Mixed-Up Rooster

Overview

The morning sun is rising, but where's Ned's cock-a-doodle-doo? Ned's just not a morning bird. Daisy Mae and the other farm hens have an egg business to run, and they've no use for a lazy, mixed-up rooster. It's time to call in another rooster!

So what's Ned to do? To his surprise, when a crisis occurs, Ned finds his very own calling after all.

The Mixed-Up rooster is a funny read-aloud with a gentle lesson: ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (14) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $51.49   
  • Used (11) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$51.49
Seller since 2015

Feedback rating:

(365)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand New Item.

Ships from: Chatham, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$60.00
Seller since 2015

Feedback rating:

(241)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
$60.46
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(215)

Condition: New

Ships from: Chicago, IL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

The morning sun is rising, but where's Ned's cock-a-doodle-doo? Ned's just not a morning bird. Daisy Mae and the other farm hens have an egg business to run, and they've no use for a lazy, mixed-up rooster. It's time to call in another rooster!

So what's Ned to do? To his surprise, when a crisis occurs, Ned finds his very own calling after all.

The Mixed-Up rooster is a funny read-aloud with a gentle lesson: It's okay to be different.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Ken Marantz
Ned the rooster is not doing his job of waking up the chickens. He is just not a morning bird. Fired by head chicken Daisy Mae, Ned spends the night enjoying himself with the other night creatures, playing tag, dancing, and singing. But then he notices a black snake approaching the hen house, where the new rooster has left the door open. Ned warns of the snake attack with the loudest crow he can manage, then stirs dirt in the snake's face. Daisy Mae comes out and pecks the snake until he slithers away. It is obvious that the new rooster she hired is not a night bird. Daisy Mae solves the problem by hiring Ned back as Head of Night Security, to the satisfaction of all. The illustration on the jacket of Ned, sleeping away on the fence, observed by some cute bunnies and curious frogs as the sun rises, prepares us for the fun to come. Lloyd's fowl characters are plump, with delightfully expressive faces. Bossy Daisy Mae is particularly effective with her eyeglasses and clipboard. But Ned steals the show with his personality and actions. The spread of the nighttime partying builds to the climactic encounter with the snake. Lloyd paints it all so that we believe it.
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2-The sun rises over the henhouse, awakening Daisy Mae. Once again she must tell the other hens that there will be no time for breakfast, because the rooster has overslept. Ned is just "not a morning bird." Exasperated, Daisy Mae calls down to the head office for a replacement. Ned leaves the henhouse in a huff and spies on his replacement while he sulks in a nearby tree. When night falls, he frolics with a new group of nocturnal friends. In the midst of all the fun, he spies a black snake slithering into the henhouse and sounds the alarm, thus saving the eggs. His former boss is so grateful for his quick thinking that she creates a perfect new position for him, head of night security. This lighthearted story is written in an uncomplicated, comical style and has vibrant illustrations that are full of personality and charm. The facial expressions of Ned and Daisy Mae are particularly amusing. Children will appreciate the message that although Ned is different from most other roosters, he has his own special talents. This humorous tale of woe could be paired with Mary Jane Auch's Bantam of the Opera (Holiday House, 1997), the story of another uniquely talented rooster.-Linda L. Walkins, Mount Saint Joseph Academy, Brighton, MA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Ned just cannot arise in time to herald the dawning of each new morn. As he continually misses his deadline, the rather demanding hens with which he lives harass him about adversely affecting their work. Unfortunately, Ned is more of a night owl, so to speak. Once egg production drastically decreases due to the oversleeping layers, the seriously bottom-line hens kick Ned out of the coop. A new rooster who crows each morning is imported. That evening, sulky Ned is delighted to meet other nocturnal animals, such as bats, rabbits and frogs. After an enjoyable night frolic, Ned saves the day by sounding the alarm as a snake heads toward the henhouse. Ned and bossy Daisy Mae successfully scare away the predator. Ned gets a new job better suited to his biorhythms: night watchman. Cartoonish illustrations delight with sly details such as the curlers in the rooster's tail and the red emergency phone in the henhouse used when egg production falls seriously below par. Young readers will be delighted that Ned and the surrounding animals work out a compromise that satisfies everyone. (Picture book. 3-6)
ALA Booklist
“In the tradition of Doreen Cronin’s Click, Clack, Moo, the small creature finds his power.”
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780060289997
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
  • Publication date: 8/8/2006
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 4 - 6 Years
  • Product dimensions: 8.44 (w) x 10.10 (h) x 0.37 (d)

Meet the Author

Pamela Duncan Edwards is the author of numerous popular picture books, including Livingstone Mouse; Roar! A Noisy Counting Book; Some Smug Slug; The Worrywarts; Clara Caterpillar; Wake-Up Kisses; Rosie's Roses; The Leprechaun's Gold; and Gigi and Lulu's Gigantic Fight, all illustrated by Henry Cole; as well as Dear Tooth Fairy, illustrated by Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick; McGillycuddy Could!, illustrated by Sue Porter; and The Neat Line, illustrated by Diana Cain Bluthenthal. She lives in Virginia.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)