Mahler: The Complete Symphonies

( 1 )
CD (11-Disc Set)
$83.59 price
(Save 5%)$87.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (3) from $57.92   
  • New (3) from $57.92   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 11/3/1998
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • UPC: 724357294126
  • Catalog Number: 72941
  • Sales rank: 46,874


Disc 1
  1. 1 Symphony No. 1 in D major ("Titan") - Gustav Mahler & London Philharmonic Orchestra (54:04)
  2. 2 Symphony No. 2 in C minor ("Resurrection") - Gustav Mahler & John Alldis (88:43)
  3. 3 Symphony No. 3 in D minor - Friedrich Nietzsche & Gustav Mahler (97:41)
  4. 4 Symphony No. 4 in G major - Gustav Mahler & London Philharmonic Orchestra (54:51)
  5. 5 Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor - Gustav Mahler & London Philharmonic Orchestra (75:23)
  6. 6 Symphony No. 7 in E minor ("Song of the Night") - Gustav Mahler & London Philharmonic Orchestra (82:48)
  7. 7 Symphony No. 6 in A minor ("Tragic") - Gustav Mahler & London Philharmonic Orchestra (88:16)
  8. 8 Symphony No. 8 in E flat major ("Symphony of a Thousand") - Gustav Mahler & Elizabeth Connell (82:24)
  9. 9 Symphony No. 9 in D major - Gustav Mahler & London Philharmonic Orchestra (85:49)
  10. 10 Symphony No. 10 in F sharp minor (incomplete) - Gustav Mahler & London Philharmonic Orchestra (28:04)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Klaus Tennstedt Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Symphonies like the world

    Conventional wisdom holds that a boxed set is not the "correct" way to make these enormous, multi-faceted symphonic works available for home listening. No one conductor (unless his name is Leonard Bernstein) can get each of the Mahler symphonies right, according to this truism (although the same rule apparently doesn't apply to Beethoven's symphonies, which are at least as difificult to pin down as Mahler's). Far better is to collect individual recordings, or so they say. One danger of that approach is that unless you're a fanatical Mahlerite, you run the risk of burning yourself out on the quest for the "definitive" Mahler Fifth or the "definitive" Mahler Ninth--whatever "definitive" may mean in music that is open to so many different viewpoints. As an ardent Mahlerite, I'm here to tell you that it **is** possible to take the simpler approach of a one-conductor boxed set without cheating yourself of a full-fledged "experience" in each symphony. Among that "mighty handful" of worthy contenders is this reissue of the symphonic cycle Klaus Tennstedt recorded for EMI between 1977 and 1986. No, this is not a collection of "ultimate" performances of this "ultimate," all-encompassing music. And yes, there are some flaws: Neither the conducting nor the orchestral playing is consistently "on" from start to finish, the recorded sound varies from symphony to symphony, and the Eighth Symphony ideally needs a bigger chorus. But Tennstedt manages to communicate the essence of each of these works, and that's a rare enough achievement. For me, his approach is like the famous inscription on the title page of Beethoven's Missa Solemnis--"From the heart; may it go to the heart." And it does: For me, it's more moving than the higher-voltage approach of Bernstein, supreme Mahlerian though Lenny may have been. My problem with Bernstein's Mahler is that there is too much of the conductor's personality overshadowing the composer's, as though the music can't speak for itself. Without being at all reticent, Tennstedt lets Mahler take center stage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews