Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists Than We Do

( 2 )

Overview

The end of the cold war was thought to signal the triumph of Western capitalism over Communism. In Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists than We Do, Napoleoni argues just the opposite: what we are witnessing instead is the beginning of the collapse of capitalism and the victory of "communism with a profit motive." Maonomics charts the prodigious ascent of the Chinese economic miracle and the parallel course of the West’s ongoing insistence on misconstruing China and its economy even as we ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (27) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $8.08   
  • Used (15) from $1.99   
Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists Than We Do

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$14.99
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$26.95 List Price

Overview

The end of the cold war was thought to signal the triumph of Western capitalism over Communism. In Maonomics: Why Chinese Communists Make Better Capitalists than We Do, Napoleoni argues just the opposite: what we are witnessing instead is the beginning of the collapse of capitalism and the victory of "communism with a profit motive." Maonomics charts the prodigious ascent of the Chinese economic miracle and the parallel course of the West’s ongoing insistence on misconstruing China and its economy even as we acknowledge its growing influence and importance. Maonomics is a warning call whereby Western governments can avoid economic collapse by learning how to understand more clearly what the lessons of the Chinese economy really are. Based on first-hand reporting from China during frequent visits in the last several years, Maonomics lends credence to the Chinese view and translates it for Western readers. For example, the Chinese too are attached to their vision of democracy, but it is different from ours. It isn’t focused as much on voting as it is economic opportunity and the fair distribution of wealth and prosperity. Napoleoni also separates failed Leninist political ideology from true Marxist theory, showing that Marx’s writings do not reject profit so long as it is used to benefit the people. Marx’s dictatorship of the proletariat is being realized in China, she argues, where giant steps forward are being made in the name of progress and the wellbeing and prosperity of the Chinese people. Looking at the Chinese economy up close, any economist would be hard pressed to say that they are not on the right track. Here Loretta Napoleoni offers a front row seat on the greatest show on earth: the peaceful economic revolution that is shifting the balance of power in the world from West to East.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
• "Timely and fascinating, Napoleoni’s top-notch reporting, in which her attention turns from Viagra to blood diamonds to the banana price wars in a few pages, works in the vein of Freakonomics and Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation, but much grimmer." —Publishers Weekly on Napoleoni’s Rogue Economics, a PW Book of the Year 2008
• "This thoughtful and incisive inquiry yields much insight into some of the most important issues of today, and tomorrow" —Noam Chomsky on Napoleoni’s Terror Incorporated
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781609803414
  • Publisher: Seven Stories Press
  • Publication date: 10/4/2011
  • Pages: 384
  • Product dimensions: 5.70 (w) x 8.80 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

LORETTA NAPOLEONI is the author of the bestselling book Rogue Economics: Capitalism’s New Reality (a Publishers Weekly Best Book), which has been translated into fifteen languages, and Terror Incorporated: Tracing the Money Behind Global Terrorism, which has been translated into twelve. One of the world’s leading experts on money laundering and terror financing, she has worked as a correspondent and columnist for La Stampa, La Repubblica, El País, and Le Monde.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Preface vii

Introduction 1

Prologue: Depressions in Progress 15

Part 1 Globalization And Communism

1 Exploitation Factories: Charles Dickens in Shenzhen 25

2 The Race to the Bottom 39

3 Chinese Nouvelle Cuisine: Marxism in a Neoliberal Sauce 51

4 Beyond the Great Wall 67

5 The Neoliberal Dream of Modernization 81

Part 2 Globalization and Capitalism

6 The World Is Flat 103

7 Financial Neoliberalism as Predator 119

8 In Union There Is Strength 133

9 From Muhammad to Confucius 145

10 The Great Wall of Renewable Energy 159

Part 3 Globalization And Democracy: A Shotgun Wedding

11 Looking at Washington and Beijing through Chinese Eyes 179

12 Late Imperial Spin: Osama bin Laden as the Modern Attila 193

13 Saboteurs of the Nation-State 203

14 Supply-Side Economics 215

15 The Full Monty 225

16 Mediacracy 235

17 The Thousand Evitas of Berlusconi 247

Part 4 Images of the Future

18 Scenes from a Marriage 265

19 The Last Frontier 279

20 Globalization and Crime 293

21 Rousseau in Chinese Characters 307

Epilogue: China Hands 323

Acknowledgments 331

Notes 335

Glossary 351

Further Reading 357

Index 363

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    To swifrstar

    Can l join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Swiftstar

    To the fresh kill pile!" She said, smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)