Mahler: Symphonie No. 1

( 1 )
$16.84 price
(Save 15%)$19.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $2.99   
  • New (6) from $6.56   
  • Used (3) from $2.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 10/25/1990
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028942730328
  • Catalog Number: 427303
  • Sales rank: 44,090


Disc 1
  1. 1 Symphony No. 1 in D major ("Titan") - Gustav Mahler & Leonard Bernstein (56:03)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mahler's Symphony No. 1

    Its first performance was in Budapest in November 1889, received by many critics with varying degrees of confusion and consternation resulting from their failure to understand it, "my time has not come yet" Mahler was reported to have said in later years. Indeed it did come forty years after his death in 1911. <BR/><BR/>1889 was the year when Dvojak's symphony No. 4 was born. Renoir finished his "Girls picking flowers'' a marvelous French painting and Van Gogh produced his "Man with a Pipe" and "The Olive Grove" beautiful Dutch paintings. Tchaikovsky gave us his ballet music - 'the sleeping Princess". Also Eiffel completed his tower at Paris - the mammoth 985 feet high, and, in the USA, they erected Tacoma building in Chicago; a 13 storey's high, the first sky-scrapper ever.<BR/> <BR/>Gigantic works provided by Perfectionists as they were. <BR/>Titans - offspring of heaven and earth. <BR/>Mahler was no exception. In fact he was a perfect fit and his conducting skills attest the intellectual honesty of the man. <BR/><BR/>Leonard Bernstein`s interpretation of "Titan" succeeded in creating that illusion, with such imaginary reality, without which very little can only be achieved.<BR/><BR/>To conduct Mahler's First Symphony is heroic, more so to perform a task that I am sure, Mahler had his lives challenges to be able to bring to its happy conclusion - alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews