The Make by Jessie Keane | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
The Make

The Make

by Jessie Keane
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Murder, loyalty and vengeance collide in Jessie Keane’s gritty fourth novel.Life is good for Gracie Doyle - running her Manchester casino keeps her busy. Until the police turn up at her door one day and her world is turned upside down. She is given news that her two estranged brothers have been viciously attacked. George is in hospital on a ventilator and

Overview

Murder, loyalty and vengeance collide in Jessie Keane’s gritty fourth novel.Life is good for Gracie Doyle - running her Manchester casino keeps her busy. Until the police turn up at her door one day and her world is turned upside down. She is given news that her two estranged brothers have been viciously attacked. George is in hospital on a ventilator and worringly, Harry is missing.Gracie has no option but to leave the good life and dip her toe into the murky waters of her East End past. She leaves for London in an attempt to avenge her brothers and in doing so uncovers some unsavoury secrets about the lifestyle they've been leading. Their little games have got them into big trouble with the wrong people…She must keep her wits about her and try to find Harry, or it could prove fatal…

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In this solid suspense novel from Keane (Jail Bird), Gracie Doyle, a Manchester casino owner, returns to London, where she grew up in the East End, after hearing distressing news about her two estranged brothers: George has been brutally attacked and is in the hospital, while Harry has gone missing. George and Harry, we learn in flashbacks, set up their own escort business. George struggled with his feelings for a male “punter” on the run, while Harry fell for a woman from Hong Kong. In searching for answers, Gracie and her mother become the targets of some unknown scoundrel. Gracie’s estranged husband, Lorcan, who also runs a casino, lends a helping hand. Gracie thinks “they were probably all doomed, every last one of the Doyles,” but despite her well-justified fears, the human heart triumphs over evil in a story that has more to do with family reconciliation than catching the bad guy. (Feb.)
From the Publisher
Praise for Jail Bird:'Fans of Martina Cole will love this' Teesside Evening Gazette'Keane's have a grittiness and strong sense of place and character that make them especially compelling' Choice MagazinePraise for Jessie Keane:‘This is a riveting story, with gutsy, gritty characters and a genuine feel for the period.’ Books Monthly‘A cracking story from a great new writer’ Mandasue Heller'Jessie Keane gives us a fascinating insight into the rivalries and lifestyles of those who make fortunes out of a criminal way of life and of the lowlifes that carry out their orders.' Lincolnshire Echo'Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante' Glamour'Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel' Closer'This is the sort of competition Martina Cole could do without and if Keane does hit the No. 1 spot it could be handbags, or more likely knuckledusters, at dawn' The Northern Echo

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780007332922
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/20/2011
Sold by:
HarperCollins Publishers
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
464
Sales rank:
401,228
File size:
678 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Jessie Keane is the bestselling author of the Annie Carter trilogy, Dirty Game, Black Widow and Scarlet Women. Her most recent novel, Jail Bird, introduces a new heroine, Gracie Doyle that fans will love. Jessie lives in Hampshire.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >