Missing Child

( 3 )

Overview


One morning Caitlin Eckhart receives a phone call that changes her life forever - her much-loved six-year-old stepson Geordie has disappeared from school. It soon becomes clear that someone must have deliberately taken him. Distraught, Caitlin and her husband, Noah, make an anguished public appeal for his return. But Caitlin has a secret from her past that is about to catch up with her, and as Geordie's continued absence brings her relationship with Noah to breaking point, she stands to lose everything that she ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (16) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $17.95   
  • Used (12) from $1.99   
Missing Child

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$14.99
BN.com price

Overview


One morning Caitlin Eckhart receives a phone call that changes her life forever - her much-loved six-year-old stepson Geordie has disappeared from school. It soon becomes clear that someone must have deliberately taken him. Distraught, Caitlin and her husband, Noah, make an anguished public appeal for his return. But Caitlin has a secret from her past that is about to catch up with her, and as Geordie's continued absence brings her relationship with Noah to breaking point, she stands to lose everything that she loves.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In this chilling tale of domestic suspense from Edgar-finalist MacDonald (Cast into Doubt), Caitlin Rogers, “the director for diversity recruitment at Brunswick University,” moves with her troubled 16-year-old brother, James, to their parents’ South Jersey shore summer house after the death of both parents. Though James dies of a drug overdose, Caitlin recovers sufficiently from these losses to marry Noah Eckhart, whom she meets at a charitable event celebrating the life of Noah’s late wife. One day, shortly after Caitlin drops her six-year-old stepson, Geordie, off at school, Geordie disappears. Caitlin begins a search that not only unearths her own secret demons but also shatters the safe and happy world that she thought she had finally found. As she tracks down every lead, she discovers she isn’t the only one in the family with secrets. Vivid settings, realistic characters, and natural dialogue help make this one hard to put down. Agent: Meg Ruley, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (May)
Kirkus Reviews
MacDonald (Cast into Doubt, 2011, etc.) tugs once more, and expertly, on the nerves of a vulnerable woman and her readership. Two years ago, Caitlin Rogers' teenaged brother James tearfully confessed that while he was out driving on a learner's permit, he struck and killed a woman who turned out to be young mother Emily Eckhart. When Caitlin demanded that he go to the police, he took a fatal overdose of drugs. Caitlin, who went to Emily's memorial service to tell the family what she knew, fell instead for Emily's widower Noah, and married him without breathing a word. Now bad karma has come back on her with a vengeance. The day after the sixth birthday party of Noah's son Geordie, he disappears somewhere between Caitlin's car and the door of Hartwell Elementary, plunging his extended family into recriminations. As if Caitlin needed more trouble, James' old girlfriend Karla, who's turned from drugs to Jesus, pops up just in time to spill the beans Caitlin never could. Noah turns Caitlin out of his house in a cold fury; Detective Sam Mathis indicates that she's no longer a reliable witness about Geordie's disappearance; and when she gets a brief phone call from her stepson, everyone accuses her of fakery or complicity. It doesn't help that the two people who are acting most suspiciously, apart from Caitlin herself, are Geordie's uncle, sportswriter Dan Bergen, and Travis Pelletier, Geordie's 10-year-old cousin. The setup and the plot twists may be synthetic, but readers drawn in by the title will be rewarded by their immersion in Caitlin's anxiety and the revelation of even darker secrets in the family cupboard.
From the Publisher
"Vivid settings, realistic characters, and natural dialogue help make this one hard to put down." - Publishers Weekly
"This one will appeal to fans of Mary Higgins Clark and Joy Fielding." - Booklist
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780727881205
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers
  • Publication date: 4/1/2012
  • Pages: 224
  • Product dimensions: 5.70 (w) x 8.60 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Patricia Macdonald's darkly hypnotic tales have captivated readers across America, as well as in France, where she is a #1 bestselling author. Her previous novels include "Suspicious Origin, Stranger in the House, Not Guilty, " and the Edgar Award-nominated "The Unforgiven." She lives with her husband and daughter in New Jersey, where she is working on her next novel.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Never disappoints

    I've always enjoyed Ms. MacDonalds books and this one doesn't disappoint. Good twists and turns throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    This book is a must read.

    Like all of Patricia MacDonald's books this one was a winner. Kept me on the edge of my seat til the last page. Haven't read a Patricia MacDonald book that I didn't like. Love them all. I hope she never gives up writing for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)