×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Miracle: A Celebration of New Life
     

Miracle: A Celebration of New Life

4.7 4
by Anne Geddes, Celine Dion
 
Never before have two top artists created such a multimedia work to honor the unique and steadfast bond between mother and child. Vocalist Celine Dion and photographer Anne Geddes conceived Miracle as a way to express something deep within their own hearts, and now both the experience and the outcome will delight music and visual art fans throughout the

Overview

Never before have two top artists created such a multimedia work to honor the unique and steadfast bond between mother and child. Vocalist Celine Dion and photographer Anne Geddes conceived Miracle as a way to express something deep within their own hearts, and now both the experience and the outcome will delight music and visual art fans throughout the world.

Miracle features more than 100 stunning new Geddes images. Each frame reflects the beauty, grace, and magic of both the photographer and her subject. Babies enfolded in blooms, mother embracing the life flowering within: Anne's artistic eye captures it all.

The exquisite images are wedded with the lyrics to all-new songs by Dion, created and performed on the book-accompanying CD in Celine's unmistakable international superstar style. It's easy to hear how her clear and melodious voice has captivated millions throughout her career. A DVD rounds out this artistic package, exploring the genesis of the Miracle project and taking its audience behind the scenes to witness the making of this memorable production. Celine's title track music video highlights the DVD.

As a complement to this many-faceted experience, Sony Music will release its stand-alone Dion CD concurrent with the book's debut. AMP is delighted to play a role in bringing this important collaboration to readers and listeners, providing a crossover experience rivaled by few others. Mothers, grown children, grandmothers, friends, and gift givers everywhere will want to join this celebration of wonder.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publishers Weekly
Geddes's photographs of newborns poised on flowers and within sheer, stockinglike sacs have sold more than 15 million books in more than 50 countries; Dion's multi-octave vocal stylings are unmistakable, from the Titanic soundtrack and far beyond. Dion's attempts and eventual success in having a child were well documented on the supermarket racks; Geddes's success has been the stuff of magazine features for years. Thus this 11" 13" collaboration has something of an inevitable feel to it, sharing its title with Dion's album of lullabies and apostrophes to children (such as John Lennon's "Beautiful Boy"). The book itself contains more than 100 new full-color Geddes photos, a number of which feature Dion (but not her son, Rene Charles, who was born in 2001 and is thus about a thousand days too old for the project) along with various lovely infants of various hues, and others with Geddes's signature newborn-as-a-flower's-center shots. Lyrics from the songs gently float among the images, which, aside from Dion, are familiar looking-and should meet with familiar levels of success. (On sale Oct. 12) Forecast: Published simultaneously in 22 countries with a total initial print run of 500,000, this book, with its included materials and related calendars and other paraphernalia, will do brisk global business. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal - Library Journal
Geddes, known for her photographs of wrinkly, flexible, perfect newborns, has partnered with performer Dion to produce this multimedia work. The oversized monograph comprises 71 color photographs and 13 black-and-white images, most on full spreads. Dion is shown cradling babies while posing in floral costumes. Most of the images are Geddes's newborns on a bed of petals, evoking images of calla lilies, roses, and orchids. Sprinkled throughout are song lyrics ranging from "Brahms Lullaby" to "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face." Also included is a 13-track CD of Dion singing the songs quoted throughout the book, as well as a DVD titled A Miracle in the Making, which gives viewers a behind-the-scenes look at how the images came into being. Although this is a beautiful coffee-table book for Geddes admirers, Dion fans, and new parents, it is not an essential purchase; recommended only for large public libraries with a number of Geddes's titles.-Valerie Nye, New Mexico State Lib., Santa Fe Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780740746963
Publisher:
Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication date:
09/28/2006
Edition description:
BK/CD/DVD
Pages:
180
Product dimensions:
11.30(w) x 13.00(h) x 1.00(d)

Meet the Author

Anne Geddes is an internationally renowned photographer highly respected for her successful depiction of childhood's magic and mystery. Anne's award-winning images of babies are published in more than 50 countries. Her previous books, translated in as many as 16 languages, have sold more than 16 million copies worldwide.Celine Dion is one of the most popular recording artists in history and has topped music charts since she began performing professionally in 1981. Celine's album sales alone exceed 160 million copies and have earned her five U.S. Grammy Awards and seven World Music Awards in Europe along the way. Celine's stage show, A New Day, consistently sells out at the Colosseum at Caesars Palace, making it one of the most highly attended productions in Las Vegas history.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Miracle 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have always liked her music, and now I love the person behind it. The photography is wonderful as is the writing. Babies, babies and more babies. I love the little ones and this book touched my heart. Try A YEAR SINCE YESTERDAY also, you won't be dissapointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recomend that evey Celine Dion fan should have it..
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is truly beautiful. Anne Geddes has a great eye for photography. The pictures are just breathtaking and celebrates babies and their innocence. Not only is Celine Dion one of the greatest entertainers ever, she also continues to touch the hearts of thousands of people throughout the world with her wonderful music and now this book, which gives us an even more insight on the wonderful, caring, person she is. With Anne Geddes and Celine Dion combined, this can only add up to the very beautiful and captivating book that it is. It makes the perfect 'Coffee Table' book and a great gift to give to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For fans of Celine Dion and Anne Geddes, this book is a MUST HAVE!! Anne Geddes and Celine Dion have captured the essence of the miracle of babies. This book is just lovely. The pictures are gorgeous, Celine Dion's new cd is great and the dvd it includes adds the perfect touch to the perfect book for anyone of any age. It is a great gift to give to yourself or that special loved one.