Moonflower

Moonflower

4.7 9
by EDC Johnson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

After Josephine Wood's father dies of cancer, her mother up-roots the two of them and moves to the city. Josie hates her city life, but her teenage issues are of little consequence when they have a car accident and she wakes up in a strange land (reminiscent of Victorian Europe) alone. Lost, with her school backpack as the only connection to her world, Josie struggles

Overview

After Josephine Wood's father dies of cancer, her mother up-roots the two of them and moves to the city. Josie hates her city life, but her teenage issues are of little consequence when they have a car accident and she wakes up in a strange land (reminiscent of Victorian Europe) alone. Lost, with her school backpack as the only connection to her world, Josie struggles to find her way home. She is found by Lucius Conrí, the son of a Marquess, who possesses royal blood and the gift to shift into a wolf's form at will. Can the kind-hearted Lucius help her find her way while winning her love, or will she fall for Donovan Conrí his older, more serious brother and heir to the Conrí wealth?

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781469940021
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
03/29/2013
Pages:
272
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.57(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Moonflower 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
AMadisonMom More than 1 year ago
I have to start at the end. I just finished reading and I have to say I’m feeling slightly devastated. The last couple of chapters (and the very end) had me going “no no no no”. I’m in no way saying the ending was bad. Actually… I think it ended rather perfectly. But… now it’s done and all I want is to read more about Josie, Lucius, and Donovan. What’s happening to them now???????? I guess my reaction just goes to say I became really attached to these characters. I absolutely feel more more Josie and Lucius… but I can understand the draw to Donovan as well. His serious demeanor really made it a little difficult to know him. I want to immediately pass this book onto my 13 year old niece to see what she thinks of it.
Peachey04 More than 1 year ago
This is a unique story from the start and keeps you intrigued throughout. It is beautifully written, has a interesting storyline and the characters are described in great detail. There is confusion, instant attraction and conflict, as you take this journey with Josie. I enjoyed this book very much. Review by Linda of Fae Books
Slim_Cat1 More than 1 year ago
Josephine Wood's father dies of cancer and her mother moves them to the city. Josie hates the city, but when Josie and her mother are in a car accident that seems the least of her problems. When she wakes up she finds herself in the woods of a strange land alone. The only thing connecting her to home is her backpack and everything in it. Lucius Conri, the son of the Marquess who is of the royal bloodline and has the gift of shifting into a wolf, finds her and offers to help her. After spending time with Lucius she starts to develop feelings for him, but when she meets his older brother Donovan she has an instant connection. Moonflower by E.D.C. Johnson and Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock sent me this amazing story to give my honest review. I was instantly intrigued by this story. It is something I haven't read before and was hooked. Josie meets both Lucius and Donovan while lost in a strange land in hopes of getting back home. Lucius and Donovan while brothers couldn't be more opposite, but Josie is attracted to them both. I actually saw the town as Johnson described it, everything from the woods to the clothes to the town was beautifully described. Even though this is a YA read I believe everyone will enjoy this story. It is gripping and well thought out and hopefully just the beginning. I look forward to more from E.D.C. Johnson and hopefully soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really impressed by this book.  It was very well written, involves a lot of character development, and is full of rich description.   I was disappointed at the end, wanting to read more about the enchanted world ...but could not.  You'll have to read it for yourself to discover why.  Can't wait for more from this new author! Amy Feisty
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book! EDC Johnson did a awesome job. I have been telling all of my friends about it. EDC Johnson said she was writting a sequel and I can not wait for it. :-)
SNTKJ More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful read.  It will take you to another world.  
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite "Moonflower" by EDC Johnson is a story that will transport you to a world of sci-fi and fantasy. The story is how after her father's death Josephine Wood is moved to the city by her mother. She hates her city life. The twist in the story starts after Josie meets with a car accident. She finds herself transported to a strange land and the only connection she has with her old world is her back pack. The story is very fascinating as it shuttles between sci-fi and fantasy. And it takes a different turn as Josie is saved by Lucius who has royal blood. The author manages to capture the reader's attention with suspense and intrigue. The narration is very descriptive and gripping. The reader is curious to know what happens next when Josie meets the wolf. Feelings of fear and surprise run throughout the book. The highlight of the story is Lucius's extraordinary power to change into a wolf. That makes the story even more intriguing. Lucius is very kind and tries to win her attention and love along with his older brother Donovan who is the heir to the Conri wealth. "Moonflower" is a book that evokes a lot of curiosity in the reader. Josie's struggle to find her way back home after being lost and then meeting Lucius keeps the reader wondering what would happen next. Would Josie go back to her mother? Or would she stay back with Lucius the wolf, or Donovan?
FloridaVirgo More than 1 year ago
Really Enjoyed it!! If you loved the Twilight Saga you will love Moonflower also!The story is very descriptive & you are taken into another time with the characters that themselves are intriguing.Really liked the innocence of the book with the spicy undertones. EDC johnson did a beautiful job,awiting the sequel :)
fictiongirl77 More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy YA fantasy, then you will love Moonflower!  EDC Johnson, and educator in her day job, has created an absolutely believable world, with characters that become alive.  Fans of Cassandra Clare, Stephenie Meyer, etc, take the plunge and try this debut novel. I look forward to her future endeavors.