Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ministry of Sound: One

Ministry of Sound: One

Released at the tail-end of the 2000s, just as the decade was coming to a close, Ministry of Sound: One is an unmixed, triple-disc compilation of dance hits that made it to the upper reaches of the U.K. singles chart. The album title suggests that the 54 songs compiled on Ministry of Sound: One were all number one hits, but that's not entirely the case


Released at the tail-end of the 2000s, just as the decade was coming to a close, Ministry of Sound: One is an unmixed, triple-disc compilation of dance hits that made it to the upper reaches of the U.K. singles chart. The album title suggests that the 54 songs compiled on Ministry of Sound: One were all number one hits, but that's not entirely the case here. Some were (for instance, the Prodigy's "Firestarter" and Fatboy Slim's "Praise You") while others were close but not quite chart-toppers (for instance, Underworld's "Born Slippy" peaked at number two, and the Chemical Brothers' "Hey Boy Hey Girl" peaked at number three). Nevertheless, there is a wealth of dance hits on here, and they go all the way back to 1987, when Steve "Silk" Hurley's acid house classic "Jack Your Body" (included here) was the first electronic dance track ever to top the U.K. singles chart. While there are a few other oldies from the '80s (e.g., M/A/R/R/S' "Pump Up the Volume" from 1987, Soul II Soul's "Back to Life" from 1989) and quite a few recent hits (e.g., Dizzee Rascal's "Bonkers," Kid Cudi vs. Crookers' "Day 'N' Night," both from 2009), most of the songs compiled on Ministry of Sound: One come from the mid- to late-'90s electronica heyday. Fans of that era, particularly those who lived it, will enjoy the blast from the past, though many of these songs were so popular then (e.g., ATB's "9PM [Till I Come]," DJ Sammy's "Heaven"), they still might feel overplayed to even the most nostalgic listeners. That's partly the problem with Ministry of Sound: One, a compilation of material that most dance music fans either already have in their collection or don't care to pay good money for. On the other hand, younger listeners looking for a history lesson in popular dance music couldn't ask for a better compilation. Two other compilations that likewise round up a bunch of U.K. dance favorites from the past couple decades are Gatecrasher's Club Anthems 1993-2009 (2009) and Cream Classics (2004), though these are more oriented toward what was actually spun in British clubs rather than what appeared on the singles chart.

Product Details

Release Date:
Ministry Of Sound Uk

Related Subjects


Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Byrne   Vocals
Sebastian Westwood   Vocals

Technical Credits

David Byrne   Composer
Paul Hardcastle   Composer
Kylie Minogue   Composer
Barry White   Composer
Steve Winwood   Composer
Ultra Naté   Composer
Underworld   Producer
Caron Wheeler   Composer
Tori Amos   Composer,Producer
Shamen   Producer
Nacio Herb Brown   Composer
Alan   Licensing
Thea Austin   Composer
Benito Benites   Composer,Producer
Mark Brydon   Composer
Durron Butler   Composer
Norman Cook   Remixing,Additional Production
Darren Emerson   Composer
Arthur Freed   Composer
John "Virgo" Garrett   Composer,Producer
Martin Harrington   Composer
Nellee Hooper   Producer
Paul Hooper   Composer
Steve "Silk" Hurley   Composer,Producer
Karl Hyde   Composer
Johnathon J. Jeczalik   Composer
Will Jennings   Composer
Michael Lange   Remixing,Additional Production
S. Lewis   Composer
Darryl McDaniels   Composer
Patrick Moten   Composer
Thomas Newman   Composer
Ray Parker   Composer
Russell Simmons   Producer
Jim Vallance   Composer
Graham Wilson   Composer,Producer
Malcolm Young   Composer
Ramon Zenker   Composer,Producer
Torsten Fenslau   Producer
Liam Howlett   Composer
Pascal Gabriel   Producer
Danny Langsman   Composer
Armand Van Helden   Composer,Producer,Remixing,Additional Production
Chemical Brothers   Producer
Outhere Brothers   Producer
Tom Rowlands   Composer
Ed Simons   Composer
Sister Bliss   Composer
X-Press 2   Composer,Producer
Jon Ciafone   Producer
Oliver Cheatham   Composer
Fatboy Slim   Producer
Jason Nevins   Remixing,Additional Production
Chicane   Producer
Boris Dlugosch   Producer,Remixing,Additional Production
David Harrow   Composer
Lem Springsteen   Composer,Producer
Max Reich   Composer
Bigfoot   Producer
Sash!   Producer
Ash Howes   Composer
Maxi Jazz   Composer
Ralf Kappmeier   Composer
Vito Lucente   Composer,Producer
Vince Montana   Composer
Rhythm Masters   Producer
Anthony Stephens   Composer
Simon Thornton   Engineer
Tjinder Singh   Composer
Tokapi   Producer
Sascha Lappessen   Composer
Gianni Bini   Composer
Hula Mahone   Composer
Keith Mayberry   Composer
Beresford Romeo   Composer
André Tanneberger   Composer,Producer
Ray Hedges   Composer
Thomas Alisson   Composer
Nick Bracegirdle   Composer
Jim Dyke   Composer
Julian Gallagher   Composer,Producer
Giacomo Maiolini   Producer
Róisín Murphy   Composer
Mint Royale   Producer
Yarborough   Composer
Fulvio Perniola   Composer
DJ Jurgen   Producer
Dave Lee   Composer,Additional Production
John Reid   Composer,Producer
Quentin Dupieux   Composer,Producer
Pronti   Composer,Producer
Rick Smith   Composer
Dice   Producer
Falox   Producer
William Coutourie   Composer
David Newell   Engineer
Kalmani   Composer,Producer
Duane Harden   Composer
DJ Pied Piper   Producer
Sophie Ellis-Bextor   Composer
Cristiano Spiller   Composer,Producer
Bill Coleman   Executive Producer
Benny Benassi   Arranger,Producer
Dipesh Parmar   Executive Producer
R. Nwohia   Composer
Floyd Dyce   Composer
Megaman   Executive Producer
Joseph Simmons   Composer
Lawrence Smith   Composer
Alle   Arranger,Producer
Larry Smith   Producer
Eric Prydz   Composer,Producer,Additional Production
Shapeshifters   Producer
Mark Beach   Artwork
Nick Detnon   Composer
Alle Benassi   Composer
John Rush   Composer
Unknown MC   Producer
Shanks   Producer
John D. Mitchell   Composer
Synth   Producer
Gino   Licensing
Fedde Le Grand   Composer,Producer
Calvin Harris   Producer
Crookers   Remixing,Additional Production
Simon Marlin   Composer
J Reverse   Producer
Dirk Duderstadt   Composer,Producer
Kid Cudi   Producer
Jerry Bloodrock   Composer
Celite Evans   Composer
Richard Fowler   Composer
Charles Pettiford   Composer
Gregory Wigfall   Composer
Stan Roche   Concept
P. Zweier   Composer
J. McCord   Composer
Oldfield   Composer
Scott Mescudi   Composer
Steve Gittelman   Composer
O. Omishore   Composer
Dot Da Genius   Producer
Jazzie B   Producer
Simon Radcliffe   Composer
Jonas Altberg   Composer,Producer
Angus   Composer
Anthony Harris   Composer
Marco Duderstadt   Composer,Producer
T. Horn   Composer
T. Fenslau   Composer
Rob Davies   Composer
Ross Campbell   Composer,Producer
Richard "Biff" Stannard   Composer,Producer
A. Dudley   Composer
P. Morley   Composer
N. Katzmann   Composer
K. Deal   Composer
K. Flint   Composer
R. Davis   Composer
Ron Walker   Composer
Hugh Brankin   Composer,Producer
M. Molella   Composer,Producer
G. Rizzatto   Composer
G. Langan   Composer
F. Carmeni   Composer,Producer
D. Vincent   Composer
D. Mills   Composer
J. Supreme   Composer
Simon Law   Composer
Theo Nabuurs   Composer
Felix Burton   Composer
Enrico "BSJ" Ferrari   Producer
E. Nwohia   Composer
David Sneel   Engineer
Benjamin Stokes   Composer
M.J. Harvey   Composer
Karen Poole   Composer
Josh Truelove   Producer
John Bellamy   Composer
S.C. Neil   Composer
Ross Gardner   Composer
Victor Imbrez   Composer
Alfredo Larry Pignagnoli   Executive Producer
Nick Cage   Vocal Engineer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews