Moon-Fish-Ocean: A Zen Conversion of Rock-Paper-Scissors

Moon-Fish-Ocean: A Zen Conversion of Rock-Paper-Scissors

by Craig Conley
     
 
Moon, Fish, Ocean is a Zen pastime for one, two, or three players. Easy to learn and highly rewarding, every game is a mindful meditation that communicates a Zen poem through sign language. A less poetic, trendy version of "Moon, Fish, Ocean" is popularly known as "Rock, Paper, Scissors."

This offbeat gift book covers the complete rules, scoring, and history of the

Overview

Moon, Fish, Ocean is a Zen pastime for one, two, or three players. Easy to learn and highly rewarding, every game is a mindful meditation that communicates a Zen poem through sign language. A less poetic, trendy version of "Moon, Fish, Ocean" is popularly known as "Rock, Paper, Scissors."

This offbeat gift book covers the complete rules, scoring, and history of the game. It also explains four separate variations of the game. Presented in a tongue-in-cheek style, this whimsical volume is simultaneously a hilarious send-up of Zen and a reverential tribute. It will appeal to fans of "Rock, Paper, Scissors" as well as to students of Asian philosophy and spirituality.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781438216706
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
01/30/2008
Pages:
120
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.25(d)

Meet the Author

Craig Conley, "America's most creative and diligent scholar of letters, words and punctuation" (Encarta), is a curator, benefactor, philosopher, author, music producer, and documentarian. A former college teacher of writing and literature, he left academia to pursue his research into one-letter words, two-fold deities, and ancient Zen versions of Rock-Paper-Scissors. In addition to his Magic Words: A Dictionary and One-Letter Words: A Dictionary, he has written several educational titles, including four editions of the textbook Human Diversity: A Guide for Understanding, published by McGraw-Hill. His latest documentary, "David Lynch and His Precursors," traces the avant-garde filmmaker's influence through time, to movies that predate Lynch's own body of work.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >