×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mossy Creek
     

Mossy Creek

4.5 45
by Deborah Smith (Editor), Nancy Knight, Virginia Ellis, Debra Dixon, Sandra Chastain
 

See All Formats & Editions

A delightful new collection of original Southern stories set in the charming, fictitious down-home town of Mossy Creek, where there's a friendly face on every corner and a heartfelt story behind every door...

Overview

A delightful new collection of original Southern stories set in the charming, fictitious down-home town of Mossy Creek, where there's a friendly face on every corner and a heartfelt story behind every door...

Editorial Reviews

KLIATT
Written in the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Garrison Keillor, but in the voices of six different authors, this collection of short stories describes the people and setting of Mossy Creek and will appeal to YAs and adults who will enjoy recognizing characters of their own small town or youth. The letters of Katie Bell, the local newspaper's gossip columnist, to Lady Victoria Salter Stanhope of Cornwall, England, who is enquiring about her distant American cousins, hold the stories together. Lady Stanhope gets more than she bargains for in the diverse adventures of various citizens of this little town. The six authors vividly describe the personalities that fill this imaginary, but true, hamlet that refuses to change just because the rest of the world has. Each author maintains a similar style to the others, but because they are writing about very special characters, the differences in their voices seem part of the character and maintain the thread of life in Mossy Creek. Many of the stories center on the long-running feud between Mossy Creek and the neighboring town of Bigelow. Mossy Creek's town slogan, "Ain't Going Nowhere, And Don't Want To," is in direct contradiction to Bigelow's desire to be modern and forward-looking. The two towns together characterize the South today where tradition and the demands of the modern world clash and meld, just as the families of the two towns do. KLIATT Codes: SA—Recommended for senior high school students, advanced students, and adults. 2001, Berkley, 222p.,
— Nola Theiss

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425189160
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA)
Publication date:
02/28/2003
Series:
Mossy Creek Hometown Series
Pages:
240
Product dimensions:
4.32(w) x 7.10(h) x 0.67(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mossy Creek (Mossy Creek Hometown Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
C-Andy More than 1 year ago
This series of books is the best I've ever found. The different authors are hard to tell apart and there were so many times I was laughing so hard I lost my place and I know a couple of times I was brought to tears with laughter. Keep the series going please - love them!!
ilovepooh More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful series! I have all the books and reread them frequently. The stories are heartwarming, the characters realistic and they always make me laugh and cry. They are so beautifully interwoven that you would never know there is more than one writer. But that is probably what makes each character unique and quirky. I can never wait for the next one, please keep them coming!
BernieMcCarthy More than 1 year ago
The Mossy Creek series is just about the most exceptional and inspirational series I have ever encountered! I love them all! I even look for other books like them so I can continue that warm feeling I remember growing up that these books reflect...I cannot recommend them more...truly wonderful books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ummmmmmmmmm hi? Go to Valor de ley for the best place you have ever been!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A two year old carrying a baby walked into the orphanage
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think l'm locked out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*She nods and looks around* can i help you in any way?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Smiles. Where is the bedroom rooms at?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was wonderin if you need workers to help with children
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay...I didn't know, sorry."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An eight year old girl shivers in thw cold. She is dirty, and her black hair is matted and tangled. Her green eyes are wide with fear
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They sit on a rock
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Y
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*sighed* Thanks Jenny. *grabbed Lexi and Adams hands* Lets go guys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nvm this place aint active. Im leaving. And maddie feel free to take it over no on is even here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An orange and brown graceful she-cat padded into the clearing she walked up to the leader. "Greetings my name is Flamesparrow and I was looking for a clan, I'm a skilled battle opponent." The she-cat looked down and then up again , this time with a sly look on her face "You wouldn't happen to have any available toms would you......"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does your post at Mistystar's Omen mean that people four and older can't post here?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was impersonating him srry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looked at enderfur. She grabbed some herbs and things and fixed the wound.~Mossycreek
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wants some fun. She ties a skirt around her hips and starts to bellydance, showing off every curve.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to flower first result i need help