Magical Kids II: The Smallest Girl Ever: The Boy Who Could Fly

Magical Kids II: The Smallest Girl Ever: The Boy Who Could Fly

1.7 4
by Sally Gardner
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Sally Gardner expands her Magical Kids series with two more delightfully quirky chapter books, packaged together in this fun “flip” format for twice the magic! Fans of Judy Moody and My Weird School are sure to snatch this one up!

Overview

Sally Gardner expands her Magical Kids series with two more delightfully quirky chapter books, packaged together in this fun “flip” format for twice the magic! Fans of Judy Moody and My Weird School are sure to snatch this one up!

Editorial Reviews

Booklist
Readers will enjoy the small, detailed, expressive ink drawings throughout both stories.
School Library Journal

Gr 2-4

Gardner continues her series about children with magical abilities with these two short novels, presented in a "flip over" volume. Thomas is granted his wish to fly on his ninth birthday, making for many complications at home and school. Although his tale has some charm, The Smallest Girl is the stronger and more interesting story. Ruby Genie is the daughter of the greatest magicians ever. Unfortunately, she appears to have no magical talent at all. When her parents are killed, she is sent to the only school of magic that will take her. When she's told to perform her best trick, she is unable to do anything, and (literally) shrinks with embarrassment. Later, a down-on-his-luck magician with evil intentions claims to be Ruby's uncle and takes her away. However, he soon becomes frustrated with her, puts her in an old handbag, and tosses her out a window. Ruby's luck finally changes when kindly Aunt Hat catches the bag. The characters are more fleshed out, and the engaging plotline keeps children curious about will happen next. In both selections, black-and-white illustrations are scattered throughout and offer good graphic support for younger readers.-Elaine Lesh Morgan, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

Kirkus Reviews
Down-to-earth Ruby is a total disappointment to her famous magician parents. When she is orphaned and sent to a failing magic school, she shrinks each time she tries to do a trick. A greedy, false uncle claims her, but she is rescued by loving Aunt Hat and discovers a hidden well of magical ability. Flip the book and meet Thomas Top, whose family is perfectly ordinary and likes it that way. He is granted a birthday wish by a fairy and soon finds himself flying all over town. The adults convince themselves that they are collectively imagining the whole thing, but somehow Thomas's father is reminded that he was once more light-spirited, and when he too is granted a wish, he wishes he could have fun. In the best British fantasy tradition Gardner treats the magic matter-of-factly, making it seem natural and believable. The deceptively simple black-and-white illustrations add just the right touch. Previously published separately in the United Kingdom, the two-in-one flip-book format will definitely attract young American readers. (Fantasy. 7-10)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803731592
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Publication date:
10/16/2008
Pages:
224
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile:
730L (what's this?)
Age Range:
6 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Sally Gardner lives in London, England.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Magical Kids II: The Smallest Girl Ever: The Boy Who Could Fly 1.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Again B-A-D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So i hear it is BAAAAAADDDD!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago