×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Missing Your Smile
     

Missing Your Smile

4.0 15
by Jerry S. Eicher
 

See All Formats & Editions

Readers will delight in this heartfelt novel by bestselling author Jerry Eicher, a former Amishman, who writes with authenticity and compassion about the people he grew up with.

When Susan Hostetler has a falling out with her boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, she leaves her Amish community and moves to Asbury Park to experiment in English life. There she

Overview

Readers will delight in this heartfelt novel by bestselling author Jerry Eicher, a former Amishman, who writes with authenticity and compassion about the people he grew up with.

When Susan Hostetler has a falling out with her boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, she leaves her Amish community and moves to Asbury Park to experiment in English life. There she learns to drive a car, takes her GED test, and falls in love with young and handsome Duane Bower. Back home, her parents are devastated and miss their daughter terribly. But what can they do? Susan has a mind of her own.

Just as Susan is enjoying her new life, her plans are interrupted. She meets Teresa Long, a young, unwed, expectant mother who asks Susan to help her have her baby adopted by an Amish family. As Susan is drawn into the young woman’s life, she also finds herself drawn back to her Amish roots. But can she truly leave her life behind...and Duane?

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“I would recommend this book as a good investment of your money and time and I'm looking forward to finding out what happens next. Jerry S. Eicher did a great job on this one.”
Wendy Newcomb

“I absolutely loved this book. I am giving it 5 stars. This is not your typical Amish story. By the end of the book I was begging for more. I can't wait to see what happens next! I will be waiting patiently for Following Your Heart! A job well done, Mr. Eicher!”
Judy Burgi

“I loved it!!! Can't wait for the next one to come out so I can find out what happens. This was just a super book that I truly enjoyed. Jerry Eicher is a wonderful writer; I highly recommend this book.”
Vicki Lynch

“Jerry Eicher’s Missing Your Smile is a breath of fresh air. The story is fresh, and the characters are well-defined and purposeful. I was drawn into Susan’s life in much the same way as she is drawn to the world of the Englisha. I joyfully await the next book in the Fields of Home Series. Eicher has given his readers another wonderful story!”
—Rena E. Holcomb

“Jerry has once again used his great ability to make you part of the character's problems, challenges, fears and joys. The plot is well developed with enough variety and surprises to keep you spellbound as to what will happen next! Myself, I am eagerly awaiting Book 2 in this series, to answer at least some of my questions remaining with me when I finished reading this book. A great book!! Well done, Jerry! Loved it and looking forward to more in this new series.”
Karla Hanns

“Great book!”
Wade Hatfield

Library Journal
Following an argument with her suitor, Susan Hostetler leaves her Amish community before becoming baptized to try out life as an Englisher. Her journey takes her to New Jersey, where she takes the high school equivalency test, learns to drive a car, and meets a handsome young man. But when pregnant, unmarried Teresa Long asks for Susan's help in finding an Amish family to adopt her baby, Susan begins to question her new, modern life. VERDICT Best-selling author Eicher (Ella Finds Love Again) writes homespun stories with relaxed pacing. Having grown up in the Amish church, he intimately knows the world he so vividly depicts. Fans of Mary Ellis, Lisa Wingate, and Suzanne Woods Fisher will want to sample this new series.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780736942447
Publisher:
Harvest House Publishers
Publication date:
02/01/2012
Series:
Fields of Home , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
63,031
File size:
481 KB

Videos

Meet the Author

Jerry Eicher taught for two terms in Amish and Mennonite schools in Ohio and Illinois. He writes of his experience growing up Amish in his memoir My Amish Childhood. Jerry has been involved in church renewal, preaching, and teaching Bible studies. He lives with his wife, Tina, and their four children in Virginia.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Missing Your Smile 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
RainbowReader More than 1 year ago
Jerry Eicher’s Missing Your Smile is a breath of fresh air. The story is fresh, and the characters well defined and purposeful. The young protagonist of the novel, Susan, struggles with each decision but also lives the life that God has led her to lead. I was drawn into Susan’s life in much the same way as she is drawn to the world of the Englisha. I joyfully await the next book in The Fields of Home Series. Eicher has given his readers another wonderful story!
Bookworm55PP More than 1 year ago
An Amish story with a twist!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Can't wait to read the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
XD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kbug6 More than 1 year ago
GREAT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great Book, another hit very inspirational, can't wait for next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
babydoll62 More than 1 year ago
I loved it!!! Can't wait for the next one to come out so I can find out what happens between Susan and Thomas or if she will decide to go back and be with Robby. There were so many ways the story could have gone but I love the fact that Susan got involved with Teresa. That shows God at work and I love that part about these books. I feel as Susan did; that she was sent to Asbury Park for a reason and God had a plan for her. Getting Robby to return to his faith and doing the christian thing by helping out Teresa. This was just a super book that I truly enjoyed. Jerry Eicher is a wonderful writer.
wfnren More than 1 year ago
Susan Hostetler and Thomas Stoll are engaged to be married, that is until Susan catches Thomas kissing her best friend Eunice. Susan breaks off the engagement without any explanation to anyone else and with the help of an Englisha friend picks up and moves from Indiana to Asbury Park, New Jersey. She goes to work in Laura's bakery and lives by herself in the attached apartment, they soon become more than owner and employee, they become friends. Laura's son Robby and Susan become like brother and sister, spend a lot of time together, teasing each other, Robby drives Susan places when she needs to run errands, teaches her to drive and helps her get her GED. Susan makes a good listener for Robby and helps him find his faith again. Duane Moran comes into the bakery quite often and is a good friend of Laura's, when he see's Susan, he shows an interest and asks her for lunch, with Laura's encouragement she accepts. One lunch date leads to a dinner date, then a home cooked meal by Susan. Duane, not being used to the Amish lifestyle thinks Susan is trying to "catch" him and runs off without helping Susan with her math studies. He does get in touch with Susan to apologize and explain what scared him, when she explains that she was doing what Amish do, they become friends again. Teresa doesn't come into the bakery often, but she does notice Susan and on her second visit asks her if she's Amish. Teresa is pregnant, unmarried, and lives with her Mother on the wrong side of the tracks so to speak. Charlie, her boyfriend, wants her to have an abortion and her Mother wants the same thing if she doesn't give the child up for adoption. Teresa seeks out Susan to help her, she asks her to find an Amish family to adopt her baby. Susan finally agrees to write and ask her parents if she knows of anyone that would be willing to adopt a baby. After Susan drops the letter in the mailbox, she realizes that her parents may get the wrong idea and think it is her baby, hers and Thomas's. She tried to reach in the drop box, but the letter had fallen down too far for her to reach it. Susan starts considering going home for a visit and maybe taking Teresa with her so Thomas's reputation isn't ruined by everyone thinking they'd let things go to far and that was the reason for the break up. When her parents receive the letter, they show it to one of Susan's sisters and her husband, after some discussion, not wanting to believe that Susan was talking about herself and thinking about the rumor mill, they decide it would be best if they invite Teresa to live in their community. As Susan, Teresa and baby Samuel, who was born early, board a train and head to Indiana, Thomas is getting on a bus headed to New Jersey. Susan isn't sure if she will remain in Indiana or return to New Jersey and when Thomas arrives and asks about Susan at the bakery, Laura tell him that she's gone and that Susan and Robby are good friends. Thomas leaves the bakery to do some site seeing, until his train leaves that night, thinking Susan and Robby are more than friends. Will Susan return to New Jersey before Thomas returns to Indiana so they can talk to each other and work things out? I can't tell you, I hope it's in the next book, Following Your Heart, due out in May 2012. This book, Missing Your Smile is due out in February 2012. I would recommend this book as a good investment of your money and time and I'm looking forward to finding out what happens next. Jerry S Eicher
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Morning