Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking: A 14-Day Mystery

Overview

“How could you say no to a book that's described as ‘for fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler?”—The Atlantic Wire

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them—that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston's biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and ...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$6.99
BN.com price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (9) from $3.30   
  • New (7) from $3.97   
  • Used (2) from $3.30   
Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking: A 14-Day Mystery

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

“How could you say no to a book that's described as ‘for fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler?”—The Atlantic Wire

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them—that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston's biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and the people she loves will be in big-time danger.

Her tools? Her best friend, Ollie, a geocaching addict who loves to find stuff; her Alzheimer's suffering grandfather, Grumps, who knows lots more than he lets on; and a geometry proof that she sets up to sort out the clues.

It's a race against the clock through downtown Boston as Moxie and Ollie break every rule she's ever lived by to find the art and save her family.

Read More Show Less

What People Are Saying

From the Publisher
“…the believable dialogue and characters, complicated family dynamics, and threat of danger make this mystery hard to put down.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Plot and character drive this lively book . . . Fans of Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer will appreciate the similarities: using math to solve real-life dilemmas, depending on a best friend when times are rough, and learning that urban centers are rich in history, culture, and crime.”—Booklist
 
“This fast-paced, National Treasure–style mystery puts an imaginative spin on the real story behind the infamous theft of several masterpieces from Boston’s Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum . . . Moxie narrates the breathless, action-packed tale in a humorous first person, maintaining the suspense almost to the end.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“. . . readers will . . . get caught up in the breathless thrill-ride.”—School Library Journal
From the Publisher

“…the believable dialogue and characters, complicated family dynamics, and threat of danger make this mystery hard to put down.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Plot and character drive this lively book . . . Fans of Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer will appreciate the similarities: using math to solve real-life dilemmas, depending on a best friend when times are rough, and learning that urban centers are rich in history, culture, and crime.”—Booklist
 
“This fast-paced, National Treasure–style mystery puts an imaginative spin on the real story behind the infamous theft of several masterpieces from Boston’s Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum . . . Moxie narrates the breathless, action-packed tale in a humorous first person, maintaining the suspense almost to the end.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“. . . readers will . . . get caught up in the breathless thrill-ride.”—School Library Journal
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780142426142
  • Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
  • Publication date: 7/3/2014
  • Series: 14-Day Mystery Series , #1
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 288
  • Sales rank: 396,141
  • Age range: 10 years
  • Lexile: 760L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.10 (w) x 7.60 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author

Erin Dionne is the author of Models Don't Eat Chocolate Cookies, The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet, and Notes from an Accidental Band Geek. She broke her share of rules as a kid, and has always been fascinated with real-life mysteries. When not writing about the miseries, mysteries, and magic of middle school, or teaching Liberal Arts at a small college north of Boston, Erin catches Red Sox games and rocks out to local Boston bands. She lives with her husband and two children in Framingham, Massachusetts.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)