Man of Wax (Man of Wax Trilogy) [NOOK Book]

Overview

Ben Anderson goes to bed Sunday night, lying next to his wife in the comfort and safety of their Pennsylvania family home, to wake up the next day in a rundown motel in California — alone.

He doesn't know how he got there, he doesn't ...
See more details below
Man of Wax (Man of Wax Trilogy)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

Ben Anderson goes to bed Sunday night, lying next to his wife in the comfort and safety of their Pennsylvania family home, to wake up the next day in a rundown motel in California — alone.

He doesn't know how he got there, he doesn't know where his family is, and written in dried blood on the bathroom door are the words LET THE GAME BEGIN.

Soon Ben is contacted by Simon. Simon knows all there is to know about Ben, more than he cares to remember himself.

If Ben wants to save himself and his family, he will have to do everything Simon says.

As the game begins — with stakes much higher than either man can imagine — no one knows where it will lead or how it will end.

Only one thing is for certain: this time the game will change everything.

MAN OF WAX is 80,000 words long and the first book in a thriller trilogy where every day men and women must fight a power that threatens to destroy the world. Recommended for fans of Harlan Coben, Michael Marshall, and Dean Koontz.

Praise for MAN OF WAX:

"MAN OF WAX grabs you by the throat in the first chapter and never lets go. A suspense-filled thrill ride with plenty of shocks along the way. Read it!"
— F. Paul Wilson, author of the Repairman Jack novels

“One of the best ‘scary’ stories I have read this year … great job, I loved it.”
— The Parents’ Little Black Book of Books

“The action gets pumped up through the roof.”
— Pajiba
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940013292956
  • Publisher: RMS Press
  • Publication date: 10/22/2011
  • Series: Man of Wax Trilogy , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 294
  • Sales rank: 123,301
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author

Robert Swartwood is the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Serial Killer’s Wife, The Calling, Man of Wax, and several other novels. His work has appeared in The Los Angeles Review, The Daily Beast, Chizine, Space and Time, Postscripts, and PANK. He created the term “hint fiction” and is the editor of Hint Fiction: An Anthology of Stories in 25 Words or Fewer. He lives with his wife in Pennsylvania. Visit him online at www.robertswartwood.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Couldn't put it down. Great premise, unexpected turns along the

    Couldn't put it down. Great premise, unexpected turns along the way, and love the way it unfolds. Perfect ending leading to sequel...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Wow, this was really awesome. Pretty violent at times, yeah, but

    Wow, this was really awesome. Pretty violent at times, yeah, but a great thriller. Can't wait for the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Great read!!

    I loved this book! I thought I would try this book because it was a bargain book. I'm so glad I bought it! I truly love the way Swartwood writes. I haven't been excited about an author since I discovered James Patterson! I immediately bought the next novel in this trilogy! Keep writing, Mr. Swartwood! You have a new fan!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Man of Wax

    Man of Wax is a utterly astounding book. If you love wranchy language and sexual situations, you'll love it as much as i did. Great story, great plot, great characters. I will be re-reading this one in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Liked

    Liked

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    ¿=(¿__¿)=>

    :-)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    This was a very interesting story

    I greatly enjoyed this story. The situation was unique, and it kept moving at a nice pace. I was impressed and immediately moved into the next in the series. I will definitely check out the rest of the Swartwood novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    You Want Suspense - Here It Is

    Man of Wax & Inner Circle by Robert Swartwood are going to be 2 of the best books I will have read this year (2013).

    Like a good drug, you want more and I want Book 3 now and I am eagerly awaiting it.

    The concept is staggering in its scope of what is going on and how. The brutality is secondary to the book.

    I lost sleep reading these books in one setting. I won't say more as I don't want to give anything away except read on, drive on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Awful

    Poorly written with even worse editing, slow, completely unbelievable at times, and no real character development. I enjoy reading amateur writers, and i don't expect much believability (my favorite genre is horror fiction) so this was a massive let down.
    I purchased this book because of the blurb from one of my all time favorite authors. I know blurbs are often favors, or even contractual obligations, but i am disappointed that his endorsement was wasted on this rubbish.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Recommended highly.

    This book keeps you guessing what will happen next and how can the main character possibly survive. Can't wait to see what happens in the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2014

    I found the subject matter quite disturbing, although I had to f

    I found the subject matter quite disturbing, although I had to finish the entire book. I will not be reading the others in the trilogy. It was well written and would be good for those liking horror type material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Work in progress - needed an editor

    The chopy prose detracts from the story. Get the free preview and read enough to decide for yourself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)