Mama Makes up Her Mind

( 8 )

Overview

In this national bestseller, Bailey White—whose accounts of Southern eccentricity have enchanted millions of listeners to National Public Radio—offers a humorous, touching, story-filled memoir of her home in south Georgia.

In the tradition of Eudora Welty and Fannie Flagg, White writes about growing up in a small Southern town. She tells warm and funny stories about her cane-wielding Mama going into a juke joint, teaching first-graders, and more. Millions of ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (2) from $17.53   
  • Used (2) from $17.53   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$17.53
Seller since 2009

Feedback rating:

(25697)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

Good
Giving great service since 2004: Buy from the Best! 4,000,000 items shipped to delighted customers. We have 1,000,000 unique items ready to ship! Find your Great Buy today!

Ships from: Toledo, OH

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$57.45
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(323)

Condition: Good
Possible retired library copy, some have markings or writing. May or may not include accessories such as CD or access codes.

Ships from: Chatham, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Mama Makes Up Her Mind: And Other Dangers of Southern Living

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 30%)$14.99 List Price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.

Overview

In this national bestseller, Bailey White—whose accounts of Southern eccentricity have enchanted millions of listeners to National Public Radio—offers a humorous, touching, story-filled memoir of her home in south Georgia.

In the tradition of Eudora Welty and Fannie Flagg, White writes about growing up in a small Southern town. She tells warm and funny stories about her cane-wielding Mama going into a juke joint, teaching first-graders, and more. Millions of listeners enjoy hearing Bailey White's tales on NPR's All Things Considered."

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Ray Olson
Solely for reviving the "voice" of the storyteller, National Public Radio should be funded in perpetuity. The winningest monologuist NPR's given us may be Bailey White. She's the first-grade teacher from south Georgia with the husky voice with the crack in it that makes you want to say, "Dear! put some honey lemonade on that throat and rest it awhile." She lives with her prodigious mama in a house that, listening to her, you'd think must be Fibber McGee's closet blown up to mansion proportions. She drove the same car faithfully for about 20 years, bought another that conked out kinda quick, then a third with the help of none other than Gen. Robert E. Lee. She knows people like the lady who saw the "Titanic" en route to the iceberg, and has relatives like Aunt Belle, who trained an alligator to come bellow for a treat. "And" she's a volunteer fireman ["sic"], the smallest on the force. She tells us all about it on the radio and all over again in this book. She's marvelous on the air, but dang'd if she isn't funnier, livelier, more stylish in the aural theater of the reader's mind. Or read her stuff out loud the way you think it ought to be inflected. Anyway, she's a great humorist.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780201406573
  • Publisher: Addison-Wesley
  • Publication date: 10/28/1993
  • Edition description: BK&CSST

Table of Contents

Rosey's 3
Spyglass 6
Turkeys 12
Midnight Cowboy 17
Porsche 19
Instant Care 22
Bicyclists 25
Birth of the Blues 28
Something Like a Husband 31
Camping 36
Dead on the Road 39
Nonrepresentational Art 41
The Bed 45
Family Ghosts 49
The Monkeys Not Seen 51
The Inn 54
The Devil's Hoofprints 60
Bluebirds 65
Good Housekeeping 68
Summer Afternoon 79
Joe King 83
Sleep and Prayer 89
Alligator 92
Finger 95
Scab Movies 99
Mama's Memoirs 102
Memorizing Trollope 106
Distillates 110
Madness through Mirrors 114
The Lips of a Stranger 118
A Scourge of Swans 127
Rattlesnake Belt 130
Count Fair 133
Flying Saucer 136
Campaign Promises 139
Leave-taking 142
An Interesting Life 145
Semen and Daffodils 148
Teaching Luther to Cook 151
Buzzard 156
Homecoming 158
Gardening 160
Maritime Disasters 169
Grandparents' Day 173
Fireman for Life 177
The Dance of the Chicken Feet 182
Cultural Center 187
Mortality 192
One-Eared Intellectual 197
Christmas Party 200
Maine 204
Used Cars 208
Snake Show 214
Jeanne d'Arc 217
Micanopy 220
Finding Myself 227
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed tremendously

    If you've ever lived in south Georgia or north Florida the writing of Ms. White will bring back wonderful and quirky memories. It's a shame that B&N doesn't carry all of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    fun to read

    I enjoyed the humor she found in simple things and the outlandish stories she tells about incidents and relatives. I gave this book to 12 of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Funny

    Good southern stories. I have read it severl times and still makes me lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I was expecting more.

    This book was recommended by a friend that gave it very high ratings. Maybe because of the recommendations I was expecting more. Having read Florence King's "Confessions of a Failed Southern Lady" many years ago I had high expectations. This was an enjoyable read, just not what I thought it would be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)