Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mostly Mozart

Mostly Mozart

4.0 1

Product Details

Release Date:
Sony Special Product


  1. Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major ("Eine kleine Nachtmusik"), K. 525
  2. Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major ("Elvira Madigan") K. 467
  3. Symphony No. 41 in C major ("Jupiter"), K. 551

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mostly Mozart 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When it comes to Mozart, performances by George Szell and the Cleveland Orchestra set the gold standard. And in French pianist Robert Casadesus, those artists found an ideal collaborator. The concerti on this disk, though released before, separately and, as in the current instance, with odd companions, are models of Mozartean style. The piano playing is elegant, with dashes of Gallic flair, while the orchestral balances are calculated with wondrous precision. Tempi in the outer movements are brisk, and the slow movements are lyrical without sentimentality. (The perfection of ensemble and beauty of phrasing are especially on display in the famous Andante of the "Elvira Madigan" concerto.) And listen to the cadenzas that Casadesus composed for K.467 -- never a better bow to the master. The inexplicable pairing of these works with a serenade performance by other, lesser forces has, unfortunately, become something of a Sony practice. But at this giveaway price, who cares? Nonetheless, Sony should raid its vault and re-issue without companions ALL of the Szell/Casadesus Mozart recordings, whether mono or stereo. They're that good and deserve a home in every collection.