Mahler: Symphony No. 1 "Titan" (including Blumine movement)

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $4.83   
  • Used (2) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 12/13/1994
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 730099552226
  • Catalog Number: 8550522
  • Sales rank: 340,813


Disc 1
  1. 1 Symphony No. 1 in D major ("Titan") - Gustav Mahler & Michael Halász (53:22)
  2. 2 Blumine ("Flora"), for orchestra (discarded movement from Symphony No. 1) - Gustav Mahler & Michael Halász (7:15)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Michael Halász Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exceptional but.... a super Mahler fan...i am never satisfied with just one recording of any Mahler's work. I tend to look for others to hear for the different interpretations that both the orchestra and conductor brings to any Mahler piece. In this recording, the quality is exceptional. Personally I just discovered this orchestra when I was at a music store in my neighbourhood. Honestly, it is one of the best sounding orchestras i've ever heard, rivaling the top orchestras in the world today. The strings control of the high range holding note in the beginning of Langsam, schleppend is just uncomparable. Its even better than some of the recordings by some of the world's top orchestras. The orchestra's different sections just seem to flow together as one. The woodwinds are amazingly fluid, and rise tremendously well with the higher strings at the fast passages. The higher woodwind trill at the finale is perfectly in tune. The lower brass and the lower strings did the work more than justice by providing the essential support, strength and power as and when demanded by the symphony. The percussion, very accurate. One drawback though is the horn section. They sound as though they are blocked, not positioned properly or something. It could be due to many factors. Nevertheless they did not supply enough sound and power when needed especially in the infamous D major fanfare like theme in Sturmisch Bewegt. This is a drawback as they could not balance with the trumpets which handled the high octave passages with gusto. Overall it could have been the best recording of Mahler's 1 if not for the drawback that I've mentioned. 4 stars :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews