A Midwinter Fantasy

( 29 )

Overview

You have ventured through the wardrobe and down the rabbit hole. You’ve beheld the Fading Lands and glimpsed the ivory spires of Minas Tirith. A star now rises over three other kingdoms, and over three heroic couples, all deep in winter’s thrall:

Visit Leanna Renee Hieber’s Strangely Beautiful Victorian London, “strange in its happenings and mood and beautiful in its romance and language" (Booklist). Haunted though these soot-stained urban ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (10) from $3.00   
  • New (4) from $13.84   
  • Used (6) from $3.00   
Sending request ...

Overview

You have ventured through the wardrobe and down the rabbit hole. You’ve beheld the Fading Lands and glimpsed the ivory spires of Minas Tirith. A star now rises over three other kingdoms, and over three heroic couples, all deep in winter’s thrall:

Visit Leanna Renee Hieber’s Strangely Beautiful Victorian London, “strange in its happenings and mood and beautiful in its romance and language" (Booklist). Haunted though these soot-stained urban alleys may be, a lonely headmistress and a gallant vicar shall here reap the season’s blessings.

Travel to Meridian and Sylph Valley, L. J. McDonald’s “mesmerizing, magical world [readers] won’t want to leave" (Library Journal). Immensely powerful creatures called battle sylphs vie for dominance here, while fulfilling every wish of their queens. But what woman shall rule the mighty Mace?

Discover Helen Scott Taylor’s land of The Magic Knot, which is “wonderfully creative and lusciously sexy" (The Chicago Tribune).In the frosty North, in the ice palace of Valhalla, Sonja’s life depends upon unraveling the mystery of the Crystal Crib—and upon winning the love of Odin’s son.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781428511620
  • Publisher: Dorchester Publishing Company, Inc.
  • Publication date: 12/13/2010
  • Pages: 302
  • Sales rank: 964,989
  • Product dimensions: 0.68 (w) x 5.25 (h) x 8.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Leanna Renee Hieber graduated with a BFA in Theatre, a focus in the Victorian Era and a scholarship to study in London. She has adapted works of 19th Century literature for the stage and her one-act plays have been produced around the country. Her novella Dark Nest won the 2009 Prism Award for excellence in Futuristic, Fantasy or Paranormal Romance. The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker won double 2010 Prism Awards for Best Fantasy and Best First Book, the 2010 Orange County Book Buyer's Best Award (Young Adult category) and the rights have been sold for adaptation into a Broadway musical theatre production currently in development. A member of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Romance Writers of America and International Thriller Writers, she’s thrilled to have been named RWA NYC’s 2010 Author of the Year. A member of actors unions AEA, SAG and AFTRA, Leanna works often in film and television. A devotee of ghost stories and Goth clubs, she resides in New York City with her real-life hero and beloved rescued lab rabbit Persebunny.

L.J. McDonald is a fresh new voice in Fantasy Romance. Her first book, The Battle Sylph, was published by Dorchester in 2008. It was quickly followed by its sequels: The Shattered Sylph and Queen of the Sylphs.

Helen Scott Taylor is a former American Title winner whose fantasy romances The Magic Knot and The Phoenix Charm have been called “wonderfully creative” and “lusciously sexy” by The Chicago Tribune.

 

 

 

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    A Wonderful Addition To Leanna Renee Hieber's Strangely Beautiful Series Series!!!

    A Midwinter Fantasy is a wonderful novella that brings a new light to two characters featured in her Strangely Beautiful series. Once I picked it up I couldn't possibly put it down. I highly recommend A Midwinter Fantasy, it is filled with everything a good story should have...romance, mystery, and just enough danger to keep you wanting more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    A definite essential Sylph story

    For readers of L. J. McDonald's Slyph series, this is a definite must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely recommended, Just for the Strangely Beautiful story

    I purchassed this book to continue reading the the Strangely Beautiful series. A Christmas Carroll is the only one I've read out of the book, but that story alone is worth getting this book. Even though this story is set inbetween the last chapter and the epilogue of the 2nd book of the Strangely Beautiful series it is an entertaining story alone, and explains where it needs to what has happened in the previous books. For those who are wondering if they should read this story to go along with the Strangely Beautiful series I think it's a definite must. The author dedicates this story for all Michael fans. If you have read the second story in the series this story explains the Christmas miracle talked about in the epilogue. Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)