Marie's Home Improvement Guide

Overview


Tired of paying the painter to create a mess on your floors? Can’t be held up another day waiting for a plumber between 9 and 5? Feeling threatened by the growing pile of fix-it projects in your basement? Marie’s Home Improvement Guide offers all the tips you need to tackle these projects … yourself! Marie L. Leonard, owner of her own home improvement business, has been teaching home repair to women for years. With the belief that women shouldn’t have to depend on others for home repair, Leonard is helping ...
See more details below
Paperback
$16.23
BN.com price
(Save 9%)$18.00 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (31) from $1.99   
  • New (13) from $3.29   
  • Used (18) from $1.99   
Marie's Home Improvement Guide

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$18.00 List Price

Overview


Tired of paying the painter to create a mess on your floors? Can’t be held up another day waiting for a plumber between 9 and 5? Feeling threatened by the growing pile of fix-it projects in your basement? Marie’s Home Improvement Guide offers all the tips you need to tackle these projects … yourself! Marie L. Leonard, owner of her own home improvement business, has been teaching home repair to women for years. With the belief that women shouldn’t have to depend on others for home repair, Leonard is helping thousands of women save money and time, conquering the fear of do-it-yourself work. Marie’s Home Improvement Guide provides readers with the know-how to tackle projects around the house. Leonard covers the basics: introduction to tools, safety precautions, necessary prep-work, and shopping for the right materials. Leonard’s tips are written in an informative and accessible manner, paired with detailed illustrations. A reassuring source of encouragement, Marie’s Home Improvement Guide is a must-have book for all first-time do-it-yourselfers.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
For the absolute beginner, this is a baseline, complete with the fundamentals of tools, materials, and techniques. Projects are all about basic home care, with minimal illustrations. The standout feature is the superb almost nurturing writing. In the vein of Julie Sussman and Stephanie Glakas-Tenet's "Dare To Repair" series, this book is recommended for new tinkerers.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781580052924
  • Publisher: Avalon Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 11/10/2009
  • Pages: 320
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Table of Contents

Introduction vii

1 Getting Started 1

The Toolbox 2

Hand Tools 3

Power Tools 13

Now That I Have Them, How Do I Use Them? 15

Caring for Your Tools 18

Safety First (and Always) 19

Picking Your Battles 21

Asking for Help 22

2 Shopping for Materials and Supplies 25

Wall Anchors 26

Caulk and Grout 28

Filling Holes and Cracks 31

Nails and Screws 32

Sandpaper 34

Adhesives and Glues 36

Wood 37

Wallboard 39

3 Getting the Hang of Things 41

Hanging a Small- or Medium-Size Picture 42

Hanging a Very Large Picture or Heavy Mirror 46

Hanging Shelves 51

Hanging Curtain or Drapery Rods 68

Installing Blinds 74

4 What about Walls? 83

Size is Relative 83

Patching Small Holes 84

Patching Medium-Size Holes 86

Repairing Cracks and Gouges 90

Fixing Large Holes 92

5 All about Doors 101

Diagnosing the Problem 102

Solution #1 Replacing the Screws 103

Solution #2 Sand It Away 104

Solution #3 Adjusting the Strike Plate 109

Solution #4 Replacing a Broken or Ugly Lockset 114

Solution #5 Fixing Bi-Fold Doors 121

Solution #6 Drafty Doors 125

6 Painting: It's All about the Prep 128

Tools of the Trade 129

Buying the Paint 134

Doing the Prep Work 137

Painting the Ceiling and Walls 143

Removing the Painter's Tape 152

Painting the Woodwork 152

Painting the Doors 156

Touching Up and Cleaning Up 157

7 It's Not All Bubble Baths 162

Where Water Comes from and Why That's Important to Know 164

Can I Fix a Leaky Faucet Myself? 166

Getting to Know (and Fix) Your Toilet 177

The Sink Pop-Up Thingy (Drain Stopper) 185

Showerheads 190

Cleaning and Replacing Sink Faucet Aerators 193

Removing and Laying Caulk 195

Grout 200

8But Wait, There's More: Non-Water-Related Bathroom Projects 204

Towel Bars and Toilet Paper Holders 205

Medicine Cabinets 213

Safety Grab Bars 214

Bathroom Vanities 220

9 Minor Carpentry Jobs 224

Getting Empowered with Power Tools 225

Circular Saws 226

Jigsaws 230

Compound Miter Saws 232

General Rules of Saw Use 234

Project Management 236

Building a Simple Shelf 238

Installing a New Handrail 245

Replacing Existing Trim 253

Replacing a Stair Tread 262

Installing a Pet Door 265

10 But Electricity Scares Me 269

The Circuit Breaker Box: Where It All Begins 270

Doing Your Own Electrical Work 273

Wall Outlets 274

Replacing a Dimmer Switch 280

Replacing an Interior Light Fixture 284

Resources 290

Acknowledgments 292

Index 294

About the Author 300

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)