Mosby's Review for the PTCB Certification Examination / Edition 1

Mosby's Review for the PTCB Certification Examination / Edition 1

3.8 25
by James J. Mizner
     
 

ISBN-10: 0323033679

ISBN-13: 9780323033671

Pub. Date: 10/25/2005

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

This comprehensive review will help pharmacy technicians practice for and successfully pass the PTCB exam. Content follows the PTCB outline: Assisting the Pharmacist in Serving Patients, Maintaining the Medication & Inventory Control, and Participating in the Administration and Management of Pharmacy Practice. A section on test-taking skills, as well as four

…  See more details below

Overview

This comprehensive review will help pharmacy technicians practice for and successfully pass the PTCB exam. Content follows the PTCB outline: Assisting the Pharmacist in Serving Patients, Maintaining the Medication & Inventory Control, and Participating in the Administration and Management of Pharmacy Practice. A section on test-taking skills, as well as four practice exams with 140 multiple-choice questions each, provides helpful information and additional practice. Competencies are included for each section, as well as multiple-choice review questions with answers and rationales. An accompanying CD-ROM includes six practice exams and over 400 flashcards.

• Mirrors the organization of the most current PTCB Certification Examination.
• Integrates narrative competencies into each subsection to address the PTCB established competencies.
• Includes four practice exams containing 140 questions with answers and rationales.
• Supplies multiple-choice review questions at the end of every chapter - totaling over 1,000.
• Contains an interactive CD-ROM that includes 4 practice exams from the book, 2 more practice exams with 280 additional multiple-choice questions, and over 400 flashcards categorized by generic/brand names, calculations, pharmacy law, abbreviations, indications, and nomenclature.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780323033671
Publisher:
Elsevier Health Sciences
Publication date:
10/25/2005
Series:
Mosby's Review Series
Edition description:
Older Edition
Pages:
352
Product dimensions:
8.50(w) x 10.94(h) x 0.47(d)

Table of Contents

Chapter 1. PTCB Test Taking Skills

Chapter 2. Assisting the Pharmacist in Serving Patients

Chapter 3. Maintaining the Medication & Inventory Control

Chapter 4. Participating in the Administration & Management of Pharmacy Practice

Chapter 5. Practice Examinations

Appendices

A. Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination Information

B. Pharmaceutical Conversions

C. Pharmaceutical Abbreviations

D. Drug Nomenclature - Stems used by the USAN Council

E. Top 200 Prescription Drugs and Classification

F. Vitamins

G. Common OTC Products

H. Laboratory Values

I. State Boards of Pharmacy

J. Technician Organizations

Answers to Chapter Review Questions

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Mosby's Review for the PTCB Certification Examination 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I did a self review for about two months using this review book and passed the exam right the first time. I passed it to a friend of mine and he too passed the exam the first time. Very highly recommended!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are going to take the PTCB exam, this book will prove extremely useful in your study. I just took the exam today, and feel confident because of this review guide. It gives you what you need to know, and the practice exams are structured in a VERY similar fashion to the real exam. This is the best review guide bar none. Kudos to those who created this guide.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started out being in a Pharmacy Technician program, (which is usually like a year including fall, summer, and spring), I felt like I was wasting classes b/c these classes wouldn't count towards my major. So I got this book after reading the reviews, and I PASSED on the FIRST TRY!!! It gives you everything u need to know! Many people there took the exam more than once, get this book and take like 2 or 3 months prior to prepare, and u'll be set!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The practice quizzes are major asset of the text. I took the exam after using this text and scored an 850 out of 900 on it
Guest More than 1 year ago
This review book outshines the competition. After studying from it, I passed the exam so easily. The majority of the questions were similar to what I found on the test.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are going to study for the PTCB, only purchase this as a last resort. Go to the PTCB website and use their recommendations for study guides. This publication is out of date, incomplete and filled with errors. The companion CD of flash cards and practice exams is the only redeeming value here and it is also quite flawed. Caveat Emptor!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS VERY USEFUL IN PREPARING THE PHARMACY TECHNICIAN TO TAKE THE EXAM. AT THE PRESENT TIME I'M STILL USING IT.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bridget29 More than 1 year ago
I passed test on the first attempt but I used this along with another one. I thought that the CD was helpful. Some of the answers were wrong and it did have some errors. It did have a lot of problems to work out, but it did not have much explaination of how to solve the calculations. I had to use another book for that. This book was helpful as a review. I had worked on a pharmacy for a little over a year so most of everything I knew was from working in a pharmacy. The book helped to touch on different topics that I don't do everyday.
Lmadson More than 1 year ago
This is the only text i studied, and i was able to pass the exam on the 1st try. I loved the cd-rom that comes with the book. The practice exams were excellent. There were a couple of mistakes in the answer key, but it wasn't anything major. i recommend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent way to study and prepare for the test and to expand your knowledge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loads of helpful info and great for recertifing or first time certification. The CD enhances the information. The practice tests cover a wide range of topics.An excellent resource.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book and it is very helpful, I studied it for almost 3 months, and took the ptcb test this month and I passed it for the first try.. I really recommend this book, there's some errors I encountered but correct them....the CD rom was helpful too...and the price was reasonable..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
While this title does include a lot of helpful information, there are a few errors within the text and electronic flash cards. So, if you disagree with something within the text, double check with another source. The main reason I recommend this text would be the practice exams on the CD-ROM you can take the practice exams in tutorial mode so that you can learn the logic behind the correct answers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book gives a good explanation on how to solve problems. If you are planning to buy this book, be aware that there are lots of questions that were answered incorrectly in the answer sheet, specially questions which involves numbers. I find this sometimes in other test practice books but not this much. It seems that not so much attention was given on this part of the book.