Marty McGuire [NOOK Book]

Overview

A fun, accessible chapter-book debut from an exciting new talent--simultaneous hardcover-paperback launch!

Marty McGuire would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty's absolutely, positively sure that there's been a huge mistake. But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with ...
See more details below
Marty McGuire

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.49
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$5.99 List Price

Overview

A fun, accessible chapter-book debut from an exciting new talent--simultaneous hardcover-paperback launch!

Marty McGuire would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty's absolutely, positively sure that there's been a huge mistake. But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with her OWN plan to IMPROVE the play: Why use stuffed-animal frog onstage when a live one would be so much better? In the end, Marty's one-of-a-kind performance makes for an unforgettable show. Maybe Marty CAN live happily ever after, after all!
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Peg Glisson
Marty was really looking forward to third grade; after all, her second grade teacher had promised it would be even better than second had been. Unfortunately, reality was not matching up with that billing. Veronica Grace has "stolen" Marty's best friend Annie. Annie no longer wants to catch frogs and crayfish, climb trees or play in the woods pretending to be Jane Goodall. Now she has joined the Veronica Grace fan club, and Marty is hurting. When their teacher announces they will be spending the next few weeks preparing a class play based on The Frog Prince and that Marty will play the princess, Marty is mortified. She is so not a princess! Her mother and teacher join forces and there is no way out for Marty. Even she has to admit rehearsals are fun, especially when their drama coach teaches them about improvisation. With the help of a boy in the class, Marty hatches up some improv of her own for the night of the performance. Annie joins forces with them and their efforts bring down the house. The girls patch up their friendship and help Veronica Grace widen her world. Messner is right on target with Marty, who will appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and Junie B. She is a typical eight-year-old, who has to deal with friendships changing, school, and rash ideas. Floca's plentiful pen-and-ink sketches (not final in the Advanced Copy) are full of humor and help move the reader through the story. The book has an open design, with a fair amount of white space, making it very accessible for readers just venturing into chapter books. I predict this will become a read-aloud in the primary grades and certainly hope this is the first of several books about Marty. Reviewer: Peg Glisson
Children's Literature - Karen McCoy
Marty McGuire is perfectly content chasing frogs in her muddy tennis shoes. So it is completely unfair that she has to portray a princess in the school play. To her dismay, her objections fall on deaf ears—including those of her teacher Mrs. Aloi, who convinces Marty's mom that she is perfect for the part—and now her mom thinks the play is a great idea too. But Marty thinks snooty Veronica Grace would be much better, or even her ex-friend Annie, who has suddenly decided that playing dress-up is cooler than running in the woods and pretending to be Jane Goodall. As opening night draws closer, Marty hatches an idea that will be sure to make the play a thing to remember—all while learning that being a pretend princess might not be so bad after all. Messner creates an engaging, educational narrative enhanced by charming sound effects, including Mrs. Aloi's maracas, while author Morris (Clique and the "Ivy & Bean" series) captures Marty's voice perfectly, with her narration seamlessly woven into the story. Young readers will enjoy this sassy and endearing protagonist, especially those who already enjoy the "Junie B. Jones" and "Ramona" series. Appropriate for all emerging readers, and a great story to read aloud. Reviewer: Karen McCoy
Kirkus Reviews

When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role.

Mrs. Aloi, her maracas-shaking teacher, is putting together the parts for the class play of The Frog Prince, and she decides that Marty is perfect for the part of the princess. Marty, who prefers learning about frog anatomy to kissing or, worse, throwing a frog, is horrified. She gets little support from her scientist mother or her teacher father—a princess she shall be! On top of this bad news, Marty's best friend has joined the girly-girl group and does not seem interested in playing outside and pretending to be Jane Goodall anymore. Messner gets all the details of third grade right: the social chasm between the girls who want to be like the older kids and the ones who are still little girls, the Mad Minutes for memorizing arithmetic facts, the silly classroom-control devices teachers use and the energy students of this age put into projects like class plays. Floca's black-and-white sketches are filled with movement and emotion and are frequent enough to help new chapter-book readers keep up with this longer text.

Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780545388634
  • Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
  • Publication date: 5/1/2011
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 144
  • Sales rank: 334,195
  • Age range: 7 - 9 Years
  • File size: 13 MB
  • Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Meet the Author

Kate Messner

Kate Messner is the author of THE BRILLIANT FALL OF GIANNA Z., winner of the E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Older Readers; SUGAR AND ICE; EYE OF THE STORM; CAPTURE THE FLAG; SEA MONSTER'S FIRST DAY; OVER AND UNDER THE SNOW; and the Marty McGuire chapter book series. A former middle-school English teacher, Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family and loves reading, walking in the woods, and traveling. Visit her online at www.katemessner.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    H

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    highly recommended

    My 8 yr old granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed reading this and has re-read it more than more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Good

    A DECENT BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)