Magical Kids II: The Smallest Girl Ever: The Boy Who Could Fly

( 4 )

Overview

Sally Gardner expands her Magical Kids series with two more delightfully quirky chapter books, packaged together in this fun “flip” format for twice the magic! Fans of Judy Moody and My Weird School are sure to snatch this one up!

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (8) from $2.75   
  • Used (8) from $2.75   
Magical Kids II: The Smallest Girl Ever and The Boy Who Could Fly

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$13.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

Sally Gardner expands her Magical Kids series with two more delightfully quirky chapter books, packaged together in this fun “flip” format for twice the magic! Fans of Judy Moody and My Weird School are sure to snatch this one up!

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Booklist
Readers will enjoy the small, detailed, expressive ink drawings throughout both stories.
School Library Journal

Gr 2-4

Gardner continues her series about children with magical abilities with these two short novels, presented in a "flip over" volume. Thomas is granted his wish to fly on his ninth birthday, making for many complications at home and school. Although his tale has some charm, The Smallest Girl is the stronger and more interesting story. Ruby Genie is the daughter of the greatest magicians ever. Unfortunately, she appears to have no magical talent at all. When her parents are killed, she is sent to the only school of magic that will take her. When she's told to perform her best trick, she is unable to do anything, and (literally) shrinks with embarrassment. Later, a down-on-his-luck magician with evil intentions claims to be Ruby's uncle and takes her away. However, he soon becomes frustrated with her, puts her in an old handbag, and tosses her out a window. Ruby's luck finally changes when kindly Aunt Hat catches the bag. The characters are more fleshed out, and the engaging plotline keeps children curious about will happen next. In both selections, black-and-white illustrations are scattered throughout and offer good graphic support for younger readers.-Elaine Lesh Morgan, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

Kirkus Reviews
Down-to-earth Ruby is a total disappointment to her famous magician parents. When she is orphaned and sent to a failing magic school, she shrinks each time she tries to do a trick. A greedy, false uncle claims her, but she is rescued by loving Aunt Hat and discovers a hidden well of magical ability. Flip the book and meet Thomas Top, whose family is perfectly ordinary and likes it that way. He is granted a birthday wish by a fairy and soon finds himself flying all over town. The adults convince themselves that they are collectively imagining the whole thing, but somehow Thomas's father is reminded that he was once more light-spirited, and when he too is granted a wish, he wishes he could have fun. In the best British fantasy tradition Gardner treats the magic matter-of-factly, making it seem natural and believable. The deceptively simple black-and-white illustrations add just the right touch. Previously published separately in the United Kingdom, the two-in-one flip-book format will definitely attract young American readers. (Fantasy. 7-10)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780803731592
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 10/16/2008
  • Pages: 224
  • Age range: 6 - 8 Years
  • Lexile: 730L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.10 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 2
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    B-A-D

    Again B-A-D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Lalalalalalalala

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Sammy

    So i hear it is BAAAAAADDDD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)