Meridian

( 1 )

Overview

The electrifying sequel to Arclight, which Pittacus
Lore called “powerful and gripping.”

Those within the Arc thought they were the last humans left after the world was destroyed—but they were wrong. There are more survivors.
But there is also more to be afraid of. This suspenseful sci-fi thriller is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth, ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Audiobook)
  • All (3) from $25.95   
  • New (2) from $25.95   
  • Used (1) from $28.78   
Meridian

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

The electrifying sequel to Arclight, which Pittacus
Lore called “powerful and gripping.”

Those within the Arc thought they were the last humans left after the world was destroyed—but they were wrong. There are more survivors.
But there is also more to be afraid of. This suspenseful sci-fi thriller is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King’s Under the Dome, and
Justin Cronin’s The Passage.

Marina thought she had solved all of the Arclight’s mysteries. But there is so much more that she is only discovering now. There are more people out there; those in the Arclight compound aren’t the only humans who survived the Fade, the monsters that destroyed civilization. Only
Marina—and her friends, all of whom have connections to the Fade they never knew about—can lead everyone to the other survivors. But there are also darker dangers that even the Fade fear.

The sequel to Arclight, Meridian is an intense, action-packed page-turner about the lines we draw between right and wrong, light and dark … and how nothing is ever that black and white.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Pittacus Lore
Praise for Arclight:“Powerful and gripping straight out the door—Arclight will keep you up at night, if you dare stay awake.”
Booklist
“Marina has a strong but inexplicable connection to the Fade, [and] she and Tobin enter dangerous dark territory to discover the truth.”
Kirkus Reviews
2014-03-03
This sequel to Arclight (2013) continues the apocalyptic story of a colony that has survived an invasion of nanites that absorbed most of the human race. Marina keeps a great secret: Her alter ego, Cherish, a Fade, survives inside her. As explained in the previous book, the Fade are threatening creatures who absorb humans with only a touch, streaming their nanites into human bodies and joining them to the hive, a collective mind in which every Fade can hear all others and operate as one. The Fade cannot stand light, so to protect themselves, the humans live on a former military base surrounded by strong lights. In this sequel, the real threat comes from a wild colony of nanite creatures that's trying to overwhelm the civilized Fade along with the rest of the world. When a group that includes Marina and her friend Tobin makes an excursion outside the compound, they find more human survivors—and the wild creatures of the Dark. McQuein embraces the vision of her apocalyptic world, communicating it to readers by simply plunging them into it as she unfolds the story. Though the lack of exposition may trip them up at first, readers will begin piecing the puzzle together, a process aided by nicely rounded characterizations. By the time of the highly suspenseful climax, all will become clear. Worldbuilding and characterization are the highlights of this inventive post-apocalyptic adventure. (Science fiction. 12-18)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781483003528
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
  • Publication date: 4/22/2014
  • Series: The Arclight Series , #2
  • Format: CD
  • Edition description: Unabridged
  • Age range: 12 - 17 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.20 (w) x 5.80 (h) x 1.20 (d)

Meet the Author

Josin L. McQuein is the author of Arclight. Born and raised in Texas, she and her dogs now live in a town so small the buffalo outnumber the people, and things like subways or consistent Internet access are fictional creations of a faraway fantasyland known as civilization.

Tara Sands is an American voice actress, television host, and actress. She is well known as the voice of Anna Kyoyama in Shaman King,
Mokuba Kaiba in the English adaptation of the second series Yu-Gi-Oh! anime, as well as Chase on Fighting Foodons. Born in Hartford,
Connecticut, and raised in New Jersey, Sands studied theater at Hofstra
University, and has had a steady stream of voice acting work since high school.
Much of her work is in anime dubbing, with multiple roles in such franchises as
Slayers and Pokémon. Sands has also narrated numerous audio books, including
Wendelin Van Draanen’s Sammy Keyes series and Ellen Potter’s Olivia Kidney series. In addition to providing voiceovers, Sands has appeared on-camera in commercials, including as the ‘Office Cheerleader’ in a series for Lipton’s
Cup-a-Soup and television series, including, Everybody Hates Chris. Tara is also a successful television host whose credits include: Cartoon Network’s weekly block, Fridays and major red carpet premieres.

Tristan
Morris
hails from Seattle, Washington, and currently lives in Denver, Colorado.
He received his MFA in acting from the New School for Drama in New York City after studying theater and philosophy at Pacific Lutheran University. His work as a voice actor began in 2011 after training with master teachers Scott Brick, Pat Fraley, and Nancy Wolfson.
Tristan works in New York City and Denver creating new theatrical works.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Awesome Book!!!!!!!!!!!

    Read this book, right after you read the first 1, Arclight, they r both AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)