A Man Lay Dead: Inspector Roderick Alleyn #1

A Man Lay Dead: Inspector Roderick Alleyn #1

4.4 10
by Ngaio Marsh
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Ngaio Marsh was one of the queens (she has been called the empress) of England’s Golden Age of mystery fiction. And in true Golden Age fashion, her oeuvre opens with, yes, a country-house party between the two world wars – servants bustling, gin flowing, the gentlemen in dinner jackets, the ladies all slink and smolder. Even more delicious: The host,

…  See more details below

Overview

Ngaio Marsh was one of the queens (she has been called the empress) of England’s Golden Age of mystery fiction. And in true Golden Age fashion, her oeuvre opens with, yes, a country-house party between the two world wars – servants bustling, gin flowing, the gentlemen in dinner jackets, the ladies all slink and smolder. Even more delicious: The host, Sir Hubert Handesley, has invented a new and especially exciting version of that beloved parlor entertainment, The Murder Game.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781934609958
Publisher:
Felony & Mayhem Press
Publication date:
11/16/2011
Series:
Inspectr Roderick Alleyn , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
186
Sales rank:
36,912
File size:
397 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

A Man Lay Dead (Roderick Alleyn Series) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
C_S_R More than 1 year ago
For those who don't recognize the name Ngaio ('Ney oh) Marsh is one of the Queen's of Crime. This particular novel is reputed to be the inspiration for Britain's Inspector Alleyn Mysteries. It's a whodunit/murder mystery with top-notch writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read all of Ngaio Marsh's books years ago and really enjoyed them. It is great to have this audiobook that I can listen to when I am doing other things. The narrator is very good. Like rereading a favorite book all over again. Quilting and reading at the same time. You can't get better than that!
Anonymous 8 months ago
and they're all excellent. Relative bargains too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the subtle suspense. I did get somewhat confused with the secondary plot involving the Russian brotherhood and why it was relevant to the overall story line but it worked out to a good finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first story by one of the great golden age writers of british mysteries. Not her best, and unfortunately badly proof-read for this edition, but nonetheless an excellent introduction for those who like to read authors chronologically.
Winfield_Potter More than 1 year ago
Nice set up, little finish. I like this genre; I'm a big fan of Arthur Upfield, Dorothy Sayers, Agatha Christie. I had never read any Marsh despite hearing good things about her. I hope this is not her best work, because it is, at best, merely good. The characters, setting, and writing are wonderful, but the plot, which starts out promising, slowly fails to keep up and eventually resolves itself in a pretty pedestrian, and unsatisfying result.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A brilliant introduction to Inspector Alleyn. The story is fast paced, the characters are engaging, and theplot has plentyof twistsand turns. This is my first mystery by Ngaio Marsh and I am definitely looking forward to reading more. Fans of Dorothy Sayers, Margery Allingham, or Michael Innes should enjoy this.
CCTynan More than 1 year ago
I particularly like Ngaio Marsh's books because you learn a little about all sorts of things - the theater, New Zealand, painting (his sidekick is a painter.) The plots are excellent - I have never guessed who the murderer is!