×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Midnight Reign (Vampire Babylon Series #2)
     

Midnight Reign (Vampire Babylon Series #2)

4.0 31
by Chris Marie Green
 

See All Formats & Editions

Night Rising was only the beginning...

Dawn Madison reluctantly came to Los Angeles in search of her missing father and found instead a world of murder and the living dead she never imagined existed. When a new vampire slaying lures Dawn deeper into the underground, her alliances in the sunlit world shift. Now she has only herself to trust and her new found

Overview

Night Rising was only the beginning...

Dawn Madison reluctantly came to Los Angeles in search of her missing father and found instead a world of murder and the living dead she never imagined existed. When a new vampire slaying lures Dawn deeper into the underground, her alliances in the sunlit world shift. Now she has only herself to trust and her new found skills as "a spunky vampire slayer" (Publishers Weekly).

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Stuntwoman Dawn Madison continues her search for her father and her battle against the vampires infesting Hollywood in this uninspired sequel to 2007's Night Rising. Dawn is still dealing with the painful legacy of her beautiful movie star mother, Eva Claremont, and her fear that both her parents have lost their lives to L.A.'s undead underground. Now, hoping that the mysterious Jonah will lead her to the underground and her father, Dawn has to track down a killer who, like everyone else in L.A., wants to be famous. Along the way she'll have to decide whether she can trust her monster-hunting comrades, pill-popping psychic Kiko Daniels and chemistry wizard Breisi Montoya, or her friend Jacqueline, who bears an eerie resemblance to Eva. A preponderance of dangling plot points and red herrings may leave readers, like the heroine, on uncertain footing with no clear way to turn. (Feb.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
School Library Journal

Hollywood stuntwoman Dawn Madison continues the search for her father, Frank, who went missing in Night Rising. With her team members, the psychic Kiko and the tech-savvy Breisi, she discovers an underground society for vampires, which could point to Frank's whereabouts and solve the vicious, vampirelike murders of two young women. Working with them in this quest is the mysterious Jonah Limpet, a man Dawn has yet to meet, who feeds them information and guides them toward their mutual goal. With a dark, dramatic, and erotic tone, Green writes a complex story featuring well-defined characters and more than enough noir mystery to keep readers enthralled. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Jim Butcher may enjoy. Recommended for fantasy collections.


—Patricia Altner

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780441017331
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA)
Publication date:
06/30/2009
Series:
Vampire Babylon Series , #2
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
336
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Chris Marie Green, former school teacher turned full-time writer, gets out of the office by taking long trips to places such as Japan, Italy, and New Orleans. When she’s not causing international incidents, she enjoys practicing yoga, taking part in fangirl movie and TV program analysis, and writing romance novels under the name Crystal Green.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
She was lured back to Los Angeles because her father is missing, but stuntwoman Dawn Madison became involved with the P.I. firm Jonah Limpett & Associates due to a prophecy. She was there to find and destroy the vampire Underground but she thought Jonah Limpett was crazy until she beheld a child star turned vampire. Now she is part of the team seeking to kill vampires while also searching for her dad. When a woman dies, it looks like a vampire killed her wannabe star Lee Tomlinson is arrested for the murder. The Master of the Underground and his son, the Sorcerer Vampire Soria, are concerned that this homicide will call attention to their species. When another female is killed in the same manner, the Master devises a plan to lure Lippett out of hiding in order to kill or turn him. While Dawn is dealing with the two murders, she also has to face the fact that the man she is attracted to is besotted by her dead mother Eve Claremont and her best friend Jacqueline Ashley has had surgery to look like Dawn¿s late mom. Dawn fears both are part of the underground, but Jonah insists they are not and he should know. --- Chris Marie Green has given her fans an inside look at the underground culture and social class system from the most powerful Elite bitten by the Master to the lowly Guards converted by the Groupies. The murder investigation contains several twists that teach Dawn a key lesson in survival trust no one as anyone can be an underground slave. Readers will find this fun urban fantasy mystery appealing as Dawn learns life lessons. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ILgirl82 More than 1 year ago
I bought this series and had high hopes that it would be awesome, sadly i was let down. I like first person writing and this doesn't have that so it made it weird to read, it wasn't horrible but it just wasn't my taste of book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hcw03 More than 1 year ago
Purchased out of curiosity. Would not buy more of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago