A Magic of Nightfall (Nessantico Cycle Series #2)

( 5 )

Overview

Second in a brilliant new fantasy series.

A masterwork of fantasy, The Nessantico Cycle is the epic tale of an empire at its height, yet poised on the brink of what could be a devastating descent into ruin. Told from the viewpoints of numerous characters, it is a sweeping saga of murder and magic (portrayed both as a powerful religion and a forbidden art), deception and betrayal, Machiavellian politics, star-crossed lovers, and a realm facing ...

See more details below
Paperback (Mass Market Paperback)
$7.19
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$7.99 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (14) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $4.19   
  • Used (10) from $1.99   
A Magic of Nightfall (Nessantico Cycle Series #2)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

Second in a brilliant new fantasy series.

A masterwork of fantasy, The Nessantico Cycle is the epic tale of an empire at its height, yet poised on the brink of what could be a devastating descent into ruin. Told from the viewpoints of numerous characters, it is a sweeping saga of murder and magic (portrayed both as a powerful religion and a forbidden art), deception and betrayal, Machiavellian politics, star-crossed lovers, and a realm facing war on every front.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

VOYA - Rachelle Bilz
The capital city of Nessantico, evocative of Paris, sits like a jewel in the middle of the Holdings. The Holdings, an alliance of several countries and their leaders, are united under the Kralji (emperor/empress) in the capital. The official state religion, Concenzia, is overseen by the Archigos; priests are known as Teni who control the Ilmodo (magical power). In the first book of the Nessantico Cycle, A Magic of Twilight (DAW, 2009/VOYA, April 2009), the Holdings have enjoyed several years of peace and prosperity under Kraljica Marguerite, but when she dies and her son, Justi, takes charge, things change radically. The Magic of Nightfall, book two in this series, begins twenty-five years after the end of book one. Justi has died, and his teenage son, Audric, is Kraljiki, with Sergei ca'Rudka as regent. Sergei, former soldier, lives to serve Nessantico and employs any means necessary for the city to survive. Firenzcia has rebelled and pulled away from the Holdings, its precarious young ruler, Fynn, prey for power-hungry relatives. On the brink of civil war, Nessantico is weakened by a war with The Westlands. Added to this political maelstrom is the tension between Concenzia and the Numetodo. Complicated political maneuvering, fascinating three-dimensional characters, and unpredictable plot twists combine to make Farrell's superb fantasy hard to put down. Richly imagined and finely written, this novel will appeal to fans of George R. R. Martin, Robert Jordan, and Terry Brooks. Due to the complex plot and many characters, it is essential to read the books in this series sequentially. Reviewer: Rachelle Bilz
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780756405991
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 3/2/2010
  • Series: Nessantico Cycle Series , #2
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Pages: 656
  • Sales rank: 480,820
  • Product dimensions: 4.20 (w) x 6.70 (h) x 1.60 (d)

Meet the Author

S.L. Farrell is the pseudonym for a veteran author of numerous science fiction and fantasy novels, including DAW's Cloudmages trilogy. He has published a number of short stories, and has contributed to the Wild Cards series, edited by George R. R. Martin.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 6 of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    S. L. Farrell is a great world-builder

    Nessantico is the capital of the Holdings, but it is not as large as it once was. Firenzcia has broken away and other states followed forming the Coalition. Audric the ruler is two years away from his majority so continues to rule under the guidance of the Regent Serge Ca¿Rudka. However, Audric is also falling into madness, as he imprisons the Regent while heeding the advice of an ancestor who the lad believes is giving him good counsel even though she is in a painting which he believes talks to him.<BR/><BR/>Sergei escapes heading to Firenzcia where Allesandra Ca¿Vorl is manipulating events to enable her to achieve her goals. Allessandra was once a hostage is Nessantico because her father rejected her as his heir choosing her younger brother Fyyn. The lady has the assassin The White Stone carry out her plan for having the counsel place her son on the throne. The Westlanders in the Hellins were invaded by Nessantican forces; they push the outsiders from their country and invade the city. Alexandra wants her son to use his army to help Nessantico, but he has learned about her lies and murders so needs time to decide what to do. <BR/><BR/>The second Nessantico Cycle doesn¿t suffer from the middle book syndrome as A MAGIC OF NIGHTFALL takes place twenty five years after the events of A MAGIC OF TWILIGHT. This gives the saga a feeling of freshness yet retains the innovative political intrigue. Each main character maintains their part of the story so that the audience sees a changing POV that makes for a fascinating read; for instance how different mother and son look at Nessantico. Based on a blending of medieval France, Florence, and Venice, this superb fantasy captures the betrayals even within families as Machiavelli would claim S. L. Farrell is more than just a great world-builder; he understand the essence of power is manipulating your opponents and allies to do your bidding.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 6 of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)