BN.com Gift Guide

Mama Makes up Her Mind

Overview

In this national bestseller, Bailey White—whose accounts of Southern eccentricity have enchanted millions of listeners to National Public Radio—offers a humorous, touching, story-filled memoir of her home in south Georgia.

In the tradition of Eudora Welty and Fannie Flagg, White writes about growing up in a small Southern town. She tells warm and funny stories about her cane-wielding Mama going into a juke joint, teaching first-graders, and more. Millions of ...

See more details below
This Hardcover is Not Available through BN.com
Note: This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but may have slight markings from the publisher and/or stickers showing their discounted price. More about bargain books
Sending request ...

Overview

In this national bestseller, Bailey White—whose accounts of Southern eccentricity have enchanted millions of listeners to National Public Radio—offers a humorous, touching, story-filled memoir of her home in south Georgia.

In the tradition of Eudora Welty and Fannie Flagg, White writes about growing up in a small Southern town. She tells warm and funny stories about her cane-wielding Mama going into a juke joint, teaching first-graders, and more. Millions of listeners enjoy hearing Bailey White's tales on NPR's All Things Considered."

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Ray Olson
Solely for reviving the "voice" of the storyteller, National Public Radio should be funded in perpetuity. The winningest monologuist NPR's given us may be Bailey White. She's the first-grade teacher from south Georgia with the husky voice with the crack in it that makes you want to say, "Dear! put some honey lemonade on that throat and rest it awhile." She lives with her prodigious mama in a house that, listening to her, you'd think must be Fibber McGee's closet blown up to mansion proportions. She drove the same car faithfully for about 20 years, bought another that conked out kinda quick, then a third with the help of none other than Gen. Robert E. Lee. She knows people like the lady who saw the "Titanic" en route to the iceberg, and has relatives like Aunt Belle, who trained an alligator to come bellow for a treat. "And" she's a volunteer fireman ["sic"], the smallest on the force. She tells us all about it on the radio and all over again in this book. She's marvelous on the air, but dang'd if she isn't funnier, livelier, more stylish in the aural theater of the reader's mind. Or read her stuff out loud the way you think it ought to be inflected. Anyway, she's a great humorist.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780765475503
  • Publisher: Perseus Publishing
  • Publication date: 3/12/1993
  • Pages: 230

Table of Contents

Rosey's 3
Spyglass 6
Turkeys 12
Midnight Cowboy 17
Porsche 19
Instant Care 22
Bicyclists 25
Birth of the Blues 28
Something Like a Husband 31
Camping 36
Dead on the Road 39
Nonrepresentational Art 41
The Bed 45
Family Ghosts 49
The Monkeys Not Seen 51
The Inn 54
The Devil's Hoofprints 60
Bluebirds 65
Good Housekeeping 68
Summer Afternoon 79
Joe King 83
Sleep and Prayer 89
Alligator 92
Finger 95
Scab Movies 99
Mama's Memoirs 102
Memorizing Trollope 106
Distillates 110
Madness through Mirrors 114
The Lips of a Stranger 118
A Scourge of Swans 127
Rattlesnake Belt 130
Count Fair 133
Flying Saucer 136
Campaign Promises 139
Leave-taking 142
An Interesting Life 145
Semen and Daffodils 148
Teaching Luther to Cook 151
Buzzard 156
Homecoming 158
Gardening 160
Maritime Disasters 169
Grandparents' Day 173
Fireman for Life 177
The Dance of the Chicken Feet 182
Cultural Center 187
Mortality 192
One-Eared Intellectual 197
Christmas Party 200
Maine 204
Used Cars 208
Snake Show 214
Jeanne d'Arc 217
Micanopy 220
Finding Myself 227
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)