Maybe, My Baby

Overview

Marilyn Janovitz's soothing text and endearing pictures of animal parents and their little ones combine in a loving lullaby of a book that will send children peacefully off to sleep.
In the tradition of "Goodnight Moon" and "Guess How Much I Love You," this warm and fuzzy bedtime book is perfect for family snuggling.

Different animal parents try various methods to put their babies to sleep.

...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (10) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $22.94   
  • Used (9) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$22.94
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(394)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
New New.

Ships from: Ann Arbor, MI

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Marilyn Janovitz's soothing text and endearing pictures of animal parents and their little ones combine in a loving lullaby of a book that will send children peacefully off to sleep.
In the tradition of "Goodnight Moon" and "Guess How Much I Love You," this warm and fuzzy bedtime book is perfect for family snuggling.

Different animal parents try various methods to put their babies to sleep.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
This beautifully written and illustrated picture book is a joy, especially when one has the opportunity to watch a young reader explore it for the first or the fifth time. This picture book can be read to younger children at nap or night time and gives reader and child a warm feeling together as they look at parent and child animal pairings; the simple repetition of verse—"Maybe, my baby, if I hold your hand," "warm your toes," "nuzzle your chin"—pairs well with Janovitz's beautiful watercolors. This is also a great "beginner" book, as I found out with my five-year-old, who enjoyed practicing her growing prowess as a reader by sharing the book with me. The language throughout is accessible and the pictures, for those children schooled in a literature-based program, provide subtle reminders of the story line and characters. This charming picture book should find its way into both school and personal libraries. 2003, North-South Books,
— Jean Boreen <%ISBN%>0735817626
School Library Journal
PreS-This attractive picture book calls to mind Mem Fox's Time for Bed (Harcourt, 1993). From the title page, with a lion and her cub, through penguins, otters, and raccoons, among others, each large illustration features a different kind of creature. The title phrase begins each brief couplet and catalogs the ways in which a parent soothes its youngster to sleep. Beginning with "Maybe, my baby, if I hold your hand-" the animals are shown rubbing, nuzzling, whispering, cuddling, kissing, etc. The final two spreads show first a human mother and child and then the little one, fast asleep. The singsong rhythm seems appropriate to its purpose, though the unvarying repetition of the title phrase may wear on some listeners. The illustrations vary somewhat in their effectiveness. The lion and her cub, for example, seem both accurate and appealing, as do the penguins and the whales. Other illustrations are less successful, particularly in their proportions. The baby rabbit's head seems too large for its body, and the human mother and child are also somewhat awkwardly drawn. Janovitz's use of swirly, multicolored backgrounds does add to the illustrations' appeal both by focusing attention on the animals and creating a soothing, impressionistic sense of setting. If there is a strong demand for bedtime stories, this one is a suitable addition.-Lisa Dennis, The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, PA Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Janovitz (Three Little Kittens, not reviewed, etc.) adds a wishful, animal bedtime lullaby to the already overstuffed shelf. Here, babies are nuzzled, stroked, cuddled, and kissed as they drift off to sleep in the warm safety of their parents’ embrace. A baby penguin perches on his father’s feet; a baby otter snuggles on her mother’s belly; a mother nuzzles her baby lion cub; and a baby whale floats slowly against her mother’s side. "Maybe, my baby, / you’ll close your eyes, / And maybe, my baby, / you’ll fall fast asleep. / Good night, my baby, good night." The poem ends as the last baby, this time human, drifts off to sleep. Softly rendered watercolor washes with pen details fill each page, accompanying the rhythmic and repetitive verses. Soft and snuggly, but unfortunately, not unique. (Picture book. 2-4)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780735817623
  • Publisher: North-South Books, Inc.
  • Publication date: 1/2/2003
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 3 - 4 Years
  • Product dimensions: 8.58 (w) x 11.56 (h) x 0.33 (d)

Meet the Author

Marilyn Janovitz attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and the Philadelphia College of Art. She has worked as a textile designer, created artwork for advertising and magazines, and illustrated numerous books for children.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)