for all ages. If you've ever dreamed of being a princess, this book is for you. I can't wait to read the next one!
Anonymous 7 days ago
This is not your average princess that you hear about in movies or TV shows, no Maelyn was simply a village girl adopted into royalty. Maelyn and her number sisters are now princesses of this kingdom. Maelyn's uncle thinks that she is not fit to time her kingdom. Get this book and find out more!!! I'm sure you will love it....
Anonymous 15 days ago
Anonymous 22 days ago
I'm excited to find out what happens next!
Anonymous 4 months ago
I found myself pulled into the story right from the start. I want to read the rest of the books.
Anonymous 4 months ago
.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Light cheerful fantasy
Anonymous 7 months ago
I enjoyed this short story more than expected. Not into princesses however the unique twist won me over. Read!
Anonymous 11 months ago
I always thought Cinderella was a little too sweet for her own good. Nice to get a new spin on who she really was.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Appropriate for YA yet still fun for us 40somethings ;) The +/- it's 85 pages and start of a series I'd not pay $3 each to continue. I've read other books by this author which in itself is good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did enjoy this book, only wish it had been a bit longer!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No real surprises. A nice breaak
onecooljewel More than 1 year ago
Great Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this little story. It was simply written, yet not necessarily predictable. I loved the idea of the nine princesses to begin with, and I'm very looking forward to getting to know more of them in the future novellas. My only complaint is that it wasn't longer! The world is an interesting one, though simple as I've said. I wish that we could go deeper into the world and learn more, but alas, they are only novellas. On to the second one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm surprised the auther didn't write any more books. A very good story, more then 180 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very light read