The Mephisto Covenant: The Redemption of Ajax

The Mephisto Covenant: The Redemption of Ajax

4.3 65
by Trinity Faegen
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"A timeless love story with unique mythology that captivates the imagination. I loved it."—P.C. Cast, #1 New York Times best-selling author of the House of Night series

"Trinity Faegen bursts onto the young adult scene with an exciting debut novel told in a fresh voice, and with a unique spin on a timeless tale."—#1 New York Times

See more details below

Overview

"A timeless love story with unique mythology that captivates the imagination. I loved it."—P.C. Cast, #1 New York Times best-selling author of the House of Night series

"Trinity Faegen bursts onto the young adult scene with an exciting debut novel told in a fresh voice, and with a unique spin on a timeless tale."—#1 New York Times best-selling author Sherrilyn Kenyon

"This is a fantastic book with everything a paranormal fan craves, from action to suspense to an absolutely sizzling romance. Fans of P.C. Cast and Lauren Kate will not regret buying this book. Faegen is an author to look out for!"—Romantic Times

Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that puts her in grave danger—she is an Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and Eryx’s biggest threat.

A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.

With the threat of Eryx always looming, Jax knows he has to keep Sasha safe and win her over.  But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal life?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
First-time author Faegen spins a familiar story of good versus evil and the mortal girl caught in the middle in this mishmash of mythologies and paranormal romance tropes. When Sasha Annenkova’s mother is deported to Russia, Sasha is sent to Colorado to live with her uncle Tim and his abusive family. There, she runs into the Ravens, a cult dedicated to destroying her, and Ajax, an immortal demon-spawn working to thwart their plans. As an Anabo, a pure soul who can redeem Ajax with the power of her love, Sasha can tip the balance between the factions. While Eryx, the Ravens’ master, works to overthrow Heaven and Hell, only Ajax and his brothers can keep Sasha alive while she masters new powers and chooses her role in the fight. Pacing problems derail this effort from the start, resulting in awkward infodumps that aren’t aided by stilted dialogue. Sasha’s instant, doe-eyed acceptance of major supernatural revelations is only slightly less ridiculous than the speed with which Ajax (immortal, gorgeous, yet weirdly insecure) falls for her. Ages 14–up. (Sept.)¦
VOYA - Florence Munat
The stakes are high in this classic good-versus-evil page-turner featuring the seven sons of Mephistopheles and Elektra in the contemporary world. High school senior Sasha Annenkov's CIA-operative father was murdered in Moscow. To learn how he died, Sasha attends a mysterious club meeting. Too late she learns that the members are dead souls who have pledged everything to Eryx, the oldest Mephisto brother who wants to control the world and stamp out free will. About to be stoned for not joining, Sasha is saved by the younger Mephistos, Jax and his brothers, who have been at war with Eryx for hundreds of years. When her mother is mysteriously deported to Russia, Sasha must move in with her uncle and his hellish family in Telluride. She discovers that her cousin Brett and his mother are dead souls, bent on her destruction. Jax reveals that Sasha is Anabo, a good and rare human descended from Eve before the fall. She has the free will to reject this designation, or she can join forces with Jax and help bring about peace and love. She and Jax fall in love (consummated late in the novel), but accepting herself as Anabo means sacrificing everything from her previous life. The dialogue flows smoothly and includes many contemporary idioms. The plot is adventurous, fast paced, and gripping. Descriptions of bullying, peer pressure, and loneliness are brutal but accurate. Mephisto Mountain, where Jax and his brothers live in luxurious splendor, would tempt anyone to move in, and Sasha eventually does. Faegan has created a dangerous universe fraught with evil, but free will wins out. A surprise ending caps the story. Reviewer: Florence Munat
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—When 17-year-old Sasha Annenkova tries to find answers to questions about her father's murder by cult worshippers, she doesn't realize that her investigation will almost get her killed. Rescued by über-handsome Jax, a son of Hell, she learns that she is Anabo, a pure soul with a free pass to Heaven. Not only is she destined to be with Jax, but she's also on the hit list of Eryx, Lucifer's nemesis, and his soulless minions. When Sasha's mother is deported back to Russia, the teen moves in with vengeful relatives. Events at her new school turn sinister when a history teacher and Sasha's brutal cousin try to recruit souls for Eryx. If he finds out that Sasha is Anabo, he will kill her. Meanwhile, Jax needs Sasha to love him if he has a chance at Heaven, but she would have to become immortal to be with him. Unfortunately, an intriguing and romantic premise does not save this novel from its lackluster and contrived plot. The instant, unbelievable connection between Jax and Sasha; the bogus reason for the mother's deportation; and the inevitable discovery of Sasha's father's murderer are all too convenient. The characters also spend so much time describing the mythology that there isn't much self-discovery or buildup. A few steamy scenes (including one overt sex scene) and the damsel-in-distress romance will engage some readers, but this won't be the series that everyone talks about.—Kimberly Garnick Giarratano, Northampton Community College, Hawley, PA
Kirkus Reviews

Debut author Faegen's paranormal romance impels a celestial girl toward a dark paramour who embodies a purpose and a partner for all eternity.

Seeking her father's killer, Sasha entertains the notion of joining a cultish secret society that mysteriously grants the wishes of initiates. It turns out renouncing God and pledging fealty to Eryx, a relation of the devil, is not in store for Sasha. In some inventive takes on the eternal good-versus-evil dichotomy, Sasha is part-angel, and Eryx has a troupe of brothers who nobly seek to thwart him, though they are also sons of Hell. Big, strong, long-haired and immortal, Jax is the brother who is fated to shack up with Sasha, should she forsake her mortality and enlist with the brothers in their mission. Much of what drives the story comes across as just plain arbitrary. Early on, Sasha's mother is deported to Russia, and Sasha has to move to Colorado, where Jax lives, to reside with evil relations. It turns out Sasha is an adopted child with no clue who her real parents are, and by the time she agrees to sacrifice normalcy to join Jax forever, she has nothing to lose and no one to fall back on anyway. The dialogue partakes of an aggressively teen vernacular—"... major bummer that her aunt isn't just a lost soul, but a crazy-bitch lost soul"—but the narration seems to have a hard time finding its rhythm.

The back story may not sink in but the romantic tension captivates. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781606843888
Publisher:
EgmontUSA
Publication date:
08/28/2012
Pages:
464
Sales rank:
1,097,935
Product dimensions:
5.36(w) x 7.84(h) x 1.00(d)
Lexile:
HL790L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 Years

Meet the Author

Trinity Faegen’s fascination with the afterlife began with Paradise Lost. She found an outlet for her curiosity about Hell by researching what other people imagined, then creating her own mythology in her debut young adult novel, The Mephisto Covenant. Trinity lives in the outback of West Texas with her husband and a mean cat. Visit her online at www.trinityfaegen.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >