Moon Underfoot

Overview

Eighteen months have passed since Jake and his daughter endured a harrowing ordeal in the Alabama woods. To save his child, Jake killed two men working with notorious drug runner Ethan “Moon Pie” Daniels. Jake’s grateful that they survived, but can’t shake the feeling that the horror isn’t over and that retribution is coming. His actions cost Moon Pie his best friends and nearly two years of business. Now, on a cold, moonless night deep in the heart of a Mississippi swamp, Moon Pie will pit his thirst for ...
See more details below
Paperback (Unabridged)
$10.33
BN.com price
(Save 30%)$14.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (15) from $1.99   
  • New (8) from $8.30   
  • Used (7) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

Eighteen months have passed since Jake and his daughter endured a harrowing ordeal in the Alabama woods. To save his child, Jake killed two men working with notorious drug runner Ethan “Moon Pie” Daniels. Jake’s grateful that they survived, but can’t shake the feeling that the horror isn’t over and that retribution is coming. His actions cost Moon Pie his best friends and nearly two years of business. Now, on a cold, moonless night deep in the heart of a Mississippi swamp, Moon Pie will pit his thirst for vengeance against the strength of Jake’s love for his family.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In Cole’s thoroughly enjoyable second crime novel featuring Mississippi outdoorsman Jake Crosby, quintessential redneck Ethan “Moon Pie” Daniels sets out to murder Crosby and his family as retribution for Crosby’s acts 18 months earlier in 2008’s The Dummy Line. Starting with stalking and arson, Moon Pie soon escalates to insanely horrific acts. Meanwhile, four retirees, three men and one woman, become intertwined with Moon Pie and his dim but decent half-brother, Levi Jenkins, after the four inadvertently steal an extremely large sum of money from nasty drug lords. As the bag of money falls into various hands, the four old people quickly establish themselves as the gang that couldn’t think straight. The rural Mississippi setting lends a pungent, swampy, and malevolent aura to the action. The many good old boys (poachers, game wardens, petty thugs) rise above stereotype. Cole manages to tie up all the loose strands of the complex, deftly handled plot in a highly satisfying way. (Jan.)
Library Journal
Family guy (and experienced hunter) Jake saved his family a few months earlier by killing two men in self defense. Heroic, yes, but one of the surviving bad guys, Moon Pie, escaped the crime scene and has been plotting revenge ever since. At the same time, three seniors living at a local assisted-living residence have formed a Robin Hood-style gang to steal large sums of money and set up a pay-it-forward sort of foundation. And finally, the aforementioned Moon Pie is looking to move up the drug-runner ladder and has set a major transaction in motion. Add to these three plots an abundance of wacky characters with warped mindsets and you have a suspenseful, Southern-style caper. VERDICT As he demonstrated in his debut, The Dummy Line, Cole has a quick-paced, winning style, dexterously juggling multiple points of view. For fans of Carl Hiaasen or Elmore Leonard—mix in a little Ben Rehder for the hunting-obsessed.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781612187211
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
  • Publication date: 1/15/2013
  • Edition description: Unabridged
  • Pages: 434
  • Sales rank: 453,076
  • Product dimensions: 5.30 (w) x 8.20 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

Bobby Cole is a native of Montgomery, Alabama, and president of Mossy Oak® Biologic®. Additionally, he is an avid wildlife manager, hunter, and active supporter of the Catch-A-Dream™ Foundation. He lives with his wife and daughter in West Point, Mississippi. Bobby is also the author of the novel The Dummy Line.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)