Margaret Price sings Schubert, Mahler & Strauss

This CD is Not Available through

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 4/18/2006
  • Label: Wigmore Hall Live
  • EAN: 5065000924072
  • Catalog Number: 8


Disc 1
  1. 1 Du bist die Ruh, song for voice & piano, D. 776 (Op. 59/3) - Franz Schubert & Geoffrey Parsons (5:12)
  2. 2 Die Forelle ("In einem Bächlein helle"), song for voice & piano, D. 550 (Op. 32) - Franz Schubert & Christian Friedrich Daniel Schubart (2:03)
  3. 3 Der blinde Knabe ("O sagt, ihr Lieben"), song for voice & piano, D. 833 (Op. posth. 101/2) - Franz Schubert & Jakob Nikolaus Craigher de Jachelutta (4:01)
  4. 4 Liebhaber in allen Gestalten ("Ich wollt', ich wär' ein Fisch"), song for voice & piano, D. 558 - Franz Schubert & Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1:17)
  5. 5 Der König in Thule ("Es war ein König in Thule"), song for voice & piano, D. 367 (Op. 5/5) - Franz Schubert & Geoffrey Parsons (4:59)
  6. 6 Gretchen am Spinnrade ("Meine Ruh'..."), song for voice & piano, D. 118 (Op. 2) - Franz Schubert & Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (3:57)
  7. 7 Rheinlegendchen, song for voice & piano (or orchestra) in A major (Des Knaben Wunderhorn No. 7) - Gustav Mahler & Geoffrey Parsons (3:05)
  8. 8 Wer hat dies Liedlein erdacht?, song for voice & piano (or orchestra) in F major (Des Knaben Wunderhorn No. 4) - Gustav Mahler & Geoffrey Parsons (2:04)
  9. 9 Wo die schönen Trompeten blasen, song for voice & piano (or orchestra) in D minor (Des Knaben Wunderhorn No. 9) - Gustav Mahler & Geoffrey Parsons (7:38)
  10. 10 Das irdische Leben, song for voice & piano (or orchestra) in B flat minor (Des Knaben Wunderhorn No. 5) - Gustav Mahler & Geoffrey Parsons (3:15)
  11. 11 Heimliche Aufforderung ("Auf, hebe die funkelnde Schale empor zum Mund"), song for voice & piano, Op. 27/3 (TrV 170/3) - Richard Strauss & John Henry Mackay (3:10)
  12. 12 Freundliche Vision ("Nicht im Schlafe hab' ich das geträumt"), song for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 48/1 (TrV 202/1) - Richard Strauss & Otto Julius Bierbaum (3:09)
  13. 13 Ruhe, meine Seele ("Nicht ein Lüftchen regt sich leise"), song for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 27/1 (TrV 170/1) - Richard Strauss & Karl Friedrich Henckell (3:52)
  14. 14 Du meines Herzens Krönelein, song for voice & piano, Op. 21/2 (TrV 160/2) - Richard Strauss & Felix Dahn (2:20)
  15. 15 Seitdem dein Aug' in meines schaute, song for voice & piano, Op. 17/1 (TrV 149/1) - Richard Strauss & Geoffrey Parsons (1:53)
  16. 16 Cäcilie ("Wenn du es wüsstest"), song for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 27/2 (TrV 170/2) - Richard Strauss & Heinrich Hart (2:32)
  17. 17 Morgen ("Und morgen wird die Sonne wieder scheinen"), song for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 27/4 (TrV 170/4) - Richard Strauss & John Henry Mackay (4:05)
  18. 18 Zueignung ("Ja, du weisst es, teur Seele"), song for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 10/1 (TrV 141/1) - Richard Strauss & Hermann von Gilm (2:05)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Margaret Price Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously