A Man Lay Dead (Roderick Alleyn Series)

( 9 )

Overview

It's All Fun and Games Until Someone Gets Murdered.

At Sir Hubert Handesley's country house party, five guests have gathered for the uproarious parlor game of "Murder." Yet no one is laughing when the lights come up on an actual corpse, the good-looking and mysterious Charles Rankin. Scotland Yard's Inspector Roderick Alleyn arrives to find a complete collection of alibis, a missing butler, and an intricate puzzle of betrayal and sedition in ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (26) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $8.95   
  • Used (24) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$8.95
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(393)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
MASS MARKET PAPERBACK New 0312963580 Cover has very little shelf wear. Price clipped. No spine seams. No remainder mark. Pages are clean and have no markings, no creases and no ... dog-ears. Paperback. Read more Show Less

Ships from: Hyannis, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$60.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(163)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
A Man Lay Dead: Inspector Roderick Alleyn #1

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.99
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$9.99 List Price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.
Marketplace
BN.com

All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

It's All Fun and Games Until Someone Gets Murdered.

At Sir Hubert Handesley's country house party, five guests have gathered for the uproarious parlor game of "Murder." Yet no one is laughing when the lights come up on an actual corpse, the good-looking and mysterious Charles Rankin. Scotland Yard's Inspector Roderick Alleyn arrives to find a complete collection of alibis, a missing butler, and an intricate puzzle of betrayal and sedition in the search for the key player in this deadly game.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

New York Magazine
"it's time to start comparing christie to Marsh instead of the other way around."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780312963583
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 10/28/1997
  • Series: Roderick Alleyn Series
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Edition description: Reissue
  • Pages: 192
  • Product dimensions: 4.25 (w) x 6.75 (h) x 0.56 (d)

Meet the Author

From her first book in 1934 to her final volume just before her death in 1982, Ngaio Marsh's work has remained legendary, and is often compared to that of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers. During her celebrated fifty-year career, Marsh was made a Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America, was named Dame Commander, Order of the British Empire, won numerous prestigious awards, and penned 32 mystery novels.

Now St. Martin's Dead Letter Mysteries is thrilled to make all of Marsh's novels available again for old fans to relish and new ones to discover. So sit back, draw the curtains, lock the doors, and put yourself in the hands of the Grand Dame of detective novels...

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A gem of a book!

    For those who don't recognize the name Ngaio ('Ney oh) Marsh is one of the Queen's of Crime. This particular novel is reputed to be the inspiration for Britain's Inspector Alleyn Mysteries. It's a whodunit/murder mystery with top-notch writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Really great!

    I read all of Ngaio Marsh's books years ago and really enjoyed them. It is great to have this audiobook that I can listen to when I am doing other things. The narrator is very good. Like rereading a favorite book all over again. Quilting and reading at the same time. You can't get better than that!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Interesting

    I liked the subtle suspense. I did get somewhat confused with the secondary plot involving the Russian brotherhood and why it was relevant to the overall story line but it worked out to a good finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Lovely to read

    The first story by one of the great golden age writers of british mysteries. Not her best, and unfortunately badly proof-read for this edition, but nonetheless an excellent introduction for those who like to read authors chronologically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Nice set up, little finish. I like this genre; I'm a big fan of

    Nice set up, little finish. I like this genre; I'm a big fan of Arthur Upfield, Dorothy Sayers, Agatha Christie. I had never read any Marsh despite hearing good things about her. I hope this is not her best work, because it is, at best, merely good. The characters, setting, and writing are wonderful, but the plot, which starts out promising, slowly fails to keep up and eventually resolves itself in a pretty pedestrian, and unsatisfying result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Ripping English country house-party murder mystery

    A brilliant introduction to Inspector Alleyn. The story is fast paced, the characters are engaging, and theplot has plentyof twistsand turns. This is my first mystery by Ngaio Marsh and I am definitely looking forward to reading more. Fans of Dorothy Sayers, Margery Allingham, or Michael Innes should enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The First Roderick Alleyn Mystery

    I particularly like Ngaio Marsh's books because you learn a little about all sorts of things - the theater, New Zealand, painting (his sidekick is a painter.) The plots are excellent - I have never guessed who the murderer is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)