Michael Murray Performs Franck, Widor, Dupré, Bach and Others

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$18.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $6.83   
  • New (4) from $6.83   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 10/25/1990
  • Label: Telarc
  • UPC: 089408016929
  • Catalog Number: 80169
  • Sales rank: 80,880


Disc 1
  1. 1 Agincourt Carol - Anonymous & Ray Kirschensteiner (1:54)
  2. 2 Emperor's Fanfare for keyboard in D - Antonio Soler & Ray Kirschensteiner (3:29)
  3. 3 Quando, o Re, cinto sarai dagl'affanni, psalm setting for 4 voices & continuo (Estro poetico-armonico, IV), SF. 619 - Benedetto Marcello & Ray Kirschensteiner (2:50)
  4. 4 Trumpet Tune ("Cibell") for harpsichord in C major, ZT678 - Henry Purcell & Ray Kirschensteiner (3:34)
  5. 5 Symphony No. 6 in G minor for organ, Op. 42/2: Finale - Charles-Marie Widor & Ray Kirschensteiner (8:44)
  6. 6 Prelude and Fugue for organ in E minor ("Cathedral"), BWV 533 - Johann Sebastian Bach & Ray Kirschensteiner (6:31)
  7. 7 Pièces (24) en style libre, for organ, Op 31: Meditation - Louis Vierne & Ray Kirschensteiner (3:58)
  8. 8 Pièces (24) en style libre, for organ, Op 31: Prelude - Louis Vierne & Ray Kirschensteiner (3:10)
  9. 9 Chorals (3), for organ, M. 38-40: Chorale No. 2 in B minor - César Franck & Ray Kirschensteiner (13:41)
  10. 10 Cortège et litanie for organ & orchestra (or organ solo), Op. 19/2 - Marcel Dupré & Ray Kirschensteiner (6:50)
  11. 11 Pieces (7) for organ, Op. 27: Final - Marcel Dupré & Ray Kirschensteiner (5:09)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Michael Murray Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Here, to the organ, vocal breath is given

    This CD presents the finest sounds of the modern organ available. What E. Power Biggs did for the preservation of Baroque organ music with the Harvard organ, the Aeolian Skinner Company did for the organ of St. John's. Unfortunately damaged by fire beyond use just three years after this recording was made, the rich sounds of the greatest cathedral organ in America nevertheless live on through fantastic selections which employ all of its sounds. Reeds open the album, as listeners walk as victors upon the solemn battlefield, made wonderous beyond belief by the staggering defeat of the French, depicted in Dunstable's 'Agincourt Hymn'. Next is Brother Antonio Soler's 'Emporer's Fanfare', arranged by Biggs, and a genuine showpiece. With celebratory grandeur, the majesty of Enlightenment Europe comes alive. Then comes a piece by a lawyer, not F.S. Key, but Benedetto Marcelo -- the 19th Psalm is gloriously set to triumphant music, in praise of the source of strength. Plenty more follows: a selection by Bach, of course, Franck, two of Louis Vierne's more reserved compositions and Purcell's 'Trumpet Tune' slowed a bit more than usual, but an essential tool for acquainting audiences with the capacity of the organ. Newcomers to organ music will delight in this CD, as will long-time followers of the king of instruments. Orchestral music enthusiasts, too, will enjoy this combination of works. Truly a recording to lift spirits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews