×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Marie's Home Improvement Guide
     

Marie's Home Improvement Guide

by Marie L. Leonard
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tired of paying the painter to create a mess on your floors? Can’t be held up another day waiting for a plumber between 9 and 5? Feeling threatened by the growing pile of fix-it projects in your basement? Marie’s Home Improvement Guide offers all the tips you need to tackle these projects … yourself! Marie L. Leonard, owner of her own home

Overview

Tired of paying the painter to create a mess on your floors? Can’t be held up another day waiting for a plumber between 9 and 5? Feeling threatened by the growing pile of fix-it projects in your basement? Marie’s Home Improvement Guide offers all the tips you need to tackle these projects … yourself! Marie L. Leonard, owner of her own home improvement business, has been teaching home repair to women for years. With the belief that women shouldn’t have to depend on others for home repair, Leonard is helping thousands of women save money and time, conquering the fear of do-it-yourself work. Marie’s Home Improvement Guide provides readers with the know-how to tackle projects around the house. Leonard covers the basics: introduction to tools, safety precautions, necessary prep-work, and shopping for the right materials. Leonard’s tips are written in an informative and accessible manner, paired with detailed illustrations. A reassuring source of encouragement, Marie’s Home Improvement Guide is a must-have book for all first-time do-it-yourselfers.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
For the absolute beginner, this is a baseline, complete with the fundamentals of tools, materials, and techniques. Projects are all about basic home care, with minimal illustrations. The standout feature is the superb almost nurturing writing. In the vein of Julie Sussman and Stephanie Glakas-Tenet's "Dare To Repair" series, this book is recommended for new tinkerers.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781580053273
Publisher:
Da Capo Books
Publication date:
11/10/2009
Sold by:
Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
File size:
5 MB

Meet the Author

Marie L. Leonard runs her own home improvement business, Marie's Home Improvement, in Westford, MA. Marie teaches home improvement classes to women, with the hopes of empowering women to do their own home repair. She has been featured in the Boston Globe, has appeared on TV, and operates her own website (marieshomeimprovement.com).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews