The Mill River Recluse: A Novel

The Mill River Recluse: A Novel

4.1 2254
by Darcie Chan
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The sensational New York Times bestseller The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There areSee more details below

Overview

The sensational New York Times bestseller The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself.
 
But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River—including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest—who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O’Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated—and that, once revealed, will forever change the community.
 
Praise for The Mill River Recluse
 
“[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“A heartwarming story.”Examiner.com

“A real page-turner.”—IndieReader

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“A heartwarming story.”Examiner.com

“A real page-turner.”—IndieReader
Kirkus Reviews
"Chan's sweet novel displays her talent....A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together." ~ Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780615523774
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
05/18/2011
Series:
Mill River , #1
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
1,354
File size:
2 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >